We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A visit to historic Monterey should start with this hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental The Clement Monterey

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental The Clement Monterey to your Saves list
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   750 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #3 of 54 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Napa, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A visit to historic Monterey should start with this hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

We hadn't been to Monterey for years when a special event we were attending in nearby Carmel brought us back to this historic town for a bit of nostalgia. Fortunately, we chose to stay at InterContinental The Clement Monterey. What a perfect choice! From our greeting at the door, to the check-in process, to our beautifully appointed room with fireplace and partial ocean view, we were completely delighted. Even the dining room was a happy surprise. Both the service and cuisine were outstanding. Of course, the hotel's superior location next to the aquarium can be beat. We were so pleased with our stay, that we are planning to return with our our children and grandchildren. We can't imagine staying anywhere else!

Room Tip: Our partial ocean view room on the 4th floor had a balcony and fireplace. We would request the same...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clement_Management, General Manager at InterContinental The Clement Monterey, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Dear napanapa_3, Thank you for sharing your experience, and I am pleased that we are you home away from home in Monterey. We will look forward to seeing all of you during your next visit.
Sincerely,
John C. Turner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,083 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,448
    475
    97
    37
    26
See reviews for
605
965
68
168
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (486)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

Was disappointed in our stay here. Picked this hotel because of amenities, prior experience with Intercontinental hotels and of course location near the aquarium. We stayed 3 nights, paid full normal price (no hotel.com or discount booking) and ate at the restaurant for 2 breakfasts and one dinner.

The pros:

1. right next to the aquarium
2. good view of ocean even from a 'partial sea view' room
3. room was reasonably sized

The cons: this may sound like nitpicking but when you pay this kind of money --you expect some decent service.

1. Service was poor compared to other luxury hotels we have stayed at, including other intercontinental. I feel that when you are in this price range you would expect them to know that you are a guest (e.g. the intercontinental in Kansas City has a staff that apparently strives to know who its guests are and their names.) I never got that feeling here. Staff never asked how my stay is going until checkout. Valets and doormen rarely opened doors for us and didn't even know we were staying there--in fact they tried to get out bags from our car when we returned from a short day trip.

2. along the same theme as above--no extras like coffee in the lobby (we got that at a La Quinta on a stay by the airport before leaving town--at this hotel I was told the options were the restaurant--where they did to their credit provide coffee if requested--they went back and brought 2 cups out for me--or starbucks. really ?), no free internet (but see below on that)

3. Spotty maid service. When we arrived I noted that the mini bar had some old leftovers from a prior guest-- very smelly meat. We didn't get new coffee cups the second day--so no way to make the coffee that was provided in room and on the last day they only left one regular coffee. They also didn't get to our room until after 4 one day. We intentionally got out of the room early and were gone all day, only to be disappointed it wasn't ready when we got back.

4. Mediocre restaurant. that I guess is another review--but I would say bleh food (clam chowder that tasted more like cream?).

When I checked out I was clearly not too happy about the stay. The person checking me out did comp us the internet and one beer that I had from the minibar, but also preceded to read out loud every charge I had rung up. I see you went to the restaurant blah blah blah blah. Couldn't he have just handed me the paper with the charges and asked me to review them?

So again -this may sound like nitpicking--but at the La Quinta we stayed at for one night by the airport --we got: 1. free parking. 2. free breakfast 3. pool that was 3 times the size 4. cleaner room. 5. free coffee. 6. free internet (although I did eventually get that) and paid 1/4 the price.

I guess location is everything.

This will not stop me from staying at other Intercontinental hotels, but I wouldn't really recommend this one, unless you feel very strongly about being right next door to the aquarium.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clement_Management, General Manager at InterContinental The Clement Monterey, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear christopher t, Thank you for sharing your experiences with us, and I do regret that we were unable to meet your expectations during this visit. Our management team will discuss and learn from these issues. I am pleased to hear you were able to tour the adjacent Monterey Bay Aquarium, and hope you will return to our area again soon.
Best wishes,
John C. Turner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Oswego, Oregon
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

This was a great place to stay in a beautiful part of the world. The hotel was just what we had hoped for during some long travel. Rooms were very quite and comfortable and the location couldn't be any better if you want to be in the town of Monterey.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

We checked in & waited for the valet, never came so we locked the car and went to the front desk to find out what we should do. We were very happy at first with the room, but noticed an odor which we thought was cleaner, but it was vomit on the floor, chair and pillows. Its NoroVirus season and I feel like I need a bleach bath. I was moved to another room, but was given the response that they did not know what it was. Now I am sitting in a room next to the parking garage and listening to people yell, loud radios and I will not be coming back.

