We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“36 years of loving mono hot springs” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mono Hot Springs Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mono Hot Springs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mono Hot Springs Resort
Save
You added Mono Hot Springs Resort to your Saves list
Mono Hot Springs, CA   |  
Hotel amenities
Costa Mesa, California
1 review
“36 years of loving mono hot springs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

I have been comming to Mono Hot Springs with my family and friends since1976 and wouldn't dreamof not comming to this unique resort every summer. The Winslow family has operated the resort now for 50 years and they always make us feel like family,and their staff is alwas friendly and helpful. We really like the stone campfire pits at each cabin where we can roast marshmallows and enjoy a campfire in the evening. We usually stay in a 2-bedroom family cabin that has good beds,a wonderfull stone fireplace and complete kitchen with an electric refigerator but without other electrical appliances like microwaves and food processors,since,the resort is on it's own generator. The cabins are rustic but always clean and what is really attractive to us is no TV - so you can get your kids, and yourself for that matter,out fishing,swimming,hiking and enjoying all this beautiful wilderness hs to offer without having to compete with TV programs. For the real outdoor enthusiast, you jus can't beat Mono Hot Springs Resort for hiking and fshing. The River has some really good fly fishing. I love the cafes really tasty Buffalo Burgers with some whole wheat buns and lots of "the works" and the Bufalo Ribs are a must try. I personally soak in the hot springs spa more than I should and then a massage by Cherrie's hot stone treatments is almost too relaxing. Too me, this resonably priced remote resort beats any fancy 5- star hotel resort anywhere.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    16
    4
    7
    5
See reviews for
24
11
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Anaheim, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Having made multiple visits to this site and others in preparation for my trip to Mono Hot Springs provided me with a varied assortment of descriptions. I was a bit shocked to read about so many negative comments especially from those claiming to be seasoned campers...Being an inexperienced camper I was in awe of the entire experience. From the drive up on a single lane road leading to the resort, to the beautiful vistas. I could not imagine a more perfect camping experience. The cabin we shared was rustic with a refirgerator, stove, shower and a futon in the livingroom and a separate bedroom. I was pleasantly surprised with the entire experience. The views from the cabin of the beautiful night sky could offer even the most particular guests an opportunity for escape. The river offered many secluded areas to sit near enough to the water that relaxing with a good book was the only order of the day. Local hikes to surrounding Doris Lake made a perfect balance for exploring the area. The natural hot springs found across the river were inviting and offered a variety of locations, views and water temperatures. The people visiting were all extremely friendly sharing everything from fresh caught fish to conversations. Overall the beauty of the experience far overshadows any negatives.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

We've been coming to Mono every summer for 21 years and couldn't get through the rest of the year without knowing our next year's visit would come around. Owners Jeff and Joe are the best hosts ever. The valley is beyond compare. Sitting on the cabin porch and taking the view and the breeze is heaven. Mono really is heaven!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
venice, california
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

The is the high Sierras people. The cabins are a step up from camping. (except for the honeymoon cabin) Rustic, but totally adequate. Hot running water, indoor bathroom, nice beds. Those "raggedy," people playing music in front of the store? My husband might well have been one of them. Shaving and dressing well is not high on his list when on vacation in the woods. We have been coming here for over 25 years and would not miss it for anything. Our reservation for next year is already made. Hot tubs, incredible views, fishing, swimming and great hikes abound and if critters, dust, mud, insects and banjos bother you, then go somewhere else. We love this place.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012 via mobile

Mono Hot Springs has such a wonderful location- it is an amazing spot in the Sierras.

We made our reservation in March 2012 for August after viewing the resort website. We requested a " modern" cabin that was made of rock and complete with kitchen/ bath. We hoped for one along the river but the man on the phone said it was not available however a lovely cabin conveniently located near the store and bathhouse was available. We booked it- especially since they also permitted dogs!

The drive here is long, windy and spectacular. When we arrived the resort was bustling with activity. Outside the general store where we were to check in- were several raggedy men smoking. My 8 year old daughter had to walk through that to get in the store.

The check in process was easy but not thorough - we received little information about the resort or area. That would have been a simple and welcoming nicety.

Our supposed "great & convenient" cabin was directly across from the general store where everyone went to smoke; on another side were the resort dumpsters; and on the other side day parking and a popular place for smokers. We also had a public garbage can placed in our "front yard" so always people trepsing through if they decided to use a garbage can.

