We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel at Cannery Row” 5 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental The Clement Monterey

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental The Clement Monterey to your Saves list
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   750 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #3 of 53 Hotels in Monterey
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Hotel at Cannery Row”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

It was our second time at The Clement Monterey. This time we brought my parents who were visiting from Brazil. We love this hotel. It is modern, clean, light, has beautiful views of the bay and is right in the middle of Cannery Row, a 10-minute walk to the Monterey Bay Aquarium and tons of shops and restaurants. The pools is a bit on the small side, but frankly both times we visited it was too cold to go swimming anyway. The common areas of the hotel are beautiful, especially the outside patio facing the bay. The beds are comfortable and the bathroom is spacious. I highly recommend this hotel if you wish to stay in the Cannery Row area. There is a bakery right across the street -- Austino's Patisserie -- with great breakfast sandwiches and coffee.

Room Tip: Rooms in the annex face the parking lot, although they have a nice patio with furniture
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clement_Management, General Manager at InterContinental The Clement Monterey, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Dear Carvacri,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at InterContinental The Clement Monterey! I am delighted that you and your parents enjoyed your stay and were able to take in the views that we have to offer. I hope you return again soon!

Sincerely,
John C. Turner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,867 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,297
    427
    86
    32
    25
See reviews for
551
858
64
147
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (420)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Napa Valley
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

The Clement is next door to the Monterey Bay Aquarium, which is a must see in Monterey. Its location on historic Cannery Row can't be beat. Located right on the bay it has breathtaking views and the hotel itself is sleek, modern and comfortable. Its also one block off the bike/walking trail.

Things we liked. Our room was comfortable and of a good size. The windows opened allowing us to enjoy the ocean breeze and sounds. Customer service and cleanliness were at a very high standard. Room prices were a little better than the comparably rated hotels in the area. The pool and spa were nice.

Things we did not like as much were the $9.50 a day charge for internet and the $21 a day valet parking, which is only $1 more than self parking but seems pricey nonetheless. Our bed was getting tired and the mattress could have used replacing.

So, in all a good short stay and worthwhile for the location.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clement_Management, General Manager at InterContinental The Clement Monterey, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Dear winetraveler17,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your recent trip to Monterey. I am happy that you enjoyed your stay and were able to enjoy our central location on Cannery Row. I hope to welcome you back again soon!

Sincerely,
John C. Turner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Marcos, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

My husband and I recently attended a business conference at this property and we can't say enough about the exceptional professional service we received from the staff. Because of flight delays, we checked in extremely late to the property and were still warmly greeted by the front desk staff. The next day's staff continued to be extremely courteous and genuinely thoughtful towards our needs. All staff that we encountered continued to be concerned about every detail of our 2-night stay from arranging dinner suggestions/reservations to helping with our lengthly check-out process.
Thank you to all!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clement_Management, General Manager at InterContinental The Clement Monterey, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Dear Gaye,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience with the TripAdvisor community. I am always eager to hear about our guests’ experiences and delighted to share your wonderful comments about the service you experienced with the team. We all hope that your future travel plans will have you returning to InterContinental The Clement Monterey again soon!

Sincerely,
John C. Turner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Recently took a group of clients to this property for a meeting. Overall a very good experience.

Service is above average at this property. Staff is very friendly and accomodating. Always on point and ready to assist. Interaction with everyone from the front desk to the restaurant was positive.

Had a bit of an issue with a few of the meeting planning points but the hotel recovered and worked through the issues.

Some rooms have fireplaces and views of Monterey bay. Rooms are clean and well kept.

We also utilized the spa and had a good experience. Good offering of services and nicely appointed.

Hotel is within walking distance of all the sights in Monterey. Also has a great outside seating area with two firepits for late night drinks and lounging.

Probably the best offering in or around downtown Monterey.

