We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental The Clement Monterey

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added InterContinental The Clement Monterey to your Saves list
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   750 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #3 of 53 Hotels in Monterey
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A great stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Ah, Brad! What a great guy! Made us feel right at home in this hotel bar. Will give you food recommendations and knows how to make a great drink. (Forgive us for this) Ask him for his wildberry mojito! it’s to die for. he might even make it for you while wearing a berry hat. Dane also made us feel very at home – talking about his mixology ideas and making me the most delicious apple martini. Both are Monterey locals and will point you in the right direction as to where to eat and sight-see. As far as the hotel is concerned, the rooms are very nice. I would be careful about leaving and returning during the day as the company the hotel outsources to for parking likes to sell the spaces during the day and you might not have a spot when you return.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,829 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,270
    419
    84
    32
    24
See reviews for
543
838
63
145
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (409)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fair Oaks, California
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Having decided that just once in our lives we'd like to do an overnight on Cannery Row itself, within 100 yards or so of the Monterey Aquarium, we stopped mid week with no reservations in this "off season". We stopped at the passenger-only white curb in front, and my husband stayed in the car to avoid getting a parking ticket; I went in to ask the price for an ocean view room, got a fairly decent quote and so we decided to stay. But upon check-in we were only then hit with an additional $22.00 for parking and told that breakfast would not be included — despite that the hotel's internet ad stated it was. Our room was surprisingly modern, large, and clean, in contrast with look of the hotel's exterior. We did get a decent view of the ocean but a bit minimal, it being on the other side of a large patio. The bed was very comfortable. We were surprised that there was a charge for the internet, considering we have stayed at to many hotels both in the U.S. and third world countries where wi-fi was available for no cost (we suggest it is time so called first class hotels drop this silly $10 charge.)

Room Tip: Pin down breakfast, parking and wi-fi before signing up. Clarify whether you're getting a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

My husband, 12 year old son and I only stayed for one night as part of a Fly-drive holiday and it rates as one of the best hotels we've ever stayed in. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was amazing although we were not fortunate enough to get a sea view which would have been even better! After we'd settled in, we had drinks on the patio around a large fire pit, and there were heaters everywhere to keep the evening chill off. The view and ambiance was lovely. We decided to wander up Cannery Row which wasn't in keeping with the hotel: some tatty waste ground and lots of tourist shops although there was a lovely gallery close by. Unfortunately there wasn't enough time in the agenda to explore the rest of Monterey. After checking out the other restaurants we decided to eat at the hotel. The food was very nice although a little on the pricey side. We would definately go back again.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view if you can. You'll get an amazing view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We visited in the off season. On the plus side, quick walk to Monterey Aquarium and warm inside. Room was clean, relatively quiet, pleasant lighting. Nice, fast wifi, connected to iPad right away. Little balcony had view of neighboring restaurants and a couple of chairs. Nicely appointed. Staff were all very nice. Starbucks is just one short block down and across the street, so it's easy to make an early morning coffee run. Restaurant opened too late for our preferred breakfast time. Even room service had late AM service (in our opinion.) On the down side: lots of vacant shops on Cannery Row. Looks like over-priced corporate rents are keeping small business out of the area. Also, the chairs on our little balcony were dirty with bird droppings...in fact, every set of chairs on all the balconies were dirty were bird droppings. So, nice perk, but unusable. Overall location and hotel are nice, but waaayyy overpriced. Even at the off-season rate, two nights with wifi and parking cost over $500. Actual worth in my view: about $200. Stay here if you really want to be very close to the aquarium. However, other 4-5 star hotels are also within very comfortable walking distance.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We only stayed here one night, but enjoyed the time we spent here. The hotel is situated right on the waterfront, and is close to restaurants, shops and the wonderful Monterey Bay Aquarium (a visit to this aquarium is a must.) The room was light, airy and very comfortable. We had two rooms between our family of four, so we had plenty of space to move around. The bathroom was clean and modern, and there was an armchair with a fireplace which would be lovely to use in the winter months. The gym and pool facilities were of an excellent standard. I have no complaints about this hotel!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clement_Management, General Manager at InterContinental The Clement Monterey, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Holidaymama,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. I am delighted that you were able to enjoy your time away with your family. We hope to welcome you back again soon!

