We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy and Classy in the Heart of Tacky Cannery Row” 5 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental The Clement Monterey

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental The Clement Monterey to your Saves list
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   750 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #3 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Cozy and Classy in the Heart of Tacky Cannery Row”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

I've stayed here twice for business because my employer hosts an annual dinner here. This is a Class A hotel in an otherwise tacky tourist strip of Monterey. The service is excellent. Check-in was professional and streamlined. My favorite thing about this hotel is the gas fireplaces in the rooms. These are swank and create feeling of coziness that overcomes the usual sterility of hotel rooms. Everything was clean. The bed was comfortable and when I woke up at some point in the middle of the night it took me a few minutes to realize I wasn't at home. That's a rare occurrence for me because I don't sleep well in hotel rooms. This place has good energy and I wouldn't go anywhere else. The food in the restaurant was superior as well.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room with a fireplace
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bwater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clement_Management, General Manager at InterContinental The Clement Monterey, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear Bwater,

Like you, many of our guests are here for a conference or business event, and we are always pleased to hear that a quiet and restful night followed the day’s activities. Thank you for sharing your experiences with others, and I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you and your company again next year!

Sincerely,
John C. Turner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Murcia, Spain
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

The title says it all.
Amazing room, request ocean views, you will not be disappointed.
Awesome location, right next to aquarium and plenty of bars and restaurants within walking distance, be sure to try the ribs at Bubba Gump restaurant across the street.
Was sorry to leave this hotel, but just a few minutes drive and you are on the world famous 17 mile drive, well worth the 10 dollars toll fee, visit Pebble Beach golf course, then on to the amazing Big Sur.

Room Tip: Get ocean views, worth the upgrade and extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marvin3004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clement_Management, General Manager at InterContinental The Clement Monterey, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear Marvin,

Thank you for your complimentary review of our hotel and area. We are indeed a convenient launching point for our nearby attractions, and I am pleased you were able to spend some time exploring. There is much more to do in the Monterey Bay area, and I hope we will see you again soon!

Best wishes,
John C. Turner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

My stay at InterContinental The Clement Monterey is one of the best I've ever had. The moment you step into the room, time just seems to stand still. There is a zen corner with a fireplace to complete the whole look and feel of the room.

The location is very near the Monterey Bay Aquarium on Cannery Row. Walk along the streets during the evening time to bask in the quiet solace of the town. The view and sound of the pacific ocean have a very calming effect.

The breakfast at the hotel is way too yummylicious! You will be spoiled for choices. Every meal is well presented and tasted so delicious, all my diet plans went to fail!

This hotel is very suitable for couples. I would definitely come back to this beautiful property whenever I have the chance.

Room Tip: Choose rooms that are on the new wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank m8bel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clement_Management, General Manager at InterContinental The Clement Monterey, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear m8bel,

Thank you for choosing InterContinental The Clement Monterey for your visit to Cannery Row. I am very pleased you enjoyed both our area and our hotel. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Warm wishes,
John C. Turner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maui, Hawaii
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012 via mobile

Paid for an upgrade to ocean front and was wow'd. Employees were attentive and caring; provided good and consistent service. Issues were a delay in the luggage pick up when checking out; wi-fi should be included. Would return and recommend to others!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HKM808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clement_Management, General Manager at InterContinental The Clement Monterey, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear HKM808,

Thank you for providing us with feedback from your recent stay. I regret you experienced a delay in receiving Bell service, but I am very pleased that you enjoyed our coastal views and overall service. I sincerely hope we will have another opportunity to see you here on Cannery Row.

Thank you,
John C. Turner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

... stop thinking.
Just do it.
Well appointed, great location, great service.
Fabulous room overlooking small square, a bathroom to get lost in.
With a bath-tub, not just a shower.
Can I please move in?

Room Tip: Get room 351 if you can, but I'm sure there'all nice. Overlooks the square and near to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clement_Management, General Manager at InterContinental The Clement Monterey, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear Tim,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. Even if you do not move in, we will still be pleased to see you again on your next visit to the Monterey Bay Peninsula!

Best wishes,
John C. Turner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

The Intercontinental Monterey is a beautiful new hotel situated only steps away from the Monterey Bay Aquarium on Cannery Row. The staff provide excellent service and hospitality; we were constantly being asked if we needed help in any way. Views of the bay were wonderful from the room as well as from the outdoor deck that had fire-pits. We asked for an upgrade to a suite and got an enormous one for under 100 bucks extra.

The hotel actually has a kids-club activity room that looked well stocked, though our kids did not actually use it. The fitness room is pretty basic, but had the essentials. There is a lap pool adjacent to the Spa.

If you are looking for a modern, lux hotel right on Cannery Row, this is it. Parking is perhaps the only drawback, as Valet is the only option given the location.

Room Tip: Since the hotel is right on the bay, it's worth the extra cost for an ocean view room. Also is q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ac2000ny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clement_Management, General Manager at InterContinental The Clement Monterey, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear ac2000ny,

Thank you for staying with us while you visited the Monterey area. I am very pleased that you found our associates to be helpful, and enjoyed your stay with us. I hope we will have the pleasure of having you stay with us again soon.

Sincerely,
John C. Turner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
82 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Had a great ocean front room with Fireplace. Wonderful ocean views and watched the sea otters and seals every am from the balcony over the ocean. Service was very friendly, only issue was the bed was a bit soft on each side....if they would replace those would be the best place to stay in Monterey without a doubt. Walking distance to everything, next door to Aquarium though we thought that was overrated compared to others like Atlanta and Omaha. But this hotel was the best. Concierge was very helpful with Anniversary plans and reservations. Would definitely stay again, especially at the right price.

Room Tip: Splurge on the Oceanfront if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RazorB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clement_Management, General Manager at InterContinental The Clement Monterey, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear RazorB,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at InterContinental The Clement Monterey during your recent trip to the area. We are delighted that you enjoyed the views and our Cannery Row location, and found our staff members to be accommodating. We hope to see you again soon here in Monterey.

Best wishes,

John C. Turner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.5 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 stars 1,372 reviews
0.1 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 stars 1,696 reviews
1.1 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn
2.4 mi away
Monterey Tides
Monterey Tides
#39 of 55 in Monterey
3.5 of 5 stars 1,717 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Monterey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental The Clement Monterey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental The Clement Monterey

Address: 750 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Monterey
#2 Business Hotel in Monterey
#2 Family Hotel in Monterey
#2 Luxury Hotel in Monterey
#3 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental The Clement Monterey 4*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new InterContinental the Clement Monterey is next to the world-renowned Monterey Bay Aquarium in the heart of John Steinbeck's historic Cannery Row. Many guest rooms and suites feature fireplaces, balconies and ocean views and all sparkle with stylish décor. The picturesque hotel offers more than 1,393 square metres (15,000 square feet) of indoor and outdoor meeting space, including an oceanfront ballroom perfect for weddings, conferences and special events. The C Restaurant & Bar, spa, health club, pool, whirlpool, Kids Club and an oceanfront patio offer plenty of reasons to stay close, and Cannery Row s fashionable boutiques, delectable eateries, upscale galleries and vibrant street scene are just a few minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your InterContinental The Clement Monterey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental The Clement Monterey Hotel Monterey
Intercontinental Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing