We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth every penny!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental The Clement Monterey

Save Saved
You added InterContinental The Clement Monterey to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   750 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #3 of 53 Hotels in Monterey
North Vancouver, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Worth every penny!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

I confess...I forgot that Monterery is cold in the summer! After getting over that initial shock and the fact that our hotel was right smack in the middle of the busiest part of the tourist district, things just got better. The hotel was right next to the Aquarium and you could walk and bike everywhere. Super location.
We requested an oceanview room and we could sit in our room and watch the ocean highway flow by, busy with sea otters, whales, pelicans, sea lions all going somewhere all day long. In spite of the very busy district, our room was quiet. With our window open, we could hear the waves sloshing under the hotel (yes, the hotel is built partially over the ocean).
During the cold evenings, you can sit on the outside deck around a cozy fire drinking a glass
of wine. Which we did. The room itself was very unstated but large and comfortable and the bed was excellent!
All around, very helpful and friendly staff. We did not eat in the restaurant in the evenings because we felt it was too expensive and didn't like the menu; we did eat delicious breakfasts there every morning. If I had to criticize anything, it would be the pool. A ridiculous size for an expensive hotel. But, having said that, who wants to swim in a pool in Monterey? We sure didn't, way too busy being out and about. And did I mention it was cold? Bring your warm jackets and jeans! And forget about the pool.
Great hotel....would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Request a partial oceanview room overlooking the bay. It costs more...but so worth it! Quiet and lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clement_Management, General Manager at InterContinental The Clement Monterey, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Ellen F, I am pleased that you found our associates to be friendly and helpful, and enjoyed the views from your room and the Pacific View Courtyard. We hope to see you here again very soon.
Best regards,
John C. Turner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,775 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,232
    404
    83
    32
    24
See reviews for
534
807
63
139
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (392)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We just returned from a five-night trip to California during which we stayed in different lodging each nigh while travelling the coast from SF to LA. The Clement was our favorite hotel. Our third floor room was spacious, well appointed and quite comfortable. We especially appreciated the sizable bathroom and exceptional shower. The fireplace was a nice touch also. The location, right on the water in the heart of Cannery Row, is unmatched. Shopping, dining, and attractions are all within walking distance. The hotel’s private deck above the bay is equipped with fire pits and comfortable chairs, perfect for an after-dinner drink as the sun sets.

Now for the only downside – after arriving back at our room after dinner, around 10:00, we began to notice a faint odor, which we later determined to be the smell of vomit. Walking about in bare feet, I realized an area on the floor at the base of one of the beds was damp. My sense was that someone had been sick in the room recently, and an attempt has been made to clean the mess.

It was late, we were tired, and so decided to make the best of it rather than asking to be relocated to a different room. The following morning, upon checkout, I mentioned our experience to the front desk representative. She was apologetic, but offered no discount or credit toward our bill, which surprised me a bit. I would stay at the Clement again in a heartbeat, but I will admit that the experience did dampen my enthusiasm a bit (no pun intended).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
france
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Just on the shore of the ocean. If you are lucky your room will also be looking onthe ocean. Cannery row and all its restaurants are just down the street. They have a beautiful gym. The only bad thing is their pool. I should have been warned by the fact that it was not called swimming pool. Indeed it is only a basin for children. When I asked why it was so small, I was told it is due to the cold weather. Comparing to the level of the hotel I expected at least an indoor pool. However everybody is very nice and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Nice place to stay. Right on Cannery Row. Views are fantastic and location is great. We rented two room in September of 2012. Very comfortable. Staff is helpful. Very close to the aquarium and shopping.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clement_Management, General Manager at InterContinental The Clement Monterey, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear psychtravel, Thank you for sharing your comments with us, and we hope to see you again soon here in Monterey.
Sincerely,
John C. Turner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bear, DE
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We stayed here in early May (I'm late posting my review). From the courtesy of the Valet Parking, Front Desk, and housekeepers, this hotel was Excellent. The location is perfect. We had a room with view to the Ocean and Cannery Row. The Valet parking is very convenient and the guys do a super job getting your car fast and providing with information as needed. The rooms are very modern and very clean. The fireplace is a nice touch.
The restaurant is probably the best in the area, though it is expensive, but everything in the area is expensive, so I did not mind. I would eat there every night (unless I'm not in Monterrey).
For breakfast we just walked to Starbucks which is around the corner.
I will stay here again when we're back.

Room Tip: Room with View to Cannery Row and Ocean- (not in the main buidling).
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Unfortunately only stayed one night in July 2013 in this wonderful hotel. The staff were very friendly and helpful during our stay. Our room was beautiful with fantastic balcony with views of Cannery Row. Just wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsburg, PA
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We belong to the Intercontinental Ambassador Program which is a rewards program where you pay $200 annually to enjoy its benefits. I did NOT get treated in the level of service expected as an Ambassador. I understand that my room was not ready upon my arrival at 10:30 am, but was sent up to an uncleaned room when I was told my room was ready at 1:00. When I called the front desk, they said to come back down and they would assign me a new room. Upon returning to the lobby, I was informed that there were no other rooms and they offered to store my bags AGAIN. I declined, traipsed back up to my dirty room with my bags and left them there with the maid cleaning. I did receive an upgraded, partial bay view room, which was nice. I also received a call from the manager at 9pm to apologize for the confusion at check-in, which was nice, but received no offer of compensation. Free parking or a complimentary dessert would have been appropriate. The next morning when I went down to get a cup of coffee to take back to my room seemed to be a monumental request as if no one had ever asked for that before. I enjoy properties that have complimentary coffee bars set up in the lobby for their guests. We have stayed many times at the Times Square Intercontinental in NYC and have always enjoyed their level if service which is why we chose the Intercontinental in Monterey. Overall, nothing really special about this hotel other than its location next to the Monterey Bay Aquarium, which is fabulous!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental The Clement Monterey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental The Clement Monterey

Address: 750 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Monterey
#2 Family Hotel in Monterey
#2 Spa Hotel in Monterey
#4 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental The Clement Monterey 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new InterContinental the Clement Monterey is next to the world-renowned Monterey Bay Aquarium in the heart of John Steinbeck's historic Cannery Row. Many guest rooms and suites feature fireplaces, balconies and ocean views and all sparkle with stylish décor. The picturesque hotel offers more than 1,393 square metres (15,000 square feet) of indoor and outdoor meeting space, including an oceanfront ballroom perfect for weddings, conferences and special events. The C Restaurant & Bar, spa, health club, pool, whirlpool, Kids Club and an oceanfront patio offer plenty of reasons to stay close, and Cannery Row s fashionable boutiques, delectable eateries, upscale galleries and vibrant street scene are just a few minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Tingo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Otel, Agoda and Venere so you can book your InterContinental The Clement Monterey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental The Clement Monterey Hotel Monterey
Intercontinental Monterey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental The Clement Monterey, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.