Sincerely,
John C. Turner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We stayed here on our recent honeymoon and very much enjoyed our stay. We were upgraded on arrival at reception by the very friendly reception staff and had a room over looking Cannery row with a partial view of the sea.
The room itself was nice - the bathroom was especially nice and overall the whole hotel felt very modern and new. I loved the Elemis goodies in the bathroom which were a nice touch. Our room also had a fireplace which was a nice unexpected feature.
The hotel has a prime location on Cannery Row and is less than 5 minutes walk from the aquarium (which you have to go to - it's amazing!) . It also has a lovely patio area to the front of the hotel with fire pits which is a great place to relax with a glass of wine from the bar in the evening (we ended up doing this both nights of our stay!). The only downside to the location is that some of the nicer restaurants are location in the middle of Monterey which is quite far from the hotel - however there are some more touristy restaurants around the hotel which were fine from the couple we tried.
The reason they hotel gets 4 not 5 stars is two fold. First the swimming pool and spa area is tiny! The pool is less than 2 metres wide and about 10 metres long (and cold!) - the hot tub is nice enough but it outside and had quite a lot of leaves etc in when we were there. But this was only a minor detraction from the overall experience. The second reason was that overall the hotel felt a little corporate and soulless. Don't get me wrong - all of the staff that we met were friendly but the hotel is quite large so if you are looking for a very romantic boutique experience you might not get that here.
Overall I would recommend the hotel and we had a pleasant stay here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clement_Management, General Manager at InterContinental The Clement Monterey, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear girlinthebigcity,

Congratulations, and we are delighted you spent part of your honeymoon with us! Our courtyard overlooking Monterey Bay is absolutely the perfect place to enjoy a refreshment. We hope to see you again for each and every anniversary of your very special day.

Best wishes,
John C. Turner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

We just stayed here over the weekend and let me tell you that it was perfect and delightful as soon as we pulled in and were greeted by the valet guy till we checked out! Every single staff member was cheerful and extremely helpful! Our stay was a perfect 10! The room was a great size, clean, and the bed was extremely comfortable. The workout facility was really nice and the small pool and jacuzzi was just right! The location just can't be beat here as you are just right in the action of cannery row! Definitely look forward to coming back soon!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clement_Management, General Manager at InterContinental The Clement Monterey, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear P11rocco,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your recent trip to Monterey! We are very glad you discovered us for your visit to Monterey, and pleased to earn your “perfect 10.” We will still be right here in the heart of Cannery Row next time you choose to visit our exciting area.

Sincerely,
John C. Turner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental The Clement Monterey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental The Clement Monterey

Address: 750 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Monterey
#2 Business Hotel in Monterey
#2 Family Hotel in Monterey
#3 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental The Clement Monterey 4*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new InterContinental the Clement Monterey is next to the world-renowned Monterey Bay Aquarium in the heart of John Steinbeck's historic Cannery Row. Many guest rooms and suites feature fireplaces, balconies and ocean views and all sparkle with stylish décor. The picturesque hotel offers more than 1,393 square metres (15,000 square feet) of indoor and outdoor meeting space, including an oceanfront ballroom perfect for weddings, conferences and special events. The C Restaurant & Bar, spa, health club, pool, whirlpool, Kids Club and an oceanfront patio offer plenty of reasons to stay close, and Cannery Row s fashionable boutiques, delectable eateries, upscale galleries and vibrant street scene are just a few minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Tingo so you can book your InterContinental The Clement Monterey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental The Clement Monterey Hotel Monterey
Intercontinental Monterey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental The Clement Monterey, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.