We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unfortunately and suprisingly inconsistent” 3 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental The Clement Monterey

Save Saved
You added InterContinental The Clement Monterey to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   750 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #3 of 53 hotels in Monterey
Sacramento, California
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Unfortunately and suprisingly inconsistent”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

We go to Monterey every year at the same time and were blown away last year by the service and accomodations of the Intercontinental. This year it was disappointing from the beginning. they did not have the suite we were promised and when we tried to explain what we reserved we received a blank stare from Tony of "what do you expect me to do?" The bright side was the manager stepped in and showed us other options, one-room king bed and rollaway for the two adults, a 4 and 6yr old. We were excited to be there so we moved on. Brian, the bellman, was fantastic, highlight of the hotel. I never thought housekeeping could ruin a stay but they managed to, we had to ask 3 times for the rollaway, they did not come to our room when we were gone during the day but called at 3pm and woke up the kids (even with a DO NOT DISTURB sign on the door) to ask if they could come then, even when they did come I had to call back because they left a pile of garbage by the trashcan instead of taking it, didn't refill the coffee packets, left dirty cups and no water. The best part of the stay was April in the kids club and the service of the bellman and valet, everyone else should take lessons from them. Also, if you want a quick breakfast, don't go to the restaurant, took 40 mins for granola both mornings. So disappointing because we love the location.

Room Tip: all the rooms are relatively quiet but if you want a suite or view, I don't know how to insure y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Case Manager at InterContinental The Clement Monterey, responded to this review, February 28, 2012
Dear FamilyontheMove_12,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review for our hotel. I truly appreciate all the feedback we get as it helps us determine what areas need improvement. I am deeply sorry you did not enjoy your most recent stay with us. We do pride our selves on providing the best service around and I am sorry that we fell short when you stayed.

I sincerely hope that you will give us another chance and stay with us next time your travels bring you back to Monterey.

Katie J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,690 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,180
    385
    75
    31
    19
See reviews for
494
774
62
138
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (361)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

This hotel is in the heart of cannery row so it is close to shops, restaurants and the aquarium. Although our room was across the street, we still had an amazing, unobstructed view of the ocean. The staff was also very courteous. The best part was how clean the room was. Not just the hard surfaces, but the carpet as well!!! I walked around in my socks and they were just as clean as when I first put them on! The only downfall I would say is the small pool.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

I am a "call in" to your concierge desk. Maria was able to help me choose and deliver a 43rd wedding gift bottle of Champagne and chocolate covered strawberries. She made it easy! You are fortunate to have this person with her great attitude working in your hotel.
KK

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

Spoil yourself and stay at the Clement for a night. Thank me later.

I cannot say enough good things about this place. It started with excellent service at check-in with Hans. He was very friendly and helpful and even greeted me by name as we were coming in and out of the hotel later that night.

The rooms are beautiful and the fireplace is so nice to have. The bed was probably one of the most comfortable I’ve slept in at a hotel and the sheets and comforter were great too.

The bathroom is gorgeous and has a nice walk-in shower and a separate large bathtub. The bathroom is huge and has great bath products.

It was hard to leave the hotel room since it was so comfortable and cozy but we knew we needed to get some dinner and see Cannery Row for a bit. The location of The Clement could not be any better- right in the heart of Cannery Row and next door to Monterey Aquarium. It was especially nice in the morning when you could watch the sunrise right from the back area of the hotel.

I also want to mention that the concierge for the evening we were there was great. She was very helpful with suggestions for vegetarian friendly restaurants and helping us find a few places around town. She was also very friendly and treated us with respect (as opposed to being short with us for being a younger couple and for me not carrying a name brand purse). Don't be afraid to make a stop if you have some questions while you are staying here.

Beautiful hotel, amazing employees, and great location.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, CA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

What can I say? This hotel is top notch...from the time you step in to the time you check out, you can trust that you're in good hands and will have a terrific stay. I've recently frequented the hotel's spa and onsite restaurant as well as stayed in two of their rooms.

The rooms are clean and very comfortable with beautiful views of the Pacific. Plush beds ensure that you will have a wonderful night's rest...and who doesn't love waking up to the sounds of the ocean just outside? The rooms all are outfitted with modern decor, complementary bottles of water, a mini-fridge, a flat screen TV and an iPod dock. The bathrooms are large, clean and have a bathtub and a shower.

