We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old Fashioned Hospitality and Cleanliness” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Desert Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Desert Inn to your Saves list
Desert Inn
1954 Highway 58, Mojave, CA 93501   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$49 (USD)
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Mojave
Rochester, New York
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Old Fashioned Hospitality and Cleanliness”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

The Desert Inn reflects the old-time motels of the ‘30’s but the current owners have painted and fixed up the accommodation that made our room spotless inside. Although typical size for that era’s room, there was a table and 2 chairs, a comfortable king sized bed, desk, microwave, refrigerator, coffee service and still some room to move around. The free wifi had a consistent signal. The free continental breakfast always had at least one kind of fresh fruit to go with the cereals, pastries and juice. The owner went out of his way to make certain our stay was comfortable. Hint: Book so you are there on the third Saturday of the month to enjoy the local Plane Crazy Days where you can walk out on the tarmac at the Mojave Air and Space Port less than a mile away from The Desert Inn.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arunbhula, Manager at Desert Inn, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Hello Sandy,

Thank you for taking the time and writing about your stay at the Desert Inn. We are glad to see you enjoyed our continental breakfast, and took advantage of all of the amenities that we offer.

Andy & Lisa
Desert Inn
Mojave, CA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    67
    26
    4
    1
See reviews for
31
59
37
53
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

This is an older motel but don't let that deter you. The owner takes PRIDE in the place and it shows. Very fairly priced exceptionally clean. My wife and I stayed here while passing through the area and would not hesitate to do so again.

Room Tip: just off main road look for it
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arunbhula, Manager at Desert Inn, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Hello,

Thank you for the high marks. We are happy to see you and your wife had a good stay at the Desert Inn while in Mojave. Thank you once again for staying at the Desert Inn.

Andy & Lisa
Desert Inn
Mojave, CA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fontana, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

Stayed one night here while railfanning in the area. Didn't need much in the way of amenities and found the Desert Inn fit the bill - not in a bad way though. Reasonably priced clean comfortable room and very pleasant staff. HUGE fridge if that is important. DirecTV a plus as well. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arunbhula, Manager at Desert Inn, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Hello Ed,

Thank you for staying at the Desert Inn while you were passing through Mojave. We are glad to read that our motel met and exceeded your expectations. Thank you again for staying at the Desert Inn.

Andy & Lisa
Desert Inn
Mojave, Ca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

I travel a lot for work so have been in a lot of motels. This place is by far and wide the best ive ever been at. The rooms are comfortable and very well furnished. The bed is like sleeping on a cloud. The rooms were super clean. The owner and his wife are extremely friendly and genuinely look out for their customers. If you ever come to Mojave, Ca, you would be doing yourself a disservice by not staying here. Best in Mojave hands down.

Room Tip: All rooms are equally awesome
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arunbhula, Manager at Desert Inn, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Hello Will,

Thank you for the recommendation. We are glad to read you had a pleasant nights stay at the Desert Inn. Customer service is one of our main priorities and we do what we can to make sure our guest are as comfortable as possible while staying at our motel. Thank you for choosing the Desert Inn while traveling through Mojave.

Andy & Lisa
Desert Inn
Mojave, Ca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

Love this motel!
This is the second visit here for us,just one night stops.However,even though we loved it last time we could see that they had done upgrades.In fact as we were leaving the owner showed us the tiles he'd just bought for the shower we'd just used! The owners are very friendly and hard working.
The rooms are SPOTLESS,freshly painted with comfortable beds.The towels are not cheap motel dingy white and thin they are high quality and white.
There is a larger than usual fridge /freezer and a good microwave.Modern Tv with good choice of channel/ films,a desk and table and chairs.
I booked through the desk but there is usually a $49 special on their tripadvisor page so mention that. They charge $5 extra for a king bed.
It's close to a wind farm and looks nothing special outside,but it's got everything ,and more ,that you need for a comfortable stay.
They offer coffee,juice,cereal and pastries in the office for breakfast but we just make coffee in the room and grab breakfast on the journey. We liked Desert cafe just by the heading west freeway entrance leaving town,again looks nothing special outside but did the job!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arunbhula, Manager at Desert Inn, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Hello Sharon and Alan,

Thank you for staying at the Desert Inn again. We constantly make improvements where ever we can, and glad to see you noticed it. Hope to see you again when passing through Mojave.

Andy & Lisa
Desert Inn
Mojave, CA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

We stayed for one night. I had let the owner know we would be arriving late and he had courteously gone in to the room and turned on the heating for us before our arrival. The motel is small, clean and quiet. We were unaware of any train activities or other guests (we saw the cars, just never heard people). The beds were comfortable and the room came with amenities atypical of a motel - a full sized refrigerator, large table and chairs, a multitude of channels and bathroom toiletries. In the morning we were grateful for the fruit, pastries and juice before we resumed our drive - there were more offerings but those are what appealed to us.
The owner was attentive and obviously cared about our comfort and experience. Driving down the state there were a number of areas I wouldn't have been comfortable staying with my daughter. The Desert Inn hotel was a welcome respite. It is not a luxury hotel but it really good motel. We felt safe and comfortable and had a good night's sleep.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arunbhula, Manager at Desert Inn, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Hello,

Thank you for taking the time and writing about your stay at the Desert Inn. We are happy to read that you and your daughter felt comfortable and safe while staying, and noticed you did take advantage of the amenities and free breakfast that we offer. Thank you once again for staying at the Desert Inn.

Andy & Lisa
Desert Inn
Mojave, CA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montpellier, France
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

Super-clean rooms & super-nice people make this motel a really enjoyable place to spend the night. Plenty of HD TV channels (much more than in some of Vegas prestigious hotels). Breakfast is ok (coffee, milk, cereals, fruits, orange juice).

Only downside : our room could have been more ventilated before we came in. Kinda smelled like my grandparent's house or something. Not really bothering though.

Did I mention the people who run the place are super nice? yes they are.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arunbhula, Manager at Desert Inn, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Hello,

Thank you for those kind words. We are glad to see you enjoyed your over night stay at the Desert Inn. We do what we can to ensure our guests have a pleasant stay.

Andy & Lisa
Desert Inn
Mojave, CA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Desert Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Inn

Address: 1954 Highway 58, Mojave, CA 93501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Mojave
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Mojave
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All room have fridge, microwave, coffee maker, free highspeed wireles internet 32 eanch lcd tv cable tv with hbo and cont breakfast ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Desert Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Hotel Mojave
Desert Motel Mojave

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Desert Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.