We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to get married!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental The Clement Monterey

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental The Clement Monterey to your Saves list
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   750 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #3 of 54 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best place to get married!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2011

I was just married at The Clement in Monterey and cannot say enough great things about the hotel and their staff. This hotel is beautiful and right in the middle of everything. If you are looking for a place to get married, this is the place. The staff went above and beyond for everything we needed to make our day so special. All our guests loved their rooms and all that the hotel has to offer.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,007 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,393
    458
    94
    36
    26
See reviews for
584
928
67
163
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (467)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2011

It has taken me a while to get to this review, but I have not forgotten our stay. We arrived really early with a toddler, planning on staying the weekend and going to the aquarium. We thought we would walk around until nap time/check-in, but after our trip our little guy was exhausted. The only room available was a huge upgrade and they gave it to us without thinking twice. The hotel is beautiful, clean, and they were happy to help with all the little requests you end up having when traveling with a little one. We still talk about this trip and how nice the entire staff is and we can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Just ask :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2011

Great location on Cannery Row for the sites

Good sized room. Feng Shui sand box was a nice touch! Lap pool was a bit of a disappointment but was as per the description.

Breakfast service could have been a bit better

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2011

The Intercontinental Clement in Monterey is a relatively new hotel (three years old) and has a great location, steps from the Monterey Bay Aquarium. Rooms are clean, functional, well-featured. Pool is VERY small, so be warned. Gym is pretty good. It can get cold in Monterey so it helps having a fireplace in the room. Not sure if I'd pay the premium for the ocean view, as it's fun to overlook Cannery Row. Watch out for valet surcharges. AVOID eating at the restaurant, the big C, which is a big letdown from both food quality and service perspectives. Also, $18 self parking is a trek so bring your walking shoes (and your wallet).

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2011

We stayed for 3 days and 2 nights. This is truly customer service at it's best! The entire staff, from the front desk to the valet parking and restaurant staff were outstanding, attentive, courteous and welcoming. They seem like a bunch of happy employees!

The hotel is exceptionally clean, the rooms and bathrooms spotless. The beds are very comfortable.It's hard to find anything to complain about. The location is perfect! It's near the ocean, walking distance to the aquarium and shopping.

We stayed in a standard room with partial ocean view, with a fireplace on the 4th floor. There was no noise at all from the street or anywhere that we could hear. I have to say, that's it's really quite a stretch to be able to see the "partial ocean" as the room really faces the street, which means,you'll have to step into the tiny patio and lean forward to quite a distance hoping you don't fall off to get a glimpse of the view. But a standard room is more than sufficient and enjoyable without having to pay the extra room price for the partial ocean.

Thanks to the other reviews, we didn't take the stuffed toy on the bed with us or else we would have been charged $20. I think they shouldn't even leave it on the bed!!

The restaurant is great serving large portions (so starve yourself the previous day!!) . The food is flavorful.

I would definitely go back. I had a choice of stay between the Monterrey plaza and the Clement, and after reading both reviews, I chose the clement. I have no regrets. We had a great time! We'll be back.....

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2011

To be honest I was worried when I saw where the hotel was located (next to noisy and busy Cannery Row) but when I got inside it was so quiet and peaceful. The room was clean and beautiful And the location great! The cute added touches of decor (zen sand garden, tree, and otter on the bed) really made this room stand out.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

The Clement is just steps from the Monterey Bay Aquarium, making this an ideal home base when visiting Monterey. Valet parking is convenient. The rooms are nice, with the exception of the inadequate coffeemakers, but the floor to ceiling glass in the restaurant makes this the place to go for your morning java. Ocean views are awesome, but for those on a more limited budget, the fireplace rooms in the rear building are more than adequate. After a day at the aquarium, have a massage at the spa! We had 2 adults & 2 teens and were not overly crowded in the room, but we did fight over the chair by the gas fire...definitely will visit again, and again.

Room Tip: join the rewards club & upgrade to ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental The Clement Monterey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental The Clement Monterey

Address: 750 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Monterey
#2 Family Hotel in Monterey
#2 Luxury Hotel in Monterey
#2 Business Hotel in Monterey
#3 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental The Clement Monterey 4*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new InterContinental the Clement Monterey is next to the world-renowned Monterey Bay Aquarium in the heart of John Steinbeck's historic Cannery Row. Many guest rooms and suites feature fireplaces, balconies and ocean views and all sparkle with stylish décor. The picturesque hotel offers more than 1,393 square metres (15,000 square feet) of indoor and outdoor meeting space, including an oceanfront ballroom perfect for weddings, conferences and special events. The C Restaurant & Bar, spa, health club, pool, whirlpool, Kids Club and an oceanfront patio offer plenty of reasons to stay close, and Cannery Row s fashionable boutiques, delectable eateries, upscale galleries and vibrant street scene are just a few minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your InterContinental The Clement Monterey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental The Clement Monterey Hotel Monterey
Intercontinental Monterey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental The Clement Monterey, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.