We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely rooms” 5 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental The Clement Monterey

Save Saved
You added InterContinental The Clement Monterey to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   750 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #3 of 53 hotels in Monterey
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Lovely rooms”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

Just stayed one night but it was beautiful rooms very modern and clean great location in Monterey. They have a really cute fire place in the room very cosy. Valet parking was good no complaints however was charged an extra $3 for having a suburban car, apparently they are extra length!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clement_Management, General Manager at InterContinental The Clement Monterey, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Thank you for your recent stay with us at The Clement Monterey.

We look forward to your return in the near future.

Sincere regards,

John C. Turner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,734 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,210
    394
    77
    31
    22
See reviews for
516
791
62
139
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (381)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Clara, California
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

My family and I stayed here for 4 nights during Spring Break. We chose the hotel based on other reviews, and also for the prime location right next door to the aquarium. We were not disappointed! This is an excellent property and it's location is fabulous! We really enjoyed being just steps from the aquarium and also just across from the mirror and laser maze.

We had 3 rooms (2 partial ocean view and (1) 1 bedroom suite). All 3 rooms were spotlessly clean and all had ocean views.
The beds were very comfortable and the bed linens were soft and luxurious. The bath towels were not as high of quality, but were fine. The hotel also accommodated our request to all be located on the same floor.

We ate breakfast twice and dinner once in the hotel restaurant. The food was very good at each meal, and the service was outstanding! Big thumbs up to the staff at the C restaurant!

We recommend this property and would definitely stay here again.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clement_Management, General Manager at InterContinental The Clement Monterey, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at The Clement Monterey during your spring break.

With so many options in lodging on the Monterey Peninsula, it is our pleasure to accommodate your family while you enjoyed the Monterey Bay Aquarium and the Mirror Maze.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future and look forward to having you dine with us again at the C restaurant.

Sincere regards,

John C. Turner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Although we only stayed one (1) night on our way from L.A. to San Francisco, it was a great experience. The room we booked was an ocean view suite. The view was awesome and the suite was huge! Great value for the price we paid ($300+). I wish there was more to do in Monterey, so we could have stayed longer! Staff was great and the breakfast we ate in our room was very good. We would highly recommend!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clement_Management, General Manager at InterContinental The Clement Monterey, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Thank you for sharing your "Great Experience" from staying with us at The Clement Monterey and recommending our hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future, so that you may enjoy the awesome views from our property.

We pride ourselves on obtaining the greatest staff to deliver the quality service that you deserve.

Sincere regards,

John C. Turner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Was driving up the coast to visit family and decided to spend the night in Monterey. Check in was easy and the staff very friendly and helpful...they offered me a home made chocolate bon bon so perhaps I have been bribed, but hey it was a darn good bon bon.

Since I was only in town for the night I thought I might just wander around since I'm never really a fan of hotel bars and food, but there was some sort of corporate retreat here and the bar was filled with people looking to blow off steam.

Long story short, hung out in the bar/restaurant all night with some really drunk insurance people. The bar did actually have an excellent burger and a decent selection of scotch as well as appetizers.

The room was large, clean and comfy and the bed was absolutely awesome.

Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

When we were planning our road trip from San Francisco to Santa Barbara, we were trying to decide where we should stay in Monterey. After reading the reviews of Intercontinental The Clement Monterey, we were both delighted and pleased by our choice to stay two nights at this hotel. We had booked the one bedroom suite (with two fireplaces) and the view from the balcony of our room was simply amazing. The service was excellent from the moment we pulled up in our car at the valet station until the day of our departure.

We got fantastic tips and suggestions from the staff manning the reception about meal options and they were happy to make reservations for us as well as give us driving directions without us asking for them. Everyone was very friendly and made us feel right at home.

We couldn't ask for a better location. The hotel is close to the Monterey Bay Aquarium and is right on Cannery Row. Although we were charged for parking, the rate was reasonable and the valets were very prompt whenever we requested for our car.

The icing on top of the cake was when we spotted dolphins swimming in the ocean from our balcony. We highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We only stayed one night on our way down the coast to Los Angeles, and it was well worth
the stop. Very cute little town with many shops and good places to eat. Our room was only a
standard and had no view except for the property next door, but was very comfortable.
I don't know if there is much to do in the area that would warrant a longer stay, but if you
are driving the coast this would be my choice to stop on the way.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, California
Top Contributor
206 reviews 206 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

This hotel was renovated 3-4 years ago, I think, but still looks fantastic. Excellent staff, very friendly and helpful, know the area very well!
Only nit I could pick - I forgot a pillow in our room when we checked out Sunday. Called Monday, put in Lost & Found report. They were supposed to call when they found it. I called again on Tuesday - they couldn't find the report from Monday - put it in again - called back 15 minutes later, it's found. Yay. I give them my Fedex account to ship it out. It's one day by Fedex Ground, so I'm thinking it'll be back Wednesday. No pillow. Thursday, no pillow. Called Thurs pm, it finally shipped out at 5pm Thursday, and arrived Friday.

Can't take off a whole star, but seriously... Three days to get a package shipped out? [Don't leave your pillow here!]

Room Tip: Ask for a view of Cannery Row (some rooms have very limited view).
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental The Clement Monterey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental The Clement Monterey

Address: 750 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Monterey
#2 Spa Hotel in Monterey
#2 Business Hotel in Monterey
#3 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental The Clement Monterey 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new InterContinental the Clement Monterey is next to the world-renowned Monterey Bay Aquarium in the heart of John Steinbeck's historic Cannery Row. Many guest rooms and suites feature fireplaces, balconies and ocean views and all sparkle with stylish décor. The picturesque hotel offers more than 1,393 square metres (15,000 square feet) of indoor and outdoor meeting space, including an oceanfront ballroom perfect for weddings, conferences and special events. The C Restaurant & Bar, spa, health club, pool, whirlpool, Kids Club and an oceanfront patio offer plenty of reasons to stay close, and Cannery Row s fashionable boutiques, delectable eateries, upscale galleries and vibrant street scene are just a few minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Agoda, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Travelocity, Otel and Venere so you can book your InterContinental The Clement Monterey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental The Clement Monterey Hotel Monterey
Intercontinental Monterey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental The Clement Monterey, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.