We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rio Villa Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Rio Villa Beach Resort to your Saves list
Rio Villa Beach Resort
2.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   20292 Highway 116, Monte Rio, CA 95462   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 5 Monte Rio B&B and Inns
San Francisco CA
1 review
“Fantastic Place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2009

This was my first trip to the Russian River and it was fantastic, I would have to say that besides the room being very nice, the grounds very nicely kept, a fantastic outdoor fireplace, very nice seating area's around the grounds, and a great river side grass area that you can lay out on or go swimming from, the owners were very nice its nice to walk out of your room and be addressed by your first name, lots of attention to detail anything you need they are willing to accommodate you the best they can. I have to say being able to bring your own food and use the bbq's that are either on your own patio or out in the court yard area is great.
I would highly recommend this place as a great get away peaceful and relaxing time.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    18
    5
    0
    4
See reviews for
15
19
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Palo Alto, CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2009

I've been to the Russian River area many times over the years, but always stayed previously in a rental house without river access. This time, for just a two-night stay with my boyfriend, a first-timer to the area, I wanted a riverside property, and after doing a lot of research, this one seemed to me to offer the best combination of value, river proximity, and comfort. Although it looks like an ordinary motel from the road, it's much more than that. The furnishings are much nicer than the exterior would lead you to expect (including a very comfortable, high-quality bed, with nice linens) and the gardens and river view are exceptional. Our intent was simply to relax and enjoy each other, bicycle (30 miles daily), and eat some memorable meals, and the Rio Villa provided the perfect base for all of these activities. Ron is an exceptionally warm and helpful innkeeper who clearly enjoys his work.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2009

The room was small and the bathroom was suitable only for lilliputians. The TV had strange colors, and the breakfast was hardly the gourmet meal we've previously experienced elsewhere. For the price, we would expect at least a decent motel experience, but it failed that test, too.

All in all, a really bad experience!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riovilla, Owner at Rio Villa Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 5, 2009
We feel we must respond to this review out of fairness to our property and to agree, in part, with what the reviewer stated. The Rio Villa Beach Resort is not a traditional bed and breakfast serving a home cooked gourmet meal each morning. Like most of the historic lodging properties in our area, we meet the B&B criteria by providing an extensive continental breakfast.

Out of our eleven unique rooms, five of them still have smaller bathrooms. The remaining bathrooms have been upgraded to include spa tubs and other amenities. The rooms themselves are full of other amenities that insure our guests’ comfort and reflect our property’s personality. However, what we do offer, and what our guests should expect from us, is our incredible location amongst the redwoods and our gardens and grounds along the river. Moreover, our pricing is in line with our particular resort area and travelers to Sonoma County can expect to pay as much in the chains along the freeway as they do here along the beautiful Russian River.

We know that we cannot meet everyone’s expectation, but we try very hard to set the proper expectations via our website and other sources. Consequently, couples looking for that traditional bed and breakfast experience might be disappointed in the Rio Villa – especially if their ideal does not include children running and playing throughout the property and on our private beach.

If we disappoint, as we obviously did for this reviewer, we can only hope to hear about it at the time it occurs so that we can make the proper correction. We apologize to this guest and we will continue to do our best to make everyone’s experience a good one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2008

My family and I have stayed here several times. I am sure that we will return again. The location is absolutely beautiful and so peaceful. The innkeepers and staff are very friendly, and make you feel like one of the family. The rooms are clean and comfortable, most with views of the river. The patio and gardens are lovely: a good place to just sit with a book or pass the time watching the river. There is an outdoor fireplace that is a lovely spot to enjoy the evenings.

  • Liked — The wonderful innkeepers and beautiful scenery
  • Disliked — Not many dining options
  • Stayed July 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shadow Hills
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2008

We can't wait to go back to Rio Villa.

It's a long trip for us, but well worth it. I'm a fortunate senior citizen. My daughter and son-in-law treat my sister and me each year to this family reunion.

They're over the top. And so are Ron and Bruce and their staff.
They treat us like family, but then again, they're not intrusive.

Rio Villa is comfortable, beautiful and calming.

What more can one ask?

Judy Adams
Shadow Hills, CA 91040

Stayed July 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2008

What a gem! We've always stayed in Guerneville and decided to try something different for our visit to the Russian River. We were glad we did - The Rio Villa Beach Resort was perfect. The grounds are soothing and well maintained with stunning views of the river.
The management couldn't have been nicer, offering tips on everything from local dining, where to shop for food goodies, and the history of the area.
I'd recommend this to anyone thinking about a relaxing time at the Russian River.

  • Liked — Grounds & location to the river
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shadow Hills, CA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2008

My family and I visit Rio Villa each summer and it's our #1 favorite destination. We have such a wonderful experience each time that we wind up booking our vacation for the following year before we even check out! The innkeepers and their staff treat us like family, and we always feel welcome and comfortable in their lovely inn. The kitchens are well stocked, the rooms are comfortable, and the patio and gardens are relaxing and gorgeous. The location is convenient to river activities, shopping in nearby towns, fine dining, wine tasting, or just lounging in the garden and enjoying the beautiful views. I HIGHLY recommend this inn for everyone.

  • Liked — Location and privacy
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rio Villa Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rio Villa Beach Resort

Address: 20292 Highway 116, Monte Rio, CA 95462
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Monte Rio
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Monte Rio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Rio Villa Beach Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax at our Bed & Breakfast Inn on the Russian River in West Sonoma's Wine Country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere and T4B so you can book your Rio Villa Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rio Villa Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.