We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yearly decompression” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mono Hot Springs Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mono Hot Springs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mono Hot Springs Resort
Save Saved
You added Mono Hot Springs Resort to your Saves list
Mono Hot Springs, CA   |  
Hotel amenities
Irvine, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Yearly decompression”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Learned about it from the Weekend Getaway section of LA Times15 years ago - DOGS ARE WELCOMED! Sadly my Aussie died last October, but she and I shared incredible hiking off-leash and swimming in Doris and Tule Lakes near Mono Hot Springs. She would hang her head out the window taking in the forest scents as we followed the narrow, winding road for 18 miles over the most beautiful drive on earth. (Not kidding!!!) Now my granddaughter is sharing the Mono experience. I just made my reservations for four nights in early July. Four nights is perfect - can take enough provisions. The general store, restaurant, bath house, natural hot springs, make this remote location not too remote. We have stayed in rustic cabins and platform tents. (Both very adequate) One last item - come when there is no moon, so you can be treated to the real Milky Way.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    12
    16
    4
    7
    5
See reviews for
24
11
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Mono HOT Springs is our home away from home. NOT only is the setting awesome and beautiful, but the owner and his family run the business to FIRST of all cater to their clientele. We (husband and I) have gone every year since 1989 and have enjoyed all of their housekeeping cabins which are clean and kept up to par and surrounded by the beauty of the wilderness (they are advertised as rustic and they are) we truly enjoy the accommodations and if we need an extra pot it is made available to us. We catch our limit of fish daily for dinner and on occasion enjoy their dining specials in their restaurant, yum! We love to hike the wilderness areas which are maintained and easily accessible. the original hot springs are across the river, they are enjoyable and HOT! Would we recommend Mono? Absolutely. See you next fall Jeff, Joe, Cody, and Kelly!

Robert and Yolanda. Santa Barbara

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

great place for getting away from it all.... it is rustic ~no in room showers.
but the place, and the area are wonderful,
hot springs , bath house, beautiful river... it was built in the 50's so not your modern type of resort
but full of rustic charm

Room Tip: thy have three grades of cabins, get the one with the toilet in side
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Mesa, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

I have been comming to Mono Hot Springs with my family and friends since1976 and wouldn't dreamof not comming to this unique resort every summer. The Winslow family has operated the resort now for 50 years and they always make us feel like family,and their staff is alwas friendly and helpful. We really like the stone campfire pits at each cabin where we can roast marshmallows and enjoy a campfire in the evening. We usually stay in a 2-bedroom family cabin that has good beds,a wonderfull stone fireplace and complete kitchen with an electric refigerator but without other electrical appliances like microwaves and food processors,since,the resort is on it's own generator. The cabins are rustic but always clean and what is really attractive to us is no TV - so you can get your kids, and yourself for that matter,out fishing,swimming,hiking and enjoying all this beautiful wilderness hs to offer without having to compete with TV programs. For the real outdoor enthusiast, you jus can't beat Mono Hot Springs Resort for hiking and fshing. The River has some really good fly fishing. I love the cafes really tasty Buffalo Burgers with some whole wheat buns and lots of "the works" and the Bufalo Ribs are a must try. I personally soak in the hot springs spa more than I should and then a massage by Cherrie's hot stone treatments is almost too relaxing. Too me, this resonably priced remote resort beats any fancy 5- star hotel resort anywhere.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Having made multiple visits to this site and others in preparation for my trip to Mono Hot Springs provided me with a varied assortment of descriptions. I was a bit shocked to read about so many negative comments especially from those claiming to be seasoned campers...Being an inexperienced camper I was in awe of the entire experience. From the drive up on a single lane road leading to the resort, to the beautiful vistas. I could not imagine a more perfect camping experience. The cabin we shared was rustic with a refirgerator, stove, shower and a futon in the livingroom and a separate bedroom. I was pleasantly surprised with the entire experience. The views from the cabin of the beautiful night sky could offer even the most particular guests an opportunity for escape. The river offered many secluded areas to sit near enough to the water that relaxing with a good book was the only order of the day. Local hikes to surrounding Doris Lake made a perfect balance for exploring the area. The natural hot springs found across the river were inviting and offered a variety of locations, views and water temperatures. The people visiting were all extremely friendly sharing everything from fresh caught fish to conversations. Overall the beauty of the experience far overshadows any negatives.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

We've been coming to Mono every summer for 21 years and couldn't get through the rest of the year without knowing our next year's visit would come around. Owners Jeff and Joe are the best hosts ever. The valley is beyond compare. Sitting on the cabin porch and taking the view and the breeze is heaven. Mono really is heaven!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
venice, california
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

The is the high Sierras people. The cabins are a step up from camping. (except for the honeymoon cabin) Rustic, but totally adequate. Hot running water, indoor bathroom, nice beds. Those "raggedy," people playing music in front of the store? My husband might well have been one of them. Shaving and dressing well is not high on his list when on vacation in the woods. We have been coming here for over 25 years and would not miss it for anything. Our reservation for next year is already made. Hot tubs, incredible views, fishing, swimming and great hikes abound and if critters, dust, mud, insects and banjos bother you, then go somewhere else. We love this place.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mono Hot Springs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mono Hot Springs Resort

Address: Mono Hot Springs, CA
Location: United States > California > Mono Hot Springs
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty lodging in Mono Hot Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Mono Hot Springs Hotel Mono Hot Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mono Hot Springs Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.