We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's Becoming a Habit!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Merengue Bakery and Cafe

Merengue Bakery and Cafe
110 E Colorado Blvd, Monrovia, CA 91016-2804
626-358-5650
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 119 restaurants in Monrovia
Price range: $5 - $12
Cuisines: Bakery, Cuban, Sandwiches
Restaurant details
Arcadia, CA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“It's Becoming a Habit!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

First off, let me say that this review is about the pastries (too hooked on those to try anything else, as yet). Their coconut strudel is to die for . . . Not too sweet, and a nice CHUNK of real coconut inside (nuke 'em for 15 seconds for a burst of pure coconut happiness). The beef empanadas are good, not too spicy and not greasy. The potato balls are perfect. The lemon tarts are a Sunday morning favorite . . . Get these to go with an espresso, and walk to the park 2 blocks up the street for an impromptu picnic. Also great are the flan, the refugiados (guava paste and cheese strudels), and the creme brulee. Before long, I will have tried every bakery item they sell. Quality as good as Porto's, IMO . . . And way better parking, way less crowds.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

81% Recommend
    5
    8
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pasadena
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Two Time Winner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Since I've only visited here twice, I'll keep the review simple:
Chocolate Ganache cake slice...........HEAVENLY, sweet, creamy, chocolate-y, rich, good enough to share....but I didn't :-D
Lemon Tart.....Lemon tart very pretty ....and truly 'tart'...thank you bakery chef! If you like your lemon pie/tart's with a tang that bites (in just the right lovingly way) ...mmmm....order one for me too.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monrovia, California, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Love Merengue, watch out Portos”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Didn't feel like driving to Portos and opted for Merengue since it's almost in my back yard. I can't believe I'm saying this but the ham croqueta, papa rellena and pastelito de carne were equally as good as Portos and maybe, just maybe even better. Oh and the tres leche cake was just as good. There I said it.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southern california
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Great Cake”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Had a party and bought a half sheet cake. Half chocolate with chocolate cream and half yellow with strawberrys and cream
GREAT CAKE

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stilwell, Kansas
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
236 helpful votes 236 helpful votes
“What a find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

The day after the Rose Parade we were looking for a good place for breakfast and found Merengue. Great breakfast burrito and wonderful pastries. We took a box to our friends in Palm Desert.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Merengue Bakery and Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Merengue Bakery and Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Merengue Bakery and Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.