Room Tip: check the floor and the chairs before you unpack.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clement_Management, General Manager at InterContinental The Clement Monterey, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear Stacy M, Thank you for advising us of your experiences during your stay. I will discuss this with our management team and take the opportunity to review our procedures. I regret that you experienced some disappointment with your accommodations, and I wish you all the best in your future travels.
Sincerely,
John C. Turner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Incline Village, Nevada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

This was my first visit to the InterContinental The Clement Monterey. The location is perfect. It is steps away from the Monterey Bay Aquarium and right in the middle of the touristy area. I arrived early and the normal check in is 4pm. I was so fortunate to be taken care of by Mark at the front desk. I had a noon meeting and asked to have access to the room at 11am. The policy is to have the room checked by a housekeeping supervisor before a guest enters. Housekeeping was very busy so Mark went to the room personally to clear it so that I could check in! That was quite impressive customer service. The room was well appointed and even had a gas fireplace. It had a great view of the water and the street. The bed was comfortable and the bath amenities were high quality and smelled great. One downside is they charge for parking but that is kind of normal for a touristy area. The concierge was able to sell us tickets for the aquarium so we did not have to wait in line. Great staff and comfortable stay! Will be coming back soon!!

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a view of the water!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clement_Management, General Manager at InterContinental The Clement Monterey, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Dear Sandy B,
Thank you for sharing your experience with us, and I am delighted to hear that you found our associate Mark to be so helpful. I am glad you enjoyed your time with us, and hope you will be back soon!
Best wishes,
John C. Turner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
75 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

Everything about the stay was top notch. Rooms are very very clean and lovely decor. Nicer that almost all the hotels we have been to. Breakfast in the restaurant was great as they use lots of the local produce. Location is awesome right in cannery row but then you can go for a walk or run along the path that parallels the ocean.

Room Tip: suites were large and worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clement_Management, General Manager at InterContinental The Clement Monterey, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Dear 2pinacolodas, I am pleased that you enjoyed our hotel and C Restaurant + Bar, and it sounds like you found time for a walk along the adjacent coastal trailway. I hope you won’t wait too long to return!
Best regards,
John C. Turner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
125 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

Great in town location. Two buildings with one on the water and one connected by a sky bridge on the town side. Rooms are clean and nice. Moderate size but nice. Nice bar and restaurant. Nice staff. The valet staff is great with Tyler being a great help.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clement_Management, General Manager at InterContinental The Clement Monterey, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Dear Adam K, I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your time with us, and found our associates to be helpful. We all hope to see you again very soon.
Sincerely,
John C. Turner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to InterContinental The Clement Monterey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental The Clement Monterey

Address: 750 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Monterey
#2 Luxury Hotel in Monterey
#2 Business Hotel in Monterey
#2 Family Hotel in Monterey
#3 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental The Clement Monterey 4*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new InterContinental the Clement Monterey is next to the world-renowned Monterey Bay Aquarium in the heart of John Steinbeck's historic Cannery Row. Many guest rooms and suites feature fireplaces, balconies and ocean views and all sparkle with stylish décor. The picturesque hotel offers more than 1,393 square metres (15,000 square feet) of indoor and outdoor meeting space, including an oceanfront ballroom perfect for weddings, conferences and special events. The C Restaurant & Bar, spa, health club, pool, whirlpool, Kids Club and an oceanfront patio offer plenty of reasons to stay close, and Cannery Row s fashionable boutiques, delectable eateries, upscale galleries and vibrant street scene are just a few minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Otel, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your InterContinental The Clement Monterey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental The Clement Monterey Hotel Monterey
Intercontinental Monterey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental The Clement Monterey, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.