We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We stay twice a year” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Goose and Turrets

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Goose and Turrets to your Saves list
The Goose and Turrets
2.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   835 George St., POB 370937, Montara, CA 94037-0937   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Montara B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersBronze level
San Mateo, California
1 review
“We stay twice a year”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

My mother, daughter, and I have been staying in the Hummingbird Room twice a year since my daughter was an infant. We live only a half hour away but feel we've come to another world--serene and engaging. Emily and Raymond--with their great stories, helpful sightseeing advice, and wry humor--give the G and T its personality. They grow and cook much of the food themselves. The gourmet tea and 4-course breakfast, wonderful in themselves, are also an occasion to chat with the proprietors and their wide range of guests--a photographer, a police officer, a professor with tales of his visits to China, and a kung fu expert, to mention just a few.

Each immaculate room has a different and unusual theme, such as airplanes or the cave paintings of Lascaux. In the Hummingbird Room (and I think in some other rooms) the central heating is supplemented by a gas fireplace that makes it cozy, even though the room is spacious. I love the little touches such as a heated towel rack and the nighttime snack of handmade truffles.

You can walk around the quiet neighborhood (no two houses alike, it seems), walk to the alpaca farm, or go on foot or by car to Montara Beach. The location is a good jumping off point for visiting Pacifica, Half Moon Bay, and points south. Once we parked our car in Colma and took BART to San Francisco, though it also would have been an easy drive.

I give the Goose and Turrets my highest recommendation.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    6
    2
    3
    7
See reviews for
1
23
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Livermore, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We loved our visit to Goose and Turrets! We stayed in the Goose room, cozy and comfortable with a king sized bed, a gas fireplace, and a view of the back garden. We are repeat customers, and have always had wonderful service and a warm welcome. Emily and Raymond are charming, bookish and great travelers themselves, and full of interesting tales. We always try to arrive in time for afternoon tea and conversation, as we enjoy visiting with the hosts and other guests then and at breakfast. Great breakfasts! The building is old and eccentric, with a community history, and the garden is lovely, with quiet nooks for relaxing or even napping in a hammock. I look forward to another stay this summer.

Room Tip: Our favorite is the Goose Room, a very quiet room, and we have also stayed in the Hummingbird room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nipomo, ca
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

A lovely stay with Emily and Raymond to celebrate 10th anniversary and birthday! Raymond's love of cooking is apparent with gourmet afternoon tea and marvelous breakfasts (truly 4 course). Conversation was stimulating and interesting with afternoon tea and breakfast. Our room was comfortable and cozy, and the owners have so many interesting items on display that you can spend quite a bit of time just browsing around. We'll definitely consider staying here on a future trip!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maggiejake, Owner at The Goose and Turrets, responded to this review, April 18, 2012
Thank you for the kind words; we enjoyed having you here and sharing a birthday. Next time, I'll find some Bruckner CDs.
Emily
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

Afternoon tea was great with wonderful conversations with Raymond, The breakfasts were out of this world - most excellent. During our 4 day stay Raymond & Emily helped us plan our day with great advice, books and road maps. The only concern was that the bedrooms are not very soundproof. It would be a great add on if there was coffee/tea avialable later in the evening.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

Our group of friends (five couples) took the whole Goose & Turrets for a Saturday night. It's 3/4 of a mile inland from the Montara Beach, a few miles north of Half Moon Bay and Moss Beach, in a nice neighborhood. The B&B has five highly stylized rooms, all comfortable and interesting, at prices that are generally below the competition, with individual room prices reasonably set to size and value, all with private bath. Afternoon tea was great, breakfast was four courses and quite good, hostess asked us for any food aversions before we arrived. Service overall was excellent, common areas and grounds most charming, and it worked well for our gathering. Only slight negative: hosts were somewhat inflexible in ways, but they have that right, and while they were traveling, we had some communication difficulties that did eventually get resolved.

Room Tip: Hummingbird is quite large for $190, Lascaux has the only bed smaller than a queen, Clipper has priv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbell, California, USA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2010

I'm only now getting around to writing a review for the Goose and Turrets now, though we visited two years ago, for our tenth wedding anniversary. My wife and I loved the place, and we loved our hosts too. We had tea with Emily and Raymond and enjoyed talking about books, travel, food and their adventures in small plane piloting. The old house is really charming and the breakfasts were delicious. Trust their recommendations for local restaurants. We look forward to visiting again sometime soon (hopefully!).

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2010

Emily and Raymond are attentive without hovering. Breakfast was served at a leisurely pace with menus each morning that were fresh and prepared and served elegantly. During the days we enjoyed hiking, walks on the beach, and touring the coast. Next time we plan to play on the Bocce court at the B&B. The bed was so comfortable with luxurious linens.
Thank you for the great food, hospitality, and friendship. Our stay was delightful.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Goose and Turrets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Goose and Turrets

Address: 835 George St., POB 370937, Montara, CA 94037-0937
Location: United States > California > Montara
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Montara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Goose and Turrets 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Goose & Turrets is an old-fashioned B&B where you are pampered with comfortable beds and generous four-course breakfasts. There is also an afternoon tea of freshly brewed teas from around the world accompanied by savouries and sweets - in a setting of lively conversation. The house was built in 1907 as a grocery, post office, and town hall. After its long and checkered history, the Hoche-Mongs converted it into a bed and breakfast in 1983 and have been welcoming happy guests ever since. It sits in an acre of gardens which contains an Appalachian courting swing, two hammocks, and a bocce ball pitch. Montara Beach is a half-mile walk away as is a terrific Peruvian restaurant with a huge view. Nearby one may fish, kayak, go whale watching, aero-sightseeing, beach combing, hiking, biking, antiquing, shopping in quaint stores at Princeton Harbor and in Half Moon Bay, explore Montara Mountain or go down the coast to Pescadero's famous restaurant and market or continue to Año Nuevo to encounter mammoth elephant seals. On a foggy day, you may choose to just sit by the fire and read and listen to classical music. It's a good place for adventure and for complete lethargy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your The Goose and Turrets reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Goose and Turrets, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.