We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Pretty Hotel; Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental The Clement Monterey

Save Saved
You added InterContinental The Clement Monterey to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   750 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #3 of 53 hotels in Monterey
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Very Pretty Hotel; Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

The rooms are very spacious and clean, and the bathroom had a shower and a separate bathtub, which we loved. The location is great -- many of the major attractions are within walking distance, such as the Aquarium and the Wharf, and Carmel is a short drive away. When we arrived, we were, by our request, upgraded to a room with a water view and a balcony, which was definitely worth it for $16 extra/night. Although the hotel called it an "obstructed water view," we actually had a head-on view of the water, which was a nice surprise! (I imagine they call it "obstructed" because technically the view is partially blocked by buildings across the street, but they are far enough away that you have a very clear view of the water.) I would recommend eating at the hotel restaurant; the food was delicious and it had very nice views of the water. Although it was a bit chilly when we were there, the restaurant's outdoor seating area looked like a great place to spend an evening. There is also an outdoor area with fire pits, although they were not turned on when we were there. The hotel lobby is extremely nice, and includes comfortable chairs and a fire pit! If you have a car, which we did, I would definitely recommend getting the package that includes parking; otherwise, it was upwards of $20/night to park the car. Our biggest gripe was that guests have to pay for the wireless internet. Altogether, a very nice hotel in a great location.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clement_Management, General Manager at InterContinental The Clement Monterey, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Dear Kellyann C,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your recent visit to Monterey. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay (and the view!), and hope to see you again soon.

Best regards,
John C. Turner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,737 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,211
    395
    78
    31
    22
See reviews for
518
791
62
139
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (381)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Hartford
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

After 21 hours of travel and having one flight canceled, the reward was immense disappointment. My wife had booked And Confirmed a waterfront room to relax one day before presenting a paper and attending a 4 day conference nearby. She had planned to treat herself at a lovely place and organize her thoughts. Arriving late she found that the confirmed room was not what they had for her and could only offer a discount.

The room was spacious and clean

Room Tip: From our experience your travel reservations are not honored here, so choosing a room is a waste of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clement_Management, General Manager at InterContinental The Clement Monterey, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Dear NewHartfordWatchdog,

Please accept my sincerest apologize for not having the expected room type available when your wife arrived after a trying day. While I appreciate your feedback, if there is anything further you wish to discuss in regards to her recent stay, please feel free to contact me directly at jturner@pahotel.com.

Sincerely,
John C. Turner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Cayman
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

This was our first time staying at this hotel. We found the staff very courteous and helpful. We had a lovely room on the 4th floor that had a big balcony with a view of the water, a large and spacious bathroom, an extremely comfortable king bed and a gas fireplace. Complimentary bottled water. The restaurant has a beautiful view of the water. Breakfast portions are huge, we should have shared! You are on Cannery Row so you are in a great location. Valet parking is $22/day.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clement_Management, General Manager at InterContinental The Clement Monterey, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Dear caymansky,

Thank you so much for your nice review! I am always pleased to hear that our carefully chosen and dedicated staff has made a favorable impression. We all look forward to seeing you again very soon!

Yours truly,
John C. Turner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, USA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

I stayed in this hotel with my partner and had a great time.
Staff was very helpful, courteous, ad knowledgeable.

The hotel itself is beautiful - I loved the modern decor, the outside deck with fire pits, and the reading room. The rooms were great as well - clean, big and well-organized.
You could easily see that this hotel makes the best effort to make you feel home and welcomed - for example, the little booklets you get with hotel information and Monterrey travel information.

And I haven't talked about the great location - right at the heart of Cannery row, 1 minute walk from the Aquarium and the ocean.

Will definitely come back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clement_Management, General Manager at InterContinental The Clement Monterey, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Dear NadavST,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback from your stay. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, particularly the service you received from our team. We hope to welcome you back soon!

