We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental The Clement Monterey

Save Saved
You added InterContinental The Clement Monterey to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   750 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Save up to 25%
Ranked #3 of 53 hotels in Monterey
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

This is the second time our group of golfers have stayed at this beautiful hotel. It is just great! The location is perfect, right on Cannery Row and in walking distance to the Aquarium and many shops and restaurants. The rooms are beautiful and stylish, with bay views. The staff is very helpful, pleasant and professional. Our group dinner at the C restaurant was delicious as was breakfast in the morning with the stunning bay views. We will definitely be back as soon as we can.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,583 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,108
    356
    72
    29
    18
See reviews for
458
725
59
130
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (317)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

This hotel had everything.....perfect location, nice rooms, excellent service and great food! We spent 2 nights in Monterey and enjoyed it a lot. We were in the heart of Cannery Row and was a few steps from the Monterey Bay Aquarium. Other great restaurants are walking distance from the hotel---The Sardine Factory and Fish Hopper to name a couple. As for the room, it was ready when we arrived and when we walked in, it was sparkling clean and so was the bathroom! The best though were the staff---the ones that I spoke to were ALL very helpful, pleasant and professional!!! The front desk, the valets, the waiters at the C Restaurant were all wonderful!!! We will defnitely be back!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

The Clement is absolutely worth the money! It is walking distance to everything... From the aquarium to shopping and other restaurants. The view from the C+ restaurant is amazing.
The rooms are good size and clean. Service all around is impeccable.
I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Ana, CA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

The Clement is a well-located oceanfront hotel-right on Cannery Row, steps from the Aquarium. The staff is excellent, the rooms modern and Intercontinental snazzy. With the exception of a couple of very minor "problems" (mostly which almost all hotels of this price category share), we had a wonderful experience.

There are quite a few room types based on the relative views, and the price varies greatly based on the degree to which the ocean is visible from the room. We had a three-night stay in mid-March Thursday-Sunday in room 403-this was a "King, Oceanfront, Balcony, Fireplace" type, and we paid average rate of $383 per night inclusive of about $36/night of various taxes; we booked at the hotel website which had the best deal.

The package included valet parking, which is normally $22/night. Self-parking in their garage is about $20/day. Wi-Fi is $10/day, one of those typical premium category hotel problems (lesser hotels include Wi-Fi free), but we didn't use it. Ditto with the phone, and I've no idea what the hotel charges (not that it matters much these days) for calls.

The staff was uniformly excellent, and worthy of Intercontinental standards. There's a spa and nice restaurant/bar called "the c". Their specialty drinks are pretty good, but bear the usual priciness. There's a deck with standing heaters and fire pits, very nice. Thanks to my partner for showing that to me! Beware of french-fry thieving birds, should you choose to have your meal delivered outside.

The usual amenities are present: HD TV, iron and board, mini-bar (on the expensive side), fancily-named fragrant toiletries, an umbrella, safe, bathrobes and cozy soft slippers, iPod dock with clock and radio, (not iPhone 5 compatible) and hair dryer (not tested). The extras include a small bonsai tree, an unexpected stuffed otter plush (not complimentary!), and a mini Zen sand garden. The room decor is clean and minimalistic.

The room was of about the usual size, 400 square feet or thereabouts, and had a bathroom of decent size, with separate tub and shower. The clear glass shower doors in close proximity to the commode were slightly disconcerting. The bathroom and hall closet doors can collide, so the hall feels very narrow. The water pressure (again, as usual) was not great, but average for most hotels. The water temp varied a little. The showerhead is not adjustable.

A desk and chair, a sitting (???) chair and ottoman, three drawers and mini-bar cabinet, and a cool-looking but wide-bodied floor lamp leave the room feeling slightly cramped.

The nicely-linened bad was comfy, but had a significant left-side groove. We didn't use the A/C or heat.

The balcony was lovely, very oceanfront indeed - with the rocky shore immediately below us. The view was simply fantastic. We were on the top floor, and snowy white plovers (a local avian) liked to stand on the balcony rail. They didn't mind us, even when we were on the balcony mere feet away. I guess if you're scared of birds the fourth floor would be a bad call, but the sound of the waves soothing you to sleep might make up for it.

