We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not as bad as it looked at first” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Value Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Americas Best Value Inn to your Saves list
Americas Best Value Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   16352 Sierra Highway, Mojave, CA 93501   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Winter Savings-Save 15%
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Mojave
Brookfield, Canada
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“not as bad as it looked at first”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

the man at the desk was very nice.the room looked good then when we were in there a few minutes i found two dead roaches it kind of horrified me i had visions of lots of these getting in our stuff.the room was ground floor he showed me an upstairs room or very nicely said i could have my money back no problem he was very apologetic i decided that as it was the desert and they were dead.i would stay put . we never saw any other bugs that were alive or dead . and it actually ended up being one of the better rooms . there seemed to be a lot of work crews staying there and it was very quiet.the pool was really to small to be worth using more just for kids.but overall not bad at all.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    4
    7
    0
    9
See reviews for
3
10
2
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012 via mobile

This motel is a good choice. The staff is very courteous and accommodating. Nice selection of DVDs and a well kept pool. Close to train tracks but rooms are quiet. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, Massachusetts
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2011

The only way NOT to be disappointed is to expect the worst! Low-end, horribly noisy road motel at its worst.
Thin walls made me hear every single word from my neighbor's room even when they were not loud [and worse when they became louder]. Noise isolation simply non-existent; Cargo trains pass frequently during the night, and one feels as if they pass under one's pillow. Even the horribly noisy, old heating/cooling system could not mask the outside noises [or other rooms' noises], but every time it went into operation I woke up. I usually sleep VERY soundly. Room was decently clean but the old decor, furniture and bad maintenance made it feel dirty. Unfortunately, my room smelled strongly as well, as I believe will all rooms at this end of the motel [nearer to the office].
I would try ANY other option in town, if I ever have to stay in Mojave again, and I suggest you do too.

Room Tip: another motel, maybe another town if not forced to stay in Mojave - cargo train traffic is constant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mojave hotels

Winston Salem, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

I liked the proprietor of this motel very much, and it had free internet too. Beyond that, it was nothing but bad news. The parking spaces were too narrow, the room was small and overcrowded with useless furniture, like the small table that one would be afraid to sit anything on because it was so unstable. The blower for the air conditioner has to be the loudest I've ever heard, ruining everything from conversation to TV. The sink faucet was so hard to turn on that my wife couldn't turn it on by herself, and it had hot and cold reversed. There was one small piece of soap, and the rest of the stuff was the liquid variety. If you don't like that, you're out of luck. The wallpaper was ripped, the light over the sink was missing its cover, and so forth. The "continental breakfast" consisted of a tray with four wrapped grocery store buns and a carafe of coffee, watched over like a hawk. The TV was dusty and the floor itself, while it didn't look particularly bad, made me want to keep my socks on. In short, this, my fourth Americas Best Value Inn on my trip, made me think that I don't want to take a chance on this brand anymore. It's rated either a 3 or a 4 by the company, and that is just a joke. It makes even Motel 6 look like luxury.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pahrump, Nevada
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

Pets allowed. Clean rooms. Not overpriced. Near a restaurant.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abvi300, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, August 31, 2011
Thank you for sharing your positive experience with other travelers. We take all responses very seriously and we are happy that you found us to be of good value, clean, and with a friendly staff. We look forward to your return visit.

Sincerely,
Victor Vora
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los angeles
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2010

I usually pass through Mojave for business issues and I used to stay in Days Inn. It was really expensive for me so I thought to try this place and l am glad I came here. This place has everything I need such as high speed wi-fi, microwave and fridge for about $45 a night. Rooms are very neat and clean and staff is very helpful. I would really recommend this place if you are coming to mojave area.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2009

This was a quiet spot with all basic amenities included (pool & hot tub too!). The room had Cable TV, WI-FI, Microwave, Fridge and clean linens and towels. The A/C worked well too. Convenient location next door to a gas station with competitve gas prices and a mini-mart, there were lots of other food choices around but probably not open late (this is a very small town).

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Americas Best Value Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn

Address: 16352 Sierra Highway, Mojave, CA 93501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Mojave
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Mojave
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americas Best Value Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.