We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean View Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Ocean View Inn to your Saves list
Ocean View Inn
2.0 of 5 Inn   |   8425 Cabrillo Highway, Montara, CA 94037 (Formerly Farallone Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Montara B&B and Inns
Great Mills, Maryland, United States
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Never”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We made the mistake of booking this old dump. The ocean is not much in view but the busy highway is.The place smells bad, the furniture is worn and dirty. The carpet is scorched in several places by an electric iron. The room with two queen beds has one bed that is so hard (think box spring) that it is not possible to sleep on it. We were offered another room and two roll-away beds as an alternative but soon discovered that that room was missing a smoke alarm (wires hanging from the ceiling). When we complained about the lack of smoke alarm and mentioned the safety violation we were told to "get out" by the housekeeping woman. We asked for a refund since the hotel was prepaid through Hotels.com and were refused. If Hotels.com keeps this place on their site we will never book with them again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanViewInn, Manager at Ocean View Inn, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
I find it interesting you will post a review and you did not stay here? Also, you neglect to mention that you and your family were nightmares (and did not even check in). You had our front desk clerk so nervous and shaken. And, then you proceed to enter rooms that are being cleaned even after being asked to please wait. You ran up and down this inn until our housekeeper told you to please leave and was going to call the police on you! Well, I agree, NEVER too! You are not welcomed back here either. You should be ashamed of yourselves as parents to teach you children how to behave poorly while travelling. I will bet you were nightmares where ever you go. The inn may not have been to your liking, but with a courteous mention to the front desk and we would have released you from your reservation, no problem. Maybe Hotels.com should not accept your reservation any longer either. Your more suited for a log cabin in the wilderness. From the Innkeeper.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    8
    6
    5
    13
See reviews for
7
19
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Magden, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

My son an I spent a night here before visiting San Francisco. We were surprised to see the giant room with a porch. The house is about to be carefully renovated (for some time there had been plans to tear this historic place down). Very special: the stained glass window in our room in memoriam of Frau Heidenreich whose story we found out later. We were treated very well and got some good advice.
Check out Barbara's Fishtrap at the port!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

One look at the carpeting and your first thought is to be glad to have brought flip flops - furnishings way past usefullness, let alone aesthetic value. Breakfast mediocre - - nothing fresh except some fruit - everything else vending machine quality.
It's on a congested section of highway - - there are much better choices along this very pretty coastline.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanViewInn, Manager at Ocean View Inn, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Laurie, thank you for your review. As Innkeepers we constantly have to clean rugs, walls, curtain and everything to maintain a clean quality of the rooms. Often guests are so disrespectful and consider a floor a trash can. Had you come to us, we would have moved you into another room. This building is historical, it takes time to transform a very special building like this one. Having circa 1890's, in purchasing this timeless building, we have been able to save a very important piece of history for Montara and our spectacular coastline. You are right, there are many choices along this coastline, but, we pride ourselves in our oversized rooms, clean rooms and affordable pricing. Yes, like a Grandparent, it needs some attention, but with respect, love and time we will restore the beautiful European building that once was a mansion in Montara to it's original glory. For now, it's a unique experience, but clean, peaceful and very welcoming.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

