We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique but very comfortable room” 5 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental The Clement Monterey

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental The Clement Monterey to your Saves list
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   750 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #3 of 53 Hotels in Monterey
St Augustine, FL
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Unique but very comfortable room”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We had wonderful encounters with service staff upon check-in and check-out. We were given a corner room that was quite large. It had two chairs, desk, couch...and the bed was a murphy bed! Have never seen that in a hotel before. Debated complaining and then after lying in the bed realized that there was no reason; the bed was perfectly comfy. The bathroom was great, separate shower and tub. We didn't book a room with a view; we arrived late evening and left early morning. Just so you know- the hotel is two buildings connected by an enclosed walkway across the street.


The hotel is in an excellent location and we walked right across the street to a great dinner at Louie Linguini's. There were many appealing restaurants within walking distance and a Starbucks right across the street!

Though we are Intercontinental rewards members, was able to get a significantly lower price for the room using an online discount site. Perhaps that explains the creative room assignment- but again it turned out just fine so truly not an issue, just a surprise.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clement_Management, General Manager at InterContinental The Clement Monterey, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear RLKjax, Thank you for sharing your experience with us, and I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your time with us. I hope you won't wait too long to return!
Sincerely,
John C. Turner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,872 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,301
    428
    86
    32
    25
See reviews for
553
858
64
148
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (420)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We stayed in The Clement as it was in Cannery Row and looked very nice. From the time I got out of the car to when we left 4 days later, we were treated like royalty. They didn't have the room configuration we wanted for the first night, but for the rest of the time, they apoligized and upgraded us to a Jr. Suite at no extra charge. Friendly, friendly staff and very attentive. Highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the Bay are always good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clement_Management, General Manager at InterContinental The Clement Monterey, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear dwleo, I am pleased to hear you were with us for several days, and found our associates to be friendly and helpful. I hope you had time to explore the surrounding area during your stay. Please don't wait too long to return!
Best wishes,
John C. Turner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida, United States
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

first time in Monterey, and it was amazing! Check in quick, efficient and friendly, courtesy of Liz and Crystal. Room was beautiful with a lovely view of the sea! Slept with sliding door open to get fresh air and sea sounds all night! had drinks at the C bar under the careful supervision of the Greatest Dane around! He took amazing care of us all night! We had a blast! We had our breakfast daily at the C Restaurant which was fantastic! All in all a great stay!

Room Tip: higher floor, view rooms are amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beresford, South Dakota, USA
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

My first encounter with this hotel was when I pulled up into the driveway and the doorman yelled at me that I was entering from the wrong direction. Note that I was the only car in the driveway. I then started unloading my belongings and another doorman told me I could not be there unless he had the keys (in case there was an emergency). I had never heard anything so ridiculous, since I was still unloading my trunk. I spoke to the manager about the way they were addressing me, and he told me that they were not hotel employees, but were contract workers. Probably some of the rudest doormen I have ever encountered, especially at an Intercontinental property which was 5 star.

On to the room. Bellman was super nice, and the room was one of the nicest I have ever seen, with view of the Bay and boardwalk, a fireplace, French doors and the room was very modern. Decided to have dinner and could only find loud bar-type places, so thought I would give the hotel restaurant a try. Waited and waited for the host, but no one came. I walked up to a waiter and said I was waiting for a table, and he said, "Oh, he went to the bathroom." Like I wanted to know that. No apology for waiting 10 minutes.

Waitress was nice but didn't seem to know a thing about serving. Served food on a bare table, only gave me a fork for my salad (no knife), and whisked items away before asking if I was finished with the dishes.

Had a good nights sleep. Went to check out in the morning and there were a bunch of people (I think a convention or business group) waiting to check in, and only one person working at the desk. This place just doesn't seem to know how to put the customer first, nor how to provide top-quality service.

Room Tip: Rooms with bay view are worth the money, but you hear people on the boardwalk. If not, ask for one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clement_Management, General Manager at InterContinental The Clement Monterey, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Peter F, Thank you for sharing these experiences with us, and I do regret you encountered some difficulties upon your arrival, and again in our restaurant. It is always our goal to provide exceptional service, and I will, of course, discuss this with our management team. I do hope your visit in Monterey was otherwise enjoyable, and I hope you visit our area again soon.
Best wishes,
John C. Turner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

After reading reviews on trip advisor we decided to stay at the Clement Monterey...and we were pleased with our choice. The room was amble size and very clean. The hotel was in a great location near the aquarium and The Cannery shops and restaurants. The beds were extremely comfortable. Misty, the concierge, was extremely courteous and helpful. Overall- a great stay!

Room Tip: water side has best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in a room directly overlooking the Monterey Bay....views of clear seawater, otters, seals and many birds. The "C" restaurant at this hotel offered great food as well. This hotel is best experienced seaside, interior rooms are fine but not at all the same experience. Friendly staff, obligatory valet parking, easy access to the Aquarium. We also used the conference facility for a large meeting at work, all went well.

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clement_Management, General Manager at InterContinental The Clement Monterey, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear John K, Thank you for sharing your experience with us, and I am pleased that both your stay and meeting were enjoyable. I hope we will see you again soon!
Best wishes,
John C. Turner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

I first picked this hotel because it had a LivingSocial deal that included a very good daily rate plus a $25 food/beverage credit at the C Restaurant & Bar.

Overall, I highly recommend this hotel because it's only a block away from the world-famous Monterey Bay Aquarium and the rooms are very nice (typical 4 star hotel quality).

Only drawback was the rather pricey daily parking rate of $23 (valet or self park are the same rate)

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clement_Management, General Manager at InterContinental The Clement Monterey, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear b0r3dguy, I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your special booking and were able to visit the adjacent Monterey Bay Aquarium. I hope you will visit us again soon.
Best regards,
John C. Turner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental The Clement Monterey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental The Clement Monterey

Address: 750 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Monterey
#2 Family Hotel in Monterey
#2 Business Hotel in Monterey
#2 Luxury Hotel in Monterey
#3 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental The Clement Monterey 4*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new InterContinental the Clement Monterey is next to the world-renowned Monterey Bay Aquarium in the heart of John Steinbeck's historic Cannery Row. Many guest rooms and suites feature fireplaces, balconies and ocean views and all sparkle with stylish décor. The picturesque hotel offers more than 1,393 square metres (15,000 square feet) of indoor and outdoor meeting space, including an oceanfront ballroom perfect for weddings, conferences and special events. The C Restaurant & Bar, spa, health club, pool, whirlpool, Kids Club and an oceanfront patio offer plenty of reasons to stay close, and Cannery Row s fashionable boutiques, delectable eateries, upscale galleries and vibrant street scene are just a few minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your InterContinental The Clement Monterey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental The Clement Monterey Hotel Monterey
Intercontinental Monterey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental The Clement Monterey, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.