We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It started out OK...” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean View Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Ocean View Inn to your Saves list
Ocean View Inn
2.0 of 5 Inn   |   8425 Cabrillo Highway, Montara, CA 94037 (Formerly Farallone Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Montara B&B and Inns
Maryland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“It started out OK...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

This hotel was strange from the get go. But the lady who checked us in was very nice. We had room #3 which was large and has lots of windows. The problem with this room was the two different size beds. One was a king and the other a double or queen. The double or queen bed had what we think was a box spring for the mattress. You couldnt even sit on it comfortably.....hard as a rock.
We left to go to our event and left the DO NOT DISTURB sign on our door...we didnt want room service at all, since we were only there two nights.
Upon arrival, we discovered that someone had been in our room and left a second key on the ironing board in our room!!
We were only issued one room key upon check in.
We looked around that evening to see if anything was missing ......a womans watch that we left on the table was gone. IT WAS STOLEN.

So we were very upset that (1)our room had terrible mattresses and (2) the room was entered by someone who shouldnt have been there....and then stole something to boot!

Although the area is gorgeous, I will never stay at this place again. Its a real shame.

Room Tip: Make sure the mattresses are not hard as a rock and super secure all of your items.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanViewInn, General Manager at Ocean View Inn, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear Lovetovaykay,
It would have been my pleasure to move you all to another room after testing beds to be certain you were comfortable, but new beds are scheduled for delivery anyday now. As for the watch, I was on the phone with you when you told me it was "Under" the ironing board which was on the table. I personally looked and told you there was no watch there. Upon check in I asked for a contact number for this reason. We take great pride that whatever is left behind in a room, we will call you immediately, no matter what it is. I trully trust you will revise your review once you have found the watch as no one entered your room but you and any guests/friends you may have allowed. As an historical inn and under new ownership, we are striving to make transformations, but it takes time and resources. I am sorry your experience was not a good one, but as you see from other reviews we have a high positive result. We only hope you will try Ocean View Inn again in your travels to provide a more positive experience. Thank you for your review And again, I do encourage an update once your watch is located.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    8
    6
    5
    13
See reviews for
7
19
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cayucos, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

This is a wonderful, older historic property with great ocean views from top floors. Debbie, the hostess is warm, accomodating and very friendly. The "hotel" is not what I expected. It seems more like a bed and breakfast, hosted by Debbie and her husband.I stayed in the Garden View Suite. It was spacious with a charming layout and an ocean view. The building is a bit old. I felt as if I was staying in my grandmother's historic home. A few worn areas, but still charming if you are not expecting a typical modern hotel. The price was a bit high for the accomodations, but I came during a weekend when there was a large event in the area (Mavericks surf contest) so the higher price is to be expected.

Room Tip: I liked the Garden Suite...very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tania M, Manager at Ocean View Inn, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Hello Joanna,

Thank you for your kind words. Its a quaint place, we hope you enjoyed it! We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

This place is just like the picture looks--old, strange, interesting, funky. We were originally assigned Rm. 5, but when we got there we were given a choice of 3 rooms, including the penthouse, for the same price ($129 nt.) The penthouse was great--very large, nice Ikea furniture, comfy bed, private deck with a view. It looked like it had been recently remodeled. The other rooms we looked at seemed less modern in their furnishings, which is fine and fits the style of the house. The other rooms also had shared decks and were probably noisier. (Ours was completely quiet, except for the ocean.) In our room, everything was clean and nice. The one weird thing which shows a real lack of attention to detail was that the many curtains in the place were all unhemmed, with fraying edges. So simple to hem up a curtain and so tacky not to!
The proprietor, Deborah, was great. She gave us good advice about where to eat (La Costanera--pricey food, wonderful view of the sunset) and she was so nice about changing our room.
Breakfast was very standard fare--bagels, toast, package sweet rolls, apples and yogurt.
For the price, especially up in penthouse, I'd definitely go back to the Ocean View Inn.

Room Tip: I agree with someone else--pay the extra money and get the penthouse.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tania M, Manager at Ocean View Inn, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Hello!

