We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental The Clement Monterey

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental The Clement Monterey to your Saves list
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   750 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #3 of 54 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
CA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Perfect Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

Just completed my first, and hopefully not my last, stay at The Clement. I literally let them valet park my car and never touched it again until check-out. The location is right in the middle of Cannery Row, between Bubba Gumps and The Aquarium. We were given a upgraded spa room at check-in(I am a Priority Club member so not sure if that is why). The room was large with a king bed and fireplace that overlooked Cannery Row. The bathroom was large with a separate bathtub and shower. The young man that checked us in was exceptionally friendly and professional. All concierge guys we ran into were extremely helpful, as well. Highly recommend this hotel for any age!

Room Tip: Let them valet park your car. It is just a tiny bit more but parking on Cannery Row is a nightmare!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,088 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,452
    476
    97
    37
    26
See reviews for
607
967
68
168
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (486)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level Contributor
36 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

The Clement is simply a knock-out hotel in Monterey. Fantastic location one block from the Monterey Bay Aquarium (which is a stunningly good family attraction). Rooms are spacious, modern, quiet and extremely comfortable. Our partial bay view room was wonderful. Excellent service throughout the hotel. C restaurant was flawless for both dinner and breakfast. Entire hotel is great for kids, although the pool is very small. Room rates can be on the high side but I loved the hotel and would go back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
68 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Excellent Room: This is a newer property with beautiful interior design in the heart of Cannery Row close to the Aquarium. My room had a lovely gas fireplace, super comfy bed and beautiful bathroom with large tub. Every service request met promptly and staff very courteous. Enjoyed the fireplaces on the patio overlooking the bay a nice place for a glass of wine. Only downsize of this property is it's prime location in the middle of it all means you get the nighttime noise of it all- a few bars that are open late that drown out for awhile the ocean and gull sounds. Still an excellent choice in Monterey.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
Level Contributor
193 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

We spent three days in this lovely hotel with a beautiful room with a bay view. The room was well appointed and the bed comfortable for a great nights rest. The location was perfect in the middle of so many restaurants, shops and next to the aquarium. The most impressive asset was Lucille the concierge and the valet attendants. Before we left they were calling us by name. Lucille was invaluable as she help us plan activities and dining recommendations to our taste. Truly we were assisted in every way with outstanding personal service. We are making plans to return for five days next year.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012 via mobile

The Clement is fantastically placed right in the heart of Cannery Row. It has been beautifully modernised with great facilities and in a modern, stylish way. We had a room across the road via the link bridge but still had great views of the bay and Cannery Row. The staff were helpful and friendly and restaurant top-notch. The drive up the PCH from LA would be highlight of any holiday and to end up at the Clement is a bonus.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

Great hotel - appropriately luxurious, perfect service, nice rooms with fireplaces, great bathrooms. Perfectly situated right near Aquarium (literally, 3 doors down.) Valet parking was much needed in the middle of the tourist mecca that is Monterrey on the weekends. Not five stars because the gym was an afterthought (four or five cardio machines, nothing updated, no mats or weight machines or other equipment) and the pool area is tiny. The hotel restaurant (C Restaurant) was a little off - service was strange (had to wait for 8:45pm reservation when restaurant was only half full) and the wines were great but the food wasn't as impressive as you'd expect. But everyone says breakfast is better, so myabe that was our mistake. Anyway, if you can get a deal here, do it - you won't regret it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental The Clement Monterey, responded to this review, August 11, 2012
Dear nc1701d,

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to be the best InterContinental Hotel around. We appreciate your wonderful comment regarding service, the rooms and bathroom.

However, It sounds like we fell below your expectations especially on the fitness room and the hotel restaurant service. We take all reviews positive and negative very seriously, and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

was a good hotel that is well located. the rooms and bathrooms are spacious and very comfortable. overall the service was friendly at the hotel excluding at the breakfast restaurant.

Room Tip: must take the sea facing rooms even though they are a premium.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to InterContinental The Clement Monterey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental The Clement Monterey

Address: 750 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Monterey
#2 Family Hotel in Monterey
#2 Business Hotel in Monterey
#2 Luxury Hotel in Monterey
#3 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental The Clement Monterey 4*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new InterContinental the Clement Monterey is next to the world-renowned Monterey Bay Aquarium in the heart of John Steinbeck's historic Cannery Row. Many guest rooms and suites feature fireplaces, balconies and ocean views and all sparkle with stylish décor. The picturesque hotel offers more than 1,393 square metres (15,000 square feet) of indoor and outdoor meeting space, including an oceanfront ballroom perfect for weddings, conferences and special events. The C Restaurant & Bar, spa, health club, pool, whirlpool, Kids Club and an oceanfront patio offer plenty of reasons to stay close, and Cannery Row s fashionable boutiques, delectable eateries, upscale galleries and vibrant street scene are just a few minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Otel, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Jetsetter so you can book your InterContinental The Clement Monterey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental The Clement Monterey Hotel Monterey
Intercontinental Monterey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental The Clement Monterey, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.