Room Tip: rooms on both side of the road connected by a walkway. ask for waterview if you desire it as they g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clement_Management, General Manager at InterContinental The Clement Monterey, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Dear Chris,

Thank you for providing us feedback of your recent stay. I am sorry that you had an issue with your meeting planning, but am happy to hear that everything was resolved. I am also delighted that you were able to enjoy The Spa at InterContinental and the view from the Pacific Courtyard during your stay. We hope to see you here again soon!

Thank you,
John C. Turner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

We had a room on the street facing towards the ocean. So even though we didn't pay for a premium ocean view room we had a lovely view of the street that included the famous Cannery Row sign & some ocean. Our first night we had dinner & drinks in the hotel restaurant and it was delicious! We ended up sitting at the bar because of our late check-in we didn't get a dinner reservation but the bar tender was very attentive. If you have a minute to sit & chill the decks facing the Bay are great. Outdoor seating, fire pits & if you look close you can see Sea Otters. Very cool.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clement_Management, General Manager at InterContinental The Clement Monterey, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Dear Alabamagirl6,

Thank you for staying with us at InterContinental The Clement Monterey! I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and had the opportunity to dine at The C Bar. I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.

Warm regards,
John C. Turner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoneham, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

It took several years to convert from a sardine processing building, but the place does nothing for me. The circular driveway approach is so congested it's nearly impossible to navigate. From the moment you enter, the place is cold and badly laid out. Flat screen TV's continually broadcasting coral fish doesn't cut it. At this price level the lobby should be elegant and beautifully laid out, not dark wood paneled and hidden around the corne.
Moreover, the outside facing Cannery Row looks like a cheap apartment building and is devoid of any resemblance to a marine environment or upscale hotel. Whoever designed this place won't be getting any architechtural awards. The rooms are you standard shoebox design. The "restaurant" is very unremarkable other than it overlooks the bay. Outdoor open access is very limited. The are far nicer places nearby. A glorified Holiday Inn best describes this place.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental The Clement Monterey, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear Swissdiner,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. I am pleased that you found our location convenient. However, I would like to apologize for any inconvenience the hotel conditions may have caused you. Rest assured that I have taken note and that your comments will be forwarded to the ownership of the hotel to take into consideration for future upgrades. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

Thank you again for posting your comments. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.


Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

We stayed at the intercontinental in late august for 2 nights with our family. Terrific location, wonderful updated/modern renovations and perfect relaxing oceanside vibe throughout the hotel. We'd decided to stay in Monterrey instead of in carmel w/kids and found this to be the perfect location given that its kid friendly and we still were able to do the 17/18 mile drive and see carmel. Steps from the Monterey Acquarium, Pinkberry, touristy shops, waterfront, restaurants and starbucks. Make sure you stay in the partial/ocean view rooms and not in the cannery row building.

Room Tip: stay ocean or partial ocean view. don't stay in the cannery row building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clement_Management, General Manager at InterContinental The Clement Monterey, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear CFoodie,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at InterContinental The Clement Monterey! I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you liked our central location on Cannery Row. I hope you are able to return again soon!

Sincerely,
John C. Turner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental The Clement Monterey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental The Clement Monterey

Address: 750 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Monterey
#2 Luxury Hotel in Monterey
#2 Business Hotel in Monterey
#2 Family Hotel in Monterey
#3 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental The Clement Monterey 4*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new InterContinental the Clement Monterey is next to the world-renowned Monterey Bay Aquarium in the heart of John Steinbeck's historic Cannery Row. Many guest rooms and suites feature fireplaces, balconies and ocean views and all sparkle with stylish décor. The picturesque hotel offers more than 1,393 square metres (15,000 square feet) of indoor and outdoor meeting space, including an oceanfront ballroom perfect for weddings, conferences and special events. The C Restaurant & Bar, spa, health club, pool, whirlpool, Kids Club and an oceanfront patio offer plenty of reasons to stay close, and Cannery Row s fashionable boutiques, delectable eateries, upscale galleries and vibrant street scene are just a few minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your InterContinental The Clement Monterey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental The Clement Monterey Hotel Monterey
Intercontinental Monterey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental The Clement Monterey, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.