The entrance to the cabin was raked but on the perimeter dotted with cigarette butts, small wrappers and food debris. There was a fire pit with charred wood still in it and grates lying in the dirt next to the stoop.

The cabin was not "rustic"- it was disgusting and run down.

The screen door did not open very well and was not flush so flies from the dumpsters liked to visit.

The cabin stunk - we figured out from the black fire place that someone had tried to cook in there which did not go well.

The surfaces were all totally filthy from ceiling to walls to tables to floor. My daughter immediately starting sweeping it was so gross.

The bedroom carpet was filthy. Three beds crammed into the room. The bigger bed has some style with a cool wood head board. The rest is junk from a garage sale. There are holes in the walls, cobwebs and no light fixtures- just strings hanging from the ceiling. The sheets had stains on them so we used our own pillows and sleeping bags.

The living room had a rocker chair and futon couch. Every time one of us sat on the couch or chair a cloud of dust plumed into the air.

The dining table was huge and blocked the way to the bathroom and kitchen. One chair had to be kept in the bathroom and one against a living room wall. Our dog cleaned the floor under the table which meant it had not been swept or mopped.

The fridge was clean inside. The stove top was clean but we dared not use the oven.

The dishes were on filthy shelves. All the dishes and flatware were greasy and had food on them. We had to wash everything. The plastic green plates were chipped & broken. There were for mismatched coffee cups that were chipped. No glasses. Silverware that was plastic and metal- easily bendable and not enough of each for a family of four. There were hot pads that wre burnt and seemed to have not been washed. No kitchen towels but did request them.
The garbage can had never seen a cleaning and we had to keep requesting bags. The sink was filthy and stained on top of that. I got some cleanser to disinfect but it did not change the appearance. There is no where to hang kitchen towels.


The bathroom is an add on - shabbily crafted- a sink crammed next to the toilet so you can barely sit on the toilet. Linens are provided- small white towels but no where to hang them. Boards piecing the place together and insulation oozing out of the ceiling.

The bathhouse is run down. The baths are stained. The floors nasty. The walls dirty. One bath would not fill up completely- a leak. One bathroom had the hooks fall down for towels and not put back up. Although the claw foot runs could be charming- they are so stained and the room so filthy- hard to enjoy.

The showers are not clean. Filled with hair and for a whole week the same blobs isms others' shampoo stuck on the walls. The faucets are rusty and not clean as well.

There is one gated in hot spring - very small and stained. We had no idea that there were naturally occurring springs across the river. It would have been simple to give us info upon arrival.

The log across the river is dangerous. Someone put mesh screen on it to be helpful yet now it is torn up- I saw a lady fall and get vey hurt. We did not use the log instead swam across. The hot springs were murky and kind of gross compared to others in the Sierras.

Overall this place is not quaint or rustic- it is run down and disgusting. We would never recommend this resort to anyone. There are plenty of fabulous camp sites nearby that would be cleaner!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

I read everyone's reviews and after a few good chuckles here is my reticent review. Reticent yes because the l personally would like to keep the place a secret but for the sake of perspective my two cents follows. I have both camped (3-4 times) many years back and now stay with my family in the cabins and have been for the last 9 years.

The resort is located in the High Sierras and once you drive up the challenging one lane Southern California Edison "maintained" one lane bidirectional road, you should have a better appreciation of getting supplies there and back ( in response to the strewn equipment reviews).

The resort and cabins are great for a family vacation, a family that can handle a camping like atmosphere, wildlife, amazing scenery, hikes that you may encounter 1-2 people if any, and a fun and fantastic river . When my husband first brought me there I could not believe the beauty and amazing solitude that are the John Muir wilderness and Ansel Adams wilderness.

This resort is a gem and many of the people who vacation there are second or third generation visitors.

If you like adventure, hiking, the mountains and can handle to rough it a bit, you have found paradise. If you don't like dirt, wildlife and require hotel like accommodations, move on this place is
not for you.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

I wouldn't put the Taliban up in this place. The tent cabins had holes and rips in them, no screens and the mattresses were moldy. Everything about this place is run down and in disarray. We got there toward the end of the day saw the accommodations and promptly turned around and headed out. As we were fleeing this disaster, I swore I heard banjos. Oh yes, the scenery is incredible; we just never got the chance to enjoy it.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mono Hot Springs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mono Hot Springs Resort

Address: Mono Hot Springs, CA
Location: United States > California > Mono Hot Springs
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Mono Hot Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 21
Also Known As:
Mono Hot Springs Hotel Mono Hot Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mono Hot Springs Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.