Thank you for choosing to stay with us! We are so glad you enjoyed your Penthouse suite, we sure hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Great place to spend some down time with the family. Stayed in two different rooms...really liked the penthouse accommodations. Inn keeper is warm and welcoming and oh did I mention a fabulous cook. We timed it just right as their were local fisherman also staying at the inn and they would bring home fresh fish every evening.
My son even got to go out fishing!
This is a real family place and you will love the location and the ole world ambiance

Room Tip: the penthouse is fab..recently reappointed in soothing colors blending into the incredible views
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tania M, Manager at Ocean View Inn, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Hello!

Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us, we loved having you. We are so glad your family enjoyed themselves as well. Do come during summer, its an amazing time to visit and enjoy a perfect family break! We look forward to seeing you again. Thank you once again for your kind words!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We had such a relaxing weekend at the Ocean View Inn, in Montara CA.
The rooms were spacious and very clean. They appeared recently remodeled.

The Inn keepers were very friendly and ensured that we were all comfortable.

I would recommend this B&B for anyone just wanting to get away from it all and relax!
The view of the ocean was breathtaking, and we very much enjoyed our stay.

Also, the restarants in the area were top notch!

Room Tip: The penthouse is very spacious, with a balcony/deck and has everything you need!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tania M, Manager at Ocean View Inn, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Dear Nelva,

Thank you so much for your kind words. We are glad you enjoyed the penthouse suite. We are in the process of reinventing the place and compliments make our day!

Thank you so much! We hope you will stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

We had booked a double room three months in advance. When we arrived, the patron informed us that they had been overbooked and asked if we might take two queen rooms instead. Getting a bad vibe about the place, particularly because of its obvious disrepair and lack of cleanliness, we asked to first see the rooms. While it was 3:30, one room had yet to be made up, and was dirty and dreary. We took our business elsewhere.

Room Tip: Found fantastic accommodation options, with beatiful setting and eateries, just 5 min. down the high...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tania M, Manager at Ocean View Inn, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Dear Sir/Ma'am,

We are so terribly sorry that in spite of advance booking our staff had not presented the rooms and accommodated you appropriately! It's in excusable. We are very sorry for all the inconvenience!

We hope you will give us an opportunity to make it up to you some day. We apologize once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McArthur, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

My daughter & I read good reviews, so we booked. The proprietor was very nice & accommodating. We entered #5 and the odor knocked us back (smelled like a swimming pool). The disrepair was unbelievable. Holes in the wall & ceiling, threadbare curtains & bed cover, stuffing coming out of the couch (covered up with a blanket), cigarette burns on the carpet. But the great one was the sliding glass door was rattling from the breeze, so it sounded like someone was trying to get in. I stuffed pillows, plastic cutlery and anything I could find to secure the glass so we could sleep. With windows open or closed, the traffic sounded like it was driving through the room. The light in the bathroom was broken, as was the jetted tub. It was like being in a house of horrors.

Room Tip: Ask to see your room! Maybe others have been renovated?
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tania M, Manager at Ocean View Inn, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Dear Susie,

We are so terribly sorry for your harrowing experience! We have renovated the rooms, and I truly wish you would give us another chance to make it up to you. We strive to make our guests as much comfortable as possible. We apologize once again for your bad experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ocean View Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean View Inn

Address: 8425 Cabrillo Highway, Montara, CA 94037 (Formerly Farallone Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Montara
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Montara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Ocean View Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly situated 20 minutes south of San Francisco between Half Moon Bay and Pacifica on California's beautiful Pacific Coast. Originally built as the first mansion & residence in what then was called Farallon City, our historic property still echoes its turn-of-the-century heritage with its Victorian-inspired decor, specious room suites with dining tables, chairs and seating area. All of the Inn's nine rooms have large shared or private sundecks with private bathrooms with shower/deep tub combination or rainfall showers. All rooms are non-smoking. The Inn can accommodate parties of up to 40 people in the garden area for weddings, family gatherings, and other special occasions. Complimentary in room WiFi, premium channel lineup, parking and a mouthwatering continental breakfast hosted by Montara Cafe & Bakery ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Venere, Agoda, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Ocean View Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean View Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.