We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food (so who cares about the rest...)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Los Portales Mexican Grill

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Los Portales Mexican Grill
10244 Central Ave, Montclair, CA
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 77 Restaurants in Montclair
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great Food (so who cares about the rest...)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Food was great and authentic, great service...polite waitresses. Decor was plain and simple, but who cares, the food was very good.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    0
    0
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ontario, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“VERY POOR CUSTOMER SERVICE”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The food is delicious! However, the Customer Service is very very poor. I was sat near the restrooms in the back room and ignored for 25 minutes before I ask if it was possible to get a drink and maybe some chips. I was told no one knew I was there. WOW! This was the 3rd and final time for me. I am sorry but I like to be spoiled when I go out to eat. I am paying for the food, drinks and SERVICE.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Real Mexican”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Living in SoCal means you eat a lot of Mexican food. I love it! Los Portales is a wonderful, out of the way family restaurant. It is upscale but authentic, intimate but not small. The food is plentiful, delicious and presented well. (the little orange slices come from Mamasita's tree) Service is over the top. All in all, one of the best, if not the best Mexican restaurant anywhere! A little hard to find. They are off the main road (Central) in a strip mall. Worth looking for.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upland, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Mexican food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

This is our favorite Mexican restaurant. The food and service is always good. Nice looking and clean. They can accommodate a large group if needed. There is a good menu selection, a la carte, dinners, and combos. They give refills on the horchata where some places will not do that.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Los Portales Mexican Grill also viewed

 

Been to Los Portales Mexican Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Los Portales Mexican Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.