The Aquarium is steps away, and there are all sorts of restaurants nearby (go a block or so south for more), suitable for any taste. There's a good variety of the touristy stuff around: cheesy gift shops, candy stores, milkshakes, and shops selling jewelry and other arty and artsy stuff. There's one particular store selling all sorts of weirdnesses including underwear made of candy (think Spencer Gifts+alcohol). The "mascot" by the register is particularly unsettling. If you dare (it's NOT a sex shop, just funky in a so-bad-it's-good kind of way) it's on the second floor of a nearby retail building.

The sidewalks around here roll up pretty early Sunday-Thursday. Frankly, Cannery Row and environs are pretty shabby in general, kind of feels on the decline. But there are places with live music and dancing, if that's your thing.

Cannery Row prices for water, soda, snacks etc. are super-high, but if you head south from Cannery Row just a few, short, uphill blocks, you'll find a grocery store, 7-11, a nice-looking liquor store, and cheaper food options including a Coco's, Carl's Jr, KFC, plus two head shops right across the street from each other. Bring your own candy. Prices per pound on Cannery Row rival those for hand picked-tea.

Room Tip: Oceanfront is nice, but expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin, ireland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We recently stayed as part of our honeymoon, my only regret would be that we only stayed one night. This is a beautiful hotel in a beautiful location. The hotel is near plenty of restaurants & bars, we didn't eat here but returned to the hotel bar after dinner and had a few drinks there, there was a lovely atmosphere and the bar man was friendly and helpful. The staff were all very friendly. The rooms are huge and have everything you could need. I would definitely recommend the hotel & would love to stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

This was such an amazing hotel experience! I came into town to visit family and stayed at the Intercontiental and I will deffinately be returning to the hotel on the next chance that I get! The rooms are amazingly clean and the views are absolutely breathtaking! I could not have been happier! I was treated so nicely at the front desk by three blond men who looked vaguely identical and in the restaurant the bartender and waitress could not have been nicer. The bellmen could not have been more conversational and it was wonderful! I wish I could have had an oceanfront room but they were unfortunately sold out but I was given a partial ocean view room on the top floor of the building across the street that turned out to be a direct ocean view!!!

Room Tip: The buillding across the street has some amazing direct ocean views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clement_Management, General Manager at InterContinental The Clement Monterey, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Fran A,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us! I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and the ocean view from your room. We look forward to seeing you again!

Best wishes,
John C. Turner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013 via mobile

Arrived at Hotel early, but forgot to make a booking beforehand. Jason (check spelling) on front desk was amazing and very professional and sorted us a room at a rate better than I could have got on line at such short notice. I truly felt looked after and special and I cant recommend more. The room and hotel was excellent also and lovly views also. Fantastic and thanks

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clement_Management, General Manager at InterContinental The Clement Monterey, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Barbs1259,

I am very pleased that Jaeson and our other employees looked after you so well and that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Yours truly,
John C. Turner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to InterContinental The Clement Monterey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental The Clement Monterey

Also Known As:
Intercontinental The Clement Monterey Hotel Monterey
Intercontinental The Clement Monterey Hotel
Intercontinental Monterey
Address: 750 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Monterey
#2 Business Hotel in Monterey
#5 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental The Clement Monterey 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new InterContinental the Clement Monterey is next to the world-renowned Monterey Bay Aquarium in the heart of John Steinbeck's historic Cannery Row. Many guest rooms and suites feature fireplaces, balconies and ocean views and all sparkle with stylish décor. The picturesque hotel offers more than 1,393 square metres (15,000 square feet) of indoor and outdoor meeting space, including an oceanfront ballroom perfect for weddings, conferences and special events. The C Restaurant & Bar, spa, health club, pool, whirlpool, Kids Club and an oceanfront patio offer plenty of reasons to stay close, and Cannery Row s fashionable boutiques, delectable eateries, upscale galleries and vibrant street scene are just a few minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Otel, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your InterContinental The Clement Monterey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental The Clement Monterey, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.