We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I hate to write this...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Mundial

Cafe Mundial
514 S Myrtle Ave, Monrovia, CA 91016-2814
(626) 303-2233
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #56 of 119 Restaurants in Monrovia
Price range: $25 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Reservations
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“I hate to write this...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

My family and I have been going to this restaurant since it opened. Unfortunately, they got a new chef and hanged up the menu. Neither of these changes are good. The risotto was uncooked and our favorite item is no longer on the menu. I hate to say it, but we are not going back any more, which is sad, as it is very close and convenient.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    6
    3
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
“It is a gorgeous place, and great atmosphere.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

The out side drew me in, and when I heard the live music I fell in love with the place. The decor was so magical lol.. its a must see! I live in las vegas and was just visiting. When I go back I will definiteley be visiting again! ♡

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Georgia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“large varied menu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We were 6 adults and a baby and everyone found something they liked. The service was a a little slow but willing and friendly. the place has an eclectic decor slightly too dark but interesting. The toasted bread with olive oil and hummus was nice while we waited. I ordered "paella" and what i got was very tasty but not paella. It was basically a seafood risotto with a ring of shell fish around the edges and the rice was perfect for a risotto but all wrong for paella. I enjoyed it once i reset my expectations.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Keep Walking”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

I'm not sure why this place has so many decent reviews. I mean, I know Monrovia is not a foodie haven, what with Claim Jumper and Red Lobster rated #14 & #15 respectively, but still, come on. The food isn't even average quality. The calamari was over-breaded and greasy, the pasta was mushy, and the glasses of wine were low end to be sure. The outside patio area is nice, but it doesn't make up for the mediocre food and service. You can do better; just keep walking.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great place for lunch or dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

This is my second visit to this restaurant. Visited in 2012 for dinner and then recently for lunch. The decor is well appointed and the place has lots of character. The outside covered patio is inviting. The food is exceptional and service was as expected for a place of it's standing.

I will definitely be back!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Mundial also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Mundial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Mundial, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.