My dining experience was nothing short of fabulous - great service, friendly staff, and decadent food. They have an extensive wine list and lots of fresh seafood dishes to choose from. The view from the restaurant is also amazing and although the restaurant feels upscale, it doesn't feel stuffy and I didn't feel out of place in my jeans (although there were people who were dressed to the nines...so really it's up to you what you feel like wearing).

And the spa... my friend and I went for a relaxing day of massages, facials and scrubs. We shared the double room so that we could actually spend the day together. Both of us had a lovely experience and left feeling refreshed and renewed.

The hotel itself is simply beautiful. It's a perfect addition to the Cannery Row area. Never have I received such wonderful service from the front desk and all of the other employees I encountered while staying here.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
202 reviews 202 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

This was our fourth visit to this hotel and once again it was a most enjoyable one. It is not a large hotel thus it has a very personal feel to it. The staff is very welcoming, caring and attentive. Any concerns or problems are addressed immediately. The rooms are modern, bright, spotlessly clean and have many amenities. We find the Intercontinental beds and pillows to be the most comfortable of any other hotel chain. The bathrooms are spacious, bright and always fully stocked with toiletries and towels. Housekeeping excels in cleaning the rooms every day. The ocean view rooms are so peaceful - to be able to step out on the balcony to see and hear the crashing waves, watch the sea otters in the kelp forest and have one of the Pacific gulls land on the balcony railing. It doesn’t get any better than that. The common areas of the hotel are lovely and well maintained. The C-Restaurant and bar are top notch with superb food, drinks and service. We didn’t use the valet service this time (we returned our rental car to the airport upon arriving in Monterey and took a taxi to the hotel) but the valet staff were always there to open the door and ask if we needed assistance with anything. The location is ideal – right on Monterey Bay, Cannery Row and right next door to the Monterey Bay Aquarium, plus a short walk to the quiet town of Pacific Grove that has many family owned restaurants and beautiful walking paths along the bay. We would not stay at any other hotel in Monterey.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

I made a reservation for a partial ocean view room with a gas fireplace and got one on the ocean with a balcony large enough for two chairs. They really seem to have thought of everything (even bathroom slippers). The climate control and fireplace are easy to use; a flat screen TV and decent Sony iPod dock, and 7 available AC outlets near the bed & desk for your gadgets. Complementary bottled water (a good thing, since the local supply isn't great). It's the perfect treat if you want to go back and forth to the aquarium, which is a long block away: as convenient as you can get. The staff is eager to help. Minor complaints: 1) extra charges for internet (I have my own broadband card, so no big deal) 2) the self-park is around the next block, 3) Some of the furniture in the restful and elegant reading room is a bit frayed, 4) the pool and jacuzzi are small maybe a bit chill for this climate. You'll prefer this to the Monterey Plaza 1) for convenience to the aquarium, modern understated decor, and relatively short corridors. The Monterey Plaza has lonngg corridors and is a good walk to the aquarium, but the rooms are more colorful and plusher, there's a player piano in a spectacular craftsman style lobby, and the spa is well, gorgeous: a jacuzzi overlooking the ocean through glass fences with a gas fireplace next to it. So take your pick. Either is a treat.

Room Tip: The ocean rooms are remarkable but of course pricier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to InterContinental The Clement Monterey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental The Clement Monterey

Address: 750 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Monterey
#2 Family Hotel in Monterey
#2 Business Hotel in Monterey
#3 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental The Clement Monterey 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new InterContinental the Clement Monterey is next to the world-renowned Monterey Bay Aquarium in the heart of John Steinbeck's historic Cannery Row. Many guest rooms and suites feature fireplaces, balconies and ocean views and all sparkle with stylish décor. The picturesque hotel offers more than 1,393 square metres (15,000 square feet) of indoor and outdoor meeting space, including an oceanfront ballroom perfect for weddings, conferences and special events. The C Restaurant & Bar, spa, health club, pool, whirlpool, Kids Club and an oceanfront patio offer plenty of reasons to stay close, and Cannery Row s fashionable boutiques, delectable eateries, upscale galleries and vibrant street scene are just a few minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your InterContinental The Clement Monterey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental The Clement Monterey Hotel Monterey
Intercontinental Monterey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental The Clement Monterey, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.