Best wishes,
John C. Turner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Coming from the Intercontinental Mark Hopkins in SF we had high expectations and were not disappointed. The hotel is easy to get to in a great location just down the street from the Aquarium. Our first room faced out onto nothing but a grey ugly side wall of the adjacent building. A quick trip back to the front desk and we changed to room 355 which had a view out onto the courtyard and a partial sea view. The room was not the largest but was modern and clean with plenty of sockets for charging stuff. The bathroom was spacious.

We didn't eat in the hotel apart from the happy hour nibbles on the patio which was nice if not breezy. Cannery Row is on the doorstep so finding somewhere to eat is a doddle.
$25 per day for valet parking was a bit pricey and the $9.95 for wi-fi is just annoying. They did have a nice sea otter cuddly toy on the bed though!

Room Tip: Room 355 looks out onto the courtyard and the special parking for the nicer cars!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clement_Management, General Manager at InterContinental The Clement Monterey, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Dear Michael D,

Thank you for your loyalty to InterContinental Hotels! I appreciate your comments about our hotel, and am pleased we were able to find just the right view for your stay. Please visit us again soon!

Yours truly,
John C. Turner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We stayed here on recommendations from friends and were not disappointed.
The staff was incredibly helpful and friendly and provided great advice on what to see and what to skip.
The room was perfect- spacious and well equipped. I loved the extra touch of the slippers- made it feel like home.

I would not hesitate to stay here again and would definitely recommend to others.

Room Tip: ocen view was worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clement_Management, General Manager at InterContinental The Clement Monterey, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Dear Jhemrica,

Thank you for your complimentary comments about our staff and guest rooms. We are glad you visited us and hope you will again in the future.

Best regards,
John C. Turner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Very modern, sheek, and lovely place to stay. I decided to go for it, and got the full waterfront view, which was a king suite with a fireplace in the sitting room as well as a fireplace in the bedroom... Now thats what Im talking about !!!
It certainly felt as though we were royalty during our short stay. The service was excellant, the linens and bed were extremely comfortable. Happy hour, from 4-7 is half off drinks and apps. NICE! There are fire pits and lounging areas outside by the bay to enjoy drinks and conversation.
I have to say, the view alone was worth the price for the room, as we sat and observed the Bay's Sea Otters, seals, and birds from our balcony with a glass of wine listening to the surf. WOW!

Don't come here for the pool though, it's very small. But that's not on our list of musts.
Also, NO pets.
However, the location was outstanding, most everything within walking distance. And there is a nice trail which runs from the warf, through cannery row, up to pacific groove.

--- This room would have been perfect for a family, or even a third adult. There was an extra full bathroom in the sitting room. While the bedroom housed a bathroom I wouldn't mind having in my home :)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clement_Management, General Manager at InterContinental The Clement Monterey, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Dear Lynne R,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us while in Monterey. I am pleased that you enjoyed one of our Luxury Ocean Front Suites. The panoramic view from the balconies often does include otters, and the seagulls stay busy all day. We hope you choose to stay with us again during your next visit to Monterey!

Sincerely,
John C. Turner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental The Clement Monterey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental The Clement Monterey

Address: 750 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Monterey
#2 Business Hotel in Monterey
#2 Spa Hotel in Monterey
#3 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental The Clement Monterey 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new InterContinental the Clement Monterey is next to the world-renowned Monterey Bay Aquarium in the heart of John Steinbeck's historic Cannery Row. Many guest rooms and suites feature fireplaces, balconies and ocean views and all sparkle with stylish décor. The picturesque hotel offers more than 1,393 square metres (15,000 square feet) of indoor and outdoor meeting space, including an oceanfront ballroom perfect for weddings, conferences and special events. The C Restaurant & Bar, spa, health club, pool, whirlpool, Kids Club and an oceanfront patio offer plenty of reasons to stay close, and Cannery Row s fashionable boutiques, delectable eateries, upscale galleries and vibrant street scene are just a few minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Agoda, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Travelocity, Otel and Venere so you can book your InterContinental The Clement Monterey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental The Clement Monterey Hotel Monterey
Intercontinental Monterey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental The Clement Monterey, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.