We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Time in Monterey, CA” 5 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental The Clement Monterey

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental The Clement Monterey to your Saves list
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   750 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #3 of 53 Hotels in Monterey
San Francisco
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great Time in Monterey, CA”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Stayed at The Clement as part of a two-day visit to Monterey and Carmel-By-the-Sea. Every experience of the Clement was top-notch. Both dinner and breakfast were outstanding, and we found the pricing of our meals very reasonable, given the quality of the cuisine and the service.

The public rooms are large and attractive, with many having broad views of Monterey Bay, directly outside the building. Our guest room was large, well-furnished, exceptionally clean and quiet. Again, pricing was less than expected, although parking (always a problem in Monterey) is an extra $21 per day, valet service.

The proximity of the Monterey Aquarium, a block or two away, made all exploration of the central town a walking experience, and the short drive to other cities and towns on the Bay, including the famous 17-Mile Drive and Carmel-By-the-Sea, easily reachable.

All-in-all, an outstanding weekend!

Room Tip: The hotel is in two buildings, one facing the Bay, one across the street. Be sure you understand whi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clement_Management, General Manager at InterContinental The Clement Monterey, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear SanFranciscoRedman1,

Thank you for your thorough review and it pleases me to receive your “top-notch” ranking! We agree with you that this area holds every potential for an outstanding weekend. I look forward to seeing you again.

Best wishes,
John C. Turner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,877 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,306
    428
    86
    32
    25
See reviews for
554
861
64
149
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (421)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Irvine, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We have stayed here about a half-dozen times and are always impressed. The rooms even smell good! The towels are soft, the rooms are clean, the surroundings are lovely. Couldn't ask for anything better.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clement_Management, General Manager at InterContinental The Clement Monterey, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Val,

We are pleased to earn your return visits, and thank you for sharing your review. We’re always happy to have you here.

Sincerely,
John C. Turner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novato
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here as a weekend get away to take advantage of its nearby location to Carmel and the Pebble Beach area. This is a beautiful property that is relatively new to the row and blends in well, but is a welcome surprise to the somewhat tired Cannery Row collection of shops and restaurants. Our room was a spacious suite on the upper floor, with a sweeping view of the bay complete with binoculars to view the famous sea otters frolicking in the waters below. The bed was very comfortable and we had a good nights sleep in the well appointed room, with separate guest bath in the front entry, and a full tub and shower in the master suite bedroom. We enjoyed a delicious breakfast in the restaurant on the main level, with beautiful ocean views as well. The staff here is very friendly and attentive, from valets to front desk, everyone met and exceeded our expectations of an InterContinental property. There is not really a lobby area at this hotel, so enjoy your room and venture outside the area for any touring. The area the hotel is located in is not what you expect of what the spectacular Northern Californian coastline has to offer, so make sure you drive long the coastline and even pay the fee to experience the famous 17 mile drive. You'll see why the ultra rich have chosen this as their home, or in some cases, home away from home. We can't wait to come back and enjoy another stay at this excellent hotel.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clement_Management, General Manager at InterContinental The Clement Monterey, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear MarinCountyJohn,

It’s good of you to share so many observations, both about our hotel and the amazing area surrounding us. Even living here full time, we never get tired of seeing the Bay and nearby coastal areas. We hope you will return for more exploring!

Best regards,
John C. Turner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

At the last minute we decided to take a couple of days to visit Monterey to visit the aquarium.....a trip we always enjoy. We've enviously observed guests coming and going from The Clement. We were able to book a room. It was fantastic from the moment we drove up to valet, til the moment we departed. Treated like special guests; personalized service; fantastic restaurant view and food; clean and comfortable!

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clement_Management, General Manager at InterContinental The Clement Monterey, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Nancy M,

We are honored to be the recipient of your first review! I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the personalized service you received. The Monterey Bay Aquarium is always evolving and adding new features, so we hope you won’t wait too long to return.

Sincerely,
John C. Turner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

Hotel is new and modern. We booked interconnecting rooms for our family of 5. Breakfast is good value and tasty with excellent ocean views. The cannery row area can feel like a sideshow, so having a really nice hotel to stay at was worthwhile. Valet parking was excellent.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clement_Management, General Manager at InterContinental The Clement Monterey, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear MDavidson1,

Thank you for sharing your observations, and we are glad you enjoyed your time with us. Hoping to see you again very soon!

Best wishes,
John C. Turner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

The Clement is nestled perfectly into Cannery Row, with the best of locations and waterfront views. Impeccable service from check-in, valet, housekeeping, and bar. Our room did not have an ocean view, but was large, nicely appointed and had a fireplace that we used often after coming in from the chilly winter air. The small outdoor lap pool was even warm enough for the kids to swim in in 50-degree temps. The only part that disapointed was the Kids Club which didn't live up to its description and was over-priced. That said, our kids happily spent two hours there while we enjoyed sunset from the restaurant.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clement_Management, General Manager at InterContinental The Clement Monterey, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Alissa G,

Thank you for sharing your impressions, and I am pleased that you enjoyed your time with us. I look forward to seeing you here again on Cannery Row.

Warm regards,
John C. Turner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

We were greeted right away by the valet and had a big smile on our faces because we knew we picked the right place. Check in we were offered chocolates. Concierge Theresa was great in helping us with reservations. Room was clean and comfortable. Bar downstairs in restaurant the male bartender working New Years Eve was friendly! Will stay here everytime we come! We usually stay at the Montetey Plaza but they were sold out and usually $200 more. So it worked out. The only thing I would have liked to have seen is turn down service with a treat(; and free wi fi . Water was complimentary which was a plus.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clement_Management, General Manager at InterContinental The Clement Monterey, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear alwyzlv2trvl,

We are delighted you spent New Year’s Eve with us, and found our staff to be friendly and accommodating. Thank you for sharing, and Happy New Year!

Sincerely,
John C. Turner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental The Clement Monterey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental The Clement Monterey

Address: 750 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Monterey
#2 Business Hotel in Monterey
#2 Spa Hotel in Monterey
#2 Luxury Hotel in Monterey
#3 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental The Clement Monterey 4*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new InterContinental the Clement Monterey is next to the world-renowned Monterey Bay Aquarium in the heart of John Steinbeck's historic Cannery Row. Many guest rooms and suites feature fireplaces, balconies and ocean views and all sparkle with stylish décor. The picturesque hotel offers more than 1,393 square metres (15,000 square feet) of indoor and outdoor meeting space, including an oceanfront ballroom perfect for weddings, conferences and special events. The C Restaurant & Bar, spa, health club, pool, whirlpool, Kids Club and an oceanfront patio offer plenty of reasons to stay close, and Cannery Row s fashionable boutiques, delectable eateries, upscale galleries and vibrant street scene are just a few minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your InterContinental The Clement Monterey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental The Clement Monterey Hotel Monterey
Intercontinental Monterey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental The Clement Monterey, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.