We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Desert Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Desert Inn to your Saves list
Desert Inn
1954 Highway 58, Mojave, CA 93501   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$49 (USD)
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Mojave
Kailua, Hawaii
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Needed a place to stay on short notice with a family emergency and the owner was extremely helpful.
The service was better then any 5 star hotel I have ever been in and I have been in many.
Service was great.....

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arunbhula, Manager at Desert Inn, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Hello,

Thank you for those kind words. We do our best to accommodate our guests, and definitely appreciate the 5 star service rating.

Andy & Nancy
Desert Inn
Mojave, CA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    67
    26
    4
    1
See reviews for
31
59
37
53
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
California
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

This is an older motel remodeled nicely. The owner/manager was very nice and friendly. The motel room area was large but, like most old motels, the bathroom was small. It had a pedestal sink but no counter space. There were no towel bars anywhere in the room. My room just had a shower but that was fine by me.

Like the motels on State Route 58 there is no railroad noise. (RR noise would presumably affect the motels on State Route 14.) But there is highway noise since the motel is right on the edge of Business Route 58, which was the original Highway 58 before the bypass was put in. All the rooms face toward Business Route 58. The evening began noisily but by about 10 PM most of the traffic on Highway 58 had ceased so it was reasonably quiet.

My room had a flat screen television which would have been nice if it worked. But it did not work so no TV for me. Maybe you will get a working TV or maybe not. It would be nice if housekeeping would check to see that the televisions in the rooms worked before the locked the door for a guest.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arunbhula, Manager at Desert Inn, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Hello,

Thank you for taking the time and writing a review. All of the flat screen tv's are brand new with over 100 HD channels. Since you had an issue turning on the tv, we hope next time you call the front desk so we can help you. We also have rooms with bathtubs, so please let us know next time that you wanted a room with that feature. Thank you.

Andy & Nancy
Desert Inn
Mojave, CA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

I've stayed here several times over the past couple of years and have always been happy with the Desert Inn - it's clean, quiet and the people that run it are great. For someone like me looking for a nice, quiet place to crash after a day of offroading, this place is a great deal.

Room Tip: It's away from the train tracks so it's quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arunbhula, Manager at Desert Inn, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Hello Mark,

Thank you very much for staying at the Desert Inn every time you are in Mojave. We greatly appreciate your business!

Andy & Nancy
Desert Inn
Mojave,CA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I kept expecting a black Cadillac to role up and have two FBI agents get out and walk over to the desk clerk to ask him questions about a couple who were reportedly staying there. As a reader of this review you might think it a bad thing but I found the Desert Inn to be perfectly picturesque in a town that some would define as quite the opposite.
The staff member working that night was very courteous and our stay was (in some ways regrettably... no FBI) very quite and pleasant. We would stay there again in a heartbeat if we ever find ourselves in that part of Southern California again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arunbhula, Manager at Desert Inn, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Hello Jason,

That is a very interesting review about the FBI, hahaha. Our motel is quiet and we hardly ever have any trouble with our guests. We appreciate you wanting to stay at our motel again. Hope to see you soon. Thank you very much for staying at the Desert Inn.

Andy & Nancy
Desert Inn
Mojave, CA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

This is a classic older desert motel that is excellently maintained. There are very few choices in this town, and I would come back here in a heartbeat. If you need something that looks like a condo, this is probably not your place, but the "modern" hotels in town looked run down. (I travel all over the world so I have my choice of hotels including the most fancy). I felt very comfortable here. Clean, clean, clean. Simple little fridge, freezer, etc. Can do light meals if you want to prepare your own food. Very good internet. Owner very responsive. Simple continental breakfast, but chains nearby. Very economical. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arunbhula, Manager at Desert Inn, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Hello,

Thank you for taking the time and writing a review for the Desert Inn. Keeping our rooms spot less is a priority, thank you for noticing that. We are AAA approved with a 2 star rating and they give us the cleanest motel in town plaque every year! Thank you again for writing a review.

Andy & Nancy
Desert Inn
Mojave, CA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

The hotel is old and in the middle of now where. The staff however are very nice and helpful. I drove 5 hours to arrive at 2 a.m. the man was so friendly even in the middle of the night. Once you get into the room, it is clean and updated enough to make it pleasant. I will stay here again when I go back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arunbhula, Manager at Desert Inn, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Hello,

We are glad you had a good nights rest. We hope to see you again. Thank you for staying with us!

Andy & Nancy
Desert Inn
Mojave, CA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

It's kind of charming that a little old motel can be a 5-star hotel by being the best in Mojave, a bleak, wind-blown little desert highway town that's nobody's tourist destination. And what makes it the best? The greatest distance from the railroad tracks! But it also has a real refrigerator-freezer, a microwave, free wifi, fairly comfortable bed, adequate shower, and a helpful proprietor who gives a sense of genuine warmth and hospitality. Not perfect but a good value for the price, it's the kind of motel my parents would have picked out on a road trip in the '60s. Well, they didn't have microwaves in the '60s; they had "kitchenettes." Anyway, I like it. Cleanliness? Eh, the floor wants vacuuming; but I can't say how much of the debris blew in with the Mojave wind.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arunbhula, Manager at Desert Inn, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Hello,

Thank you for taking the time and writing a review about the Desert Inn. We are glad you had a pleasant nights rest.

Andy & Nancy
Desert Inn
Mojave, CA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Desert Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Inn

Address: 1954 Highway 58, Mojave, CA 93501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Mojave
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Mojave
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All room have fridge, microwave, coffee maker, free highspeed wireles internet 32 eanch lcd tv cable tv with hbo and cont breakfast ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Desert Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Hotel Mojave
Desert Motel Mojave

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Desert Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.