It's a shambles. Rotting wood, nails jutting out of the decks, dirty carpets, and the people who work here are SCARY. It's supposedly "right on the beach" but you have to cross a very busy highway to get there. And the ocean views are there if you really crane your neck and look out over a gas station parking lot.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanViewInn, Manager at Ocean View Inn, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Wow, what you forgot to mention is that you come in with a "service dog" that is not on a leash, that pooped in our lobby where we serve our breakfast, that you decide to check out after noon (check out is at 11am). That your "service dog" left hair all over the furniture and bed. When it was clear that you had no handicap to warrant a "service animal". And then you respond in this manner? Please write a review that has merit. Oh yes, and you did not mention that we allowed you an early check in as well. Nicole, you should consider yourselves scary and ill-mannered guests. All was well until I handed you a $175.00 pet cleaning fee. And as a result you are not welcomed back to this inn either. Thank you for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breckenridge, CO
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We planned ahead for a busy weekend in Half Moon Bay area and chose this B&B specifically because they offered a room with ocean view balcony and a king size bed, which we reserved and prepaid. Upon arrival, they put us in a back room with no view and a queen sized bed with a big sag in the middle. They said the inn was full and they could not honor the reserved room. They offered to release us from the reservation, which would have left us with nowhere to stay in a sold out area. They claim they are in process of upgrading the inn, but it is not apparent with the peeling wallpaper, curtains with unhemmed fraying on the bottom and old dusty furniture. Breakfast was continental style, cold and of poor quality. The hosts were n where in sight the entire time - you had to bang on a sliding glass door to their unit and wait for the yapping dog to get their attention. We would have been better off in a highway side motel! As for the view, the online photos are very misleading - the inn is across the street from the potential view and it is blocked by trees. Photos make it look like they are on a hill in a remote area, not on the main road and beside a gas station and restaurants!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanViewInn, Manager at Ocean View Inn, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for your review, we appreciate the opportunity to make each guests stay enjoyable and pleasurable. Although you neglect to mention that you were given a substantial credit for the mix up in the bed type. And that you reserved a "Standard room type" and were put in a mid-range upgrade. Albeit it was not the size of bed you were expecting. And, as Innkeepers we live right on site and are available 24/7. Our little dog is not yappie as its trained to not bark.
Please be clear, you are upset because you received a queen size bed instead of a king-size bed. You were given the opportunity to go elsewhere where you decided after reviewing the room not to. And not because there was not other options which we would have graciously found for you as we have several sister properties along the coast. We would have done everything to to assist you ~ IF GIVEN THE OPPORTUNITY. Which you did not. As for the cleaniness of the room? All our rooms are very clean and bedding brand new. Please review honestly. In the future, give the property a chance to help you with changing accommodations to your liking instead of making up everything in a negative manner. As you can see, there are many good reviews. And with as many guests that come to stay at the Ocean View Inn not listed is far more than negative. We apologize for the confusion on the bed size and made a compensation for it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Carlos, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

The Ocean View Inn offers the warmth, charm and personal service of a B&B with the privacy of a hotel. The inn apparently has a colorful past - having been built around 1900 - and the current innkeepers are in the process of renovating the historic mansion and bringing it back to grandeur. The inn has alot of character. The location is across the street from the ocean, and it's just a half mile from La Costanera, a gorgeous, oceanfront Peruvian restaurant. Our stay in the penthouse was spectacular, and the sounds of oceanwaves crashing at night made us feel like we were on a cruise ship! We look forward to returning.

Room Tip: The penthouse suite upstairs is gorgeous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

We have been there twice the rooms are beautiful and super clean. The husband and wife team that take care of the Inn not only are very professional,they were friendly and attentt. The services was outstanding! The view beautiful. I will be back as soon as possible.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ocean View Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean View Inn

Address: 8425 Cabrillo Highway, Montara, CA 94037 (Formerly Farallone Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Montara
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Montara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Ocean View Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly situated 20 minutes south of San Francisco between Half Moon Bay and Pacifica on California's beautiful Pacific Coast. Originally built as the first mansion & residence in what then was called Farallon City, our historic property still echoes its turn-of-the-century heritage with its Victorian-inspired decor, specious room suites with dining tables, chairs and seating area. All of the Inn's nine rooms have large shared or private sundecks with private bathrooms with shower/deep tub combination or rainfall showers. All rooms are non-smoking. The Inn can accommodate parties of up to 40 people in the garden area for weddings, family gatherings, and other special occasions. Complimentary in room WiFi, premium channel lineup, parking and a mouthwatering continental breakfast hosted by Montara Cafe & Bakery ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Venere, Agoda, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Ocean View Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean View Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.