We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect lunch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Montecito Cafe

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Montecito Cafe
1295 Coast Village Rd. (Olive Mill Rd.), The Montecito Inn, Montecito, CA 93108
805-969-3392
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Montecito Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 21 Restaurants in Montecito
Price range: $0 - $35
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Reservations
Woodland Hills
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“The perfect lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

My wife and I had the pleasure of dinning in this very open air cafe. Ceilings were high and table spacing was very pleasant. We both had the special " coconut crusted halibut". The fish was very fresh and the sauce was better than great. I even loved the vegetables which I seldom enjoy. This place is easy to find as it is part of the Montecito Inn. Parking can be a bit crazy on weekends but during the week we found street parking within a block. I would gladly have walked farther. The Santa Barbra area has a lot to offer day tripers and weekenders alike.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    32
    13
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ventura, California
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Our go to place for special occasions”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

My wife and I have been to the Montecito Cafe many, many times. In addition to hotel's out of town folks, it seems to get a regular crowd of locals...and it should since the food is always good. I always order the pasilla pepper appetizer and the coconut cake desert....my favorites. For the main course I had the rack of lamb...it was very good, but not the best meal I have had there. The waiter was new and learning and forgot the silverware between courses. He will be fine, however, when he gets the hang of it.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Niguel, CA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Worth the drive from the OC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

We don't plan a trip from OC to Santa Barbara, we plan a visit to the Montecito Cafe. Yes, the food is that good and the place is so charming and romantic as well. Who eats there? All the savy locals who read like a who's who of S.B. The prices are modest and the portions are just right cooked fresh and brought to your table promptly by attentive staff. There are no snobs here just great people working hard to make your meal a memorable one.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, CA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good food, average ambiance”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

The food was pretty good and the service was fast and friendly. However, it could use an aesthetic update. I would suggest Jane over this one if you can get downtown.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, CA
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Best value in Momtecito”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

If you are staying at the connecting hotel, you can normally get a table without reservations - if not, good luck. Lots if locals eat here. Casual place as are most eateries in this area except the extreme fine dining. Love their simple menu and wine selections are great.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Montecito Cafe also viewed

 

Been to The Montecito Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Montecito Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.