We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, but probably not worth the $$” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Monte Rio Vacation Cottages

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Monte Rio Vacation Cottages to your Saves list
Monte Rio Vacation Cottages
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   20790 Kingston Avenue, Monte Rio, CA 95462   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Monte Rio
McKinleyville, California
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice place, but probably not worth the $$”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed here last week (Aug 4 - 8) for 5 nights in the Stellar Jay Cottage. The good points are that the grounds are very nice and it is quiet there. The not so good points are: (1) the cottage had obviously settled in such a way that the floor is very much tilted; as the cottage interior had obviously been recently redone it is hard to imagine why this was not fixed, (2) the cooking facilities are pretty minimal and the cooktop is really inadequate for much, as an addendum to that, only 2 of the main burners of the gas grill functioned as the others would not light due to a rusted out ignition tube, (3) this is the first place I have stayed where we were unable to connect to the wi-fi network (with a 2011 MacBook Air); I won't go into details, but the issue was certainly not on our end.
In summary, I would say it is a pretty nice place, and if it were quite a bit less expensive I would have given it a much higher rating. As it is, if I wanted to spend this much, I would look for another place.

Note: the original review above was written on 8/12/13. At the end of August, we were contacted by the owners and they graciously offered to refund $20/day of our cost. They also indicated they are going to correct at least some of the issues we brought up. This did not result in our changing our rating, but should be looked at favorably by anyone thinking of staying here. Because TripAdvisor does not allow edits, we had to remove our original review in order to add this note.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    7
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
2
20
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

I stayed for a 3 night weekend with my husband and dog. Later my daughter, her friend and her dog came to stay. Overall the stay was enjoyable.

Positives:
-Romantic for a couple. Nestled amongst mature redwood and fruit tress. Decore was colorful.
-Roomy enough for 4 people
-Large spa
-Quiet and private with tons of deck space in the back.
-Very short walk to great dining and the river.
-Very clean
-Dog friendly
-Good Customer service
-Easy off street parking for 1 car, 2 cars are a tight fit

Needs improvement:
-Wireless internet is slow and spotty
-Cellphone service is poor, but that comes with the geographic location. Friendly staff offered a telephone when we notified them.
-The bed was comfortable, pillows need upgrading.

Overall we had a very enjoyable stay and would return.

Room Tip: We stayed in The Heron. Bring your own pillow and perhaps a DVD you would like to watch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WA
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
93 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We had a business meeting in SF and started out by going to the Sonoma Valley. With many of the hotels in the central Sonoma area unavailable - we went to the Cottages in Monte Rio. It is a little ways away from the "action" but in the middle of beautiful redwood forests. It is about a 30 minute drive to the central wine tasting areas.
The cottages are clean and in good repair. We really enjoyed the hot tub both early in the morning and late in the evening (with the days away). The deck was expansive and we enjoyed the sunlight streaming through the redwoods that surround the property.
It is a cottage and older. So though it was clean and nice - it isn't a 4 star hotel room (which is kind of what we were looking for). So while it was nice - it wasn't quite what we were looking for.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

My recent stay at the Monte Rio Vacation Cottages was wonderful. The Hummingbird Cottage is beautifully cozy inside with the fire going and refreshing in the hot tub on the deck! The deck is large and the garden was cute even in November. The most comfortable bed gave us very restful sleep each night. Monte Rio is a welcoming quaint town on the Russian River and just plain comfortable place to be. Thank you to the helpful staff I will be back!

Room Tip: The Humming bird is small and cozy for one or two.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We had a wonderful time at the Monte Rio Cottages. They are a little out of the way but the atmosphere is excellent if you like privacy and the outdoors. I wish we could have come earlier in the fall and used more of the outdoor areas like the dining table on the patio and the fire pit. We did enjoy the hot tub every night and the gas fireplace really made the cottage feel very romantic.

Room Tip: There are very different cottages so decide what kind of experience you would like to enjoy when dec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakley, California, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

great place, can't wait to go back! The hot tub was fantastic - but bring some flip-flops to get over the gravel on your way to your hot tub. There was even a very friendly black cat that must have been the mascot of the place. The peace and quiet was just what we needed.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Stellar Jay cottage.The only thing we could complain about was that the toilet was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janis H, Front Office Manager at Monte Rio Vacation Cottages, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thanks! We really enjoyed having you stay with us! I always love it when folks have a good time. The toilet in the Stellar Jay is close to the wall, and if you are a big man, it could be too close. The other cottages, the Heron, and the Hummingbird are not as close, nor is the toilet in the Dallas Suite. None the less, we are happy you enjoyed everything else, and we hope you come back again, soon! Nancy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012 via mobile

Staff was great treated us like family. Beautiful suroundings, off the beaten path,quite, great location. Looking forward to going back. We will be staying there again. You are with in walking distance to the river. Also breakfast and dinner houses. They all have very good food and are very pleasurable places to go to, dressed up or casual. Have shared our experince with friends and family and they want to go there too.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Monte Rio Vacation Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monte Rio Vacation Cottages

Address: 20790 Kingston Avenue, Monte Rio, CA 95462
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Monte Rio
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Monte Rio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Monte Rio Vacation Cottages 2.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Monte Rio Vacation Cottages - Three levels of Luxury...You Chose!!Vacation Cottages - Suite - Sleeping Cabins.....Which accommodation is right for you?Vacation Cottages - The Heron, (king bed & queen fold out), The Stellar Jay, (king bed & queen fold out), or The Hummingbird, (queen bed), our cottages feature our finest accommodations. They feature private spa, private fenced & gated yards, private gas grill, fully equipped kitchens, gas or electric fireplaces, large furnished decks, premium linens w/robes, SmarTV or AppleTV, courtesy WiFi, free long distance phones, hotel amenities, housekeeping and more! The Suites - The Dallas Suite (king bed) or Suite Loretta (king bed) are lovely huge rooms, with 12 ft ceilings, each. The two suites share a beautiful yard with towering redwood trees, spa, gas grill, outdoor dining tables, & fire ring. Each suite has a kitchenette (microwave, coffee maker, fridge), Apple TV, courtesy WiFi, free long distance phones, electric fireplaces, lovely living room areas, tiled bathrooms, with tubs, premium linens, w/robes, hotel amenities, housekeeping & much more!The Sleeping Cabins - Camp Tranquility (two twin beds) or Camp Serenity (queen bed) pack a lot of comfort into their mere 120 sq ft! Each sleeping cabin has a kitchenette (microwave, coffee maker, fridge), no TV, courtesy WiFi, free long distance phones, private, outdoor showers, with abundant hot water, en suite water closets, furnished decks, umbrellaed dining areas, premium linens, w/robes, hotel amenities, housekeeping and much more!Monte Rio Vacation Cottages are nestled among giant redwood trees, in a quiet neighbor, on the south side of the Russian River. Monte Rio Vacation Cottages' 1/2 acre compound is made up of 3 cottages (each with a private yard fenced yard and hot tub) and 2 beautiful suites (both share a yard, fire ring and hot tub) and 2 quaint sleeping cabins, all sharing a lovely common area with a communal fire ring. It is artistically designed to let you retreat to your fenced private cottage, or gather with friends and family for social reunions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Venere, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Monte Rio Vacation Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monte Rio Vacation Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.