We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On second thought....” 3 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Monrovia - Pasadena Area

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Monrovia - Pasadena Area to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Monrovia - Pasadena Area
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   924 West Huntington Drive, Monrovia, CA 91016   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Instant Getaway Package
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Monrovia
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
las vegas, nv.
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“On second thought....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2010

This is my second review of the Doubletree hotel in Monrovia. My first review was positive but this one will not be quite the same...this was our third time staying at this particular hotel, the first time was very nice, the second time was okay, the third time was definitely not the charm. The walls at this hotel are thin to the point where you can hear people coughing in the adjacent rooms. We also were awakened on two different occassions by our "neighbor" engaged in a very loud conversation on the telephone. I had to bang on the wall for him to realize how loud he was being, especially at 4 a.m. also, the air conditioning unit runs constantly, all night long, it starts up and runs for a few minutes and then stops, there is no continuous flow and the shutting on and off all night provides a restless sleep. I really want to like the hotel, it is nice, modern, and in a very good location. Unfortunately, if you are going there and hoping for a good nights sleep then you may be disappointed. I would definitely hesitate to stay here again, even at the rate procured on Hotwire for $77 a night. I would definitely NEVER stay here at the rack rate of almost $150 a night, that is pure insanity. Proceed with caution.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    141
    65
    35
    20
See reviews for
105
92
38
185
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2010

The room reminded me of the aLoft chain The mattress is on a very low platform: I felt like I was crawling up from the floor. Mediocre desk setup. On the whole, I didn't care for the ultra-modern feel. Bedding was comfortable. Convenient outlets at both desk and bedside. Free wireless internet.

One washer and dryer for guest use, $2/each, but the dryer took three cycles to dry a load. Free business center. Decent fitness center. The bathroom had only a shower, no tub.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2010

Had guaranteed reservation for one room with two queen beds for four people. On arrival was told without an apology that the only room available was a king and that one of us could sleep on the couch which was as large as a twin bed. I was assured that bedding would be sent up promptly. After two calls to the front desk the bedding arrived: two flat sheets and TEN pillowcases, no blanket, no pillow. I am 6'2" and assure you that this couch was much smaller than a twin bed. I slept very poorly on the uncomfortable couch and my wife and two teenage daughters slept poorly sharing one bed. I awoke with leg cramps. My wife awoke with a muscle spasm in her neck which she still has several days later. Strange hotel room. No desk. Odd furniture - bed low on ground would be difficult for an older person. Very uncaring attitude from staff. Very poor customer service experience.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoCal
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2010

Staff bent over backwards to make my say great! All front desk staff were incredibly accommodating. Jorge at the bar greeted me with a smile each evening! The folks at the breakfast buffet provided excellent service and tasty cooked to order omelets. Pool/spa area is lovely too! One word of caution.....beds are on low to the ground platforms that slide easily. Be careful! But the rooms are lovely!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto, California
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2010

Wow! I will not experience staying at the Doubletree, I never made it off the Internet!!! I was booking a 3 night stay, with advance payment; it was a great deal, but I made the mistake of signing up for the Hilton rewards, when I clicked back to reserve my reservation it said the advance payment special was not available at this hotel!!! I called the customer service number and the guy pretty much said tough luck, so I said I would book my 3 nights at another hotel and I was going to bring my small dog, so they also lost out on the deposit for her!! I told the guy if I had problems before I left my house I was NOT going to chance checking in!!!! I'll go to another hotel for 3 nights!!!!

  • Stayed February 2010
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2009

Hotle is modern and nice. Rooms clean and comfortable. Staff was nice and accomdating. Room service and the bar/Rest closes at 10pm but there are plenty in walking distance. Housekeeping forgot something each day of my 3 day stay (hand towels etc) and the hot water took 5 min to reach my room each day (waist or water). Over all a great place though. Would go back again.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2009

Great hotel. Smart design. Clean. Modern. Efficient use of space. Loved the workout facility. Very nice staff. Quiet. Highly recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Monrovia - Pasadena Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Monrovia - Pasadena Area

Address: 924 West Huntington Drive, Monrovia, CA 91016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monrovia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Monrovia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Monrovia - Pasadena Area 3.5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The DoubleTree by Hilton Monrovia - Pasadena Area is located near Los Angeles, Ontario, Burbank, Arcadia, Duarte and Irwindale, California in the heart of the San Gabriel Valley and offers contemporary hotel accommodations with spectacular views of the Foothills. Forward thinking designed guest rooms feature up-to-date conveniences like flat-panel TV's, mobile "My Table" work surface and our incredibly luxurious Sweet Dreams beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Hilton Hotels so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Monrovia - Pasadena Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Hotel Monrovia
Doubletree Monrovia
Monrovia Doubletree

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Monrovia - Pasadena Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.