We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Constant improvements!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Desert Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Desert Inn to your Saves list
Desert Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1954 Highway 58, Mojave, CA 93501   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Mojave
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sherwood, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Constant improvements!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

Love this motel!
This is the second visit here for us,just one night stops.However,even though we loved it last time we could see that they had done upgrades.In fact as we were leaving the owner showed us the tiles he'd just bought for the shower we'd just used! The owners are very friendly and hard working.
The rooms are SPOTLESS,freshly painted with comfortable beds.The towels are not cheap motel dingy white and thin they are high quality and white.
There is a larger than usual fridge /freezer and a good microwave.Modern Tv with good choice of channel/ films,a desk and table and chairs.
I booked through the desk but there is usually a $49 special on their tripadvisor page so mention that. They charge $5 extra for a king bed.
It's close to a wind farm and looks nothing special outside,but it's got everything ,and more ,that you need for a comfortable stay.
They offer coffee,juice,cereal and pastries in the office for breakfast but we just make coffee in the room and grab breakfast on the journey. We liked Desert cafe just by the heading west freeway entrance leaving town,again looks nothing special outside but did the job!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arunbhula, Manager at Desert Inn, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Hello Sharon and Alan,

Thank you for staying at the Desert Inn again. We constantly make improvements where ever we can, and glad to see you noticed it. Hope to see you again when passing through Mojave.

Andy & Lisa
Desert Inn
Mojave, CA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    72
    28
    5
    2
See reviews for
34
63
38
53
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

We stayed for one night. I had let the owner know we would be arriving late and he had courteously gone in to the room and turned on the heating for us before our arrival. The motel is small, clean and quiet. We were unaware of any train activities or other guests (we saw the cars, just never heard people). The beds were comfortable and the room came with amenities atypical of a motel - a full sized refrigerator, large table and chairs, a multitude of channels and bathroom toiletries. In the morning we were grateful for the fruit, pastries and juice before we resumed our drive - there were more offerings but those are what appealed to us.
The owner was attentive and obviously cared about our comfort and experience. Driving down the state there were a number of areas I wouldn't have been comfortable staying with my daughter. The Desert Inn hotel was a welcome respite. It is not a luxury hotel but it really good motel. We felt safe and comfortable and had a good night's sleep.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arunbhula, Manager at Desert Inn, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Hello,

Thank you for taking the time and writing about your stay at the Desert Inn. We are happy to read that you and your daughter felt comfortable and safe while staying, and noticed you did take advantage of the amenities and free breakfast that we offer. Thank you once again for staying at the Desert Inn.

Andy & Lisa
Desert Inn
Mojave, CA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montpellier, France
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

Super-clean rooms & super-nice people make this motel a really enjoyable place to spend the night. Plenty of HD TV channels (much more than in some of Vegas prestigious hotels). Breakfast is ok (coffee, milk, cereals, fruits, orange juice).

Only downside : our room could have been more ventilated before we came in. Kinda smelled like my grandparent's house or something. Not really bothering though.

Did I mention the people who run the place are super nice? yes they are.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arunbhula, Manager at Desert Inn, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Hello,

Thank you for those kind words. We are glad to see you enjoyed your over night stay at the Desert Inn. We do what we can to ensure our guests have a pleasant stay.

Andy & Lisa
Desert Inn
Mojave, CA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

Small motel (20 rooms) next to a wind farm. I checked in late (front desk had a sign that said to ring bell, and the manager was there with me shortly thereafter) and left early. Clean room and a bowl of instant oatmeal for breakfast. Shampoo was a little difficult to open in the shower. Had all the old charm of a motel, down to the old-fashioned keys. Manager was super friendly

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arunbhula, Manager at Desert Inn, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Hello Charles,

Thank you for all of the compliments about our motel. We are glad to see you took advantage of our free continental breakfast and had oatmeal in the morning before you checked out. Customer service is one of our main priorities and we would like to thank you for the "super friendly" comment.

Andy & Lisa
Desert Inn
Mojave, CA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

everything was great but when it came to breakfast it didnt reach standard of continental...we would like to park our car in front of our room but 2 cars where in between...the way the parking are we couldnt park by our door...R P

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arunbhula, Manager at Desert Inn, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Hello,

Thank you for staying at the Desert Inn while you were in town. We are sorry the free continental breakfast wasn't to your satisfaction. The Desert Inn is positioned in a way so our guests can park their vehicles in front of their room. Unfortunately when you stayed we were really busy and another guest had parked where you wanted to. Other then that we hope you were happy with your stay.

Andy & Lisa
Desert Inn
Mojave, CA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

If you've never stayed in Mojave, CA before be aware that the trains running through there create a ton of noise and their presence and sound is felt anywhere you stay in the town. That being said, The Desert Inn is your best bet to be able to sleep at night, although you will still hear them but it will not be as annoying as staying at any of the other motels in town that are located right next to the tracks!

Stayed here on a stopover to Death Valley. Owner was on site and was super nice and obviously cares about his customers. Price was very reasonable. Room furnishings were a bit bland, kind of like the waiting room at a doctor's office but the room was clean.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arunbhula, Manager at Desert Inn, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Hello,

We appreciate your review, and recommendation. Our motel is further from the train tracks and guests do get better sleep do to less noise and our recently upgraded mattresses. Thank you for staying at the Desert Inn.

Andy & Lisa
Desert Inn
Mojave, CA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monticello, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

The reviews on trip advisor are right! My boyfriend and I stayed here after a very long drive (from zion national park through death valley), on our way to San Francisco. The only options of cities to stop in were Mojave or Bakersfield, and I had read Bakersfield was dangerous (we later stopped there for gas, and it was ghetto!! and I lived in harlem NYC). Anyway, Mojave is a very tiny town but the desert inn was everything that we needed and more!! The owners were so nice, when we got there and asked about dinner he had a menu of the restaurant printed and informed us we could have the food delivered if desired. The room was comfortable and CLEAN, and they even offer breakfast. This was even much better than many chain 2 star hotels I have stayed in, and for motels...the desert inn is FAR above the rest! If I am ever in the area again, I will definitely stay here.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arunbhula, Manager at Desert Inn, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Hello Corrin,

We are all about hospitality. Even though we are a small motel we try to offer as much if not more amenities than the bigger chain hotels/motels. Thank you for picking the Desert Inn, we know there are plenty of options while in Mojave and definitely appreciate your stay. If you and your boyfriend are ever in town please let us know.

Andy & Lisa
Desert Inn
Mojave, CA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Desert Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Inn

Address: 1954 Highway 58, Mojave, CA 93501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Mojave
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Mojave
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Desert Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All room have fridge, microwave, coffee maker, free highspeed wireles internet 32 eanch lcd tv cable tv with hbo and cont breakfast ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Desert Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Hotel Mojave
Desert Motel Mojave

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Desert Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.