We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel , good price!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Desert Winds

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Desert Winds to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Desert Winds
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   16200 Sierra Highway, Mojave, CA 93501   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Mojave
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Hermiston, Oregon
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
“Good hotel , good price!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Nice Best Western at a good price , good breakfast , great sleep! Had a handicapped room right in front of the pool (which at 36 degrees we didn't want to try!) Nice help , breakfast was ready when stated!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy B, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Desert Winds, responded to this review, December 25, 2012
Thank you so much for your delightful review. We strive to make every stay enjoyable and appriciate your kind words. Have a Merry Christmas and we hope to see you again in the upcoming year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    45
    24
    10
    1
See reviews for
28
47
9
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, CA
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We were driving all day from Flagstaff, AZ and arrived at the Desert Winds without having a reservation. The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful. I asked for two rooms to be adjacent or at least very close together. She got us rooms 102 and 103 which ere on the ground floor in a corner next to the pool and vending machine. First I thought "What a nightmare", but it turned out to be no problem. Like other reviewers mentioned the main street and the train tracks run close to the hotel but this was no problem at all for us. We heard nothing inside the room. After checking in we set the AC to high to cool down the room and sat at the pool for a few hours enjoying some wine. When we went to bed we set the AC to the "low cool" mode which kept the room cool overnight and wasn't too noisy. Actually all members of my party confirmed that they had the best night sleep of the past several nights. I myself slept like a log. The train or traffic weren't audible in the room and the matress was excellent!
The next morning we had breakfast in the little breakfast room across the driveway. Again, the room doesn't look like much but the breakfast buffet offered everything a warm breakfast should have. MYO waffles, toast, eggs, joices, coffee, cereals, etc. WiFi also worked in the breakfast room.
The room rates are very reasonable. The hotel was clean, the rooms were clean and the beds were very good. We enjoyed our stay and I can highly recommend this hotel for an overnight stay after a long day in the desert. I'll stay here again when travelling this route.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy B, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Desert Winds, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Thank you Achim W for your review of our hotel. It was very nice to hear from you and hope to see you again in the future. Again thank you very much for your compliments on our hotel.

Kind Regards,
Kathy Benson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnley
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Having travelled over 300 miles we were extremeley tired upon arrival at the Desert Winds. We had already pre booked a quiet room on the top floor but we got niether. The check in receptionist advised us that a film crew had booked most of the rooms so we were allocated a ground floor room.
For most of the night we were kept awake with traffic noise from the main highway and the train line which both run directly in front of the hotel.
Then at 4-15am a member of the inconsiderate film crew started up his deisel engined truck right in front of our room and left it running while unattended for 30mins. Also another member of the same film crew was slamming drawers and doors above us.
Our advise to anyone is find a different hotel in a different town

Room Tip: Choose a room on the top floor as far away from the car park and main road as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy B, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Desert Winds, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Please accept my appologies for the not so great experience you had. I do agree that at time the highway noise and trains can be loud and this is a problem for all hotels located in Mojave. I do realize that sometimes the film crews do not remember that there are others trying to sleep. We strive to provide an enjoyable experience for all of our guests, and hope to be given the opportunity again to provide the service you deserve.

Kind Regards,
Kathy Benson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsboro, Oregon
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

It's been a few years since I reviewed this motel, but with the construction I think a new review is needed. The work being done is a real pain. The main driveway is blocked so have to use the side street. We were tired and just wanted to crash, but workers in the next room kept banging until 5. We needed a ground floor ADA room and no other hotels had rooms. It was noisy only for 20 minutes, but I was already nodding at the wheel and that saws-all might as well have been in the next bed. Room was okay. Loading the car the next morning with the craftsmen everywhere wasn't fun either. I would not recommend this motel (or at least the front building) until all the work has been completed. If you need to stay here check first as there are two separate buildings.

Room Tip: Construction, so call first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy B, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Desert Winds, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Thank you for your review. I am happy to say that all construction is complete and all the newest ADA compliance needs are in place, We have more ADA rooms and have made it more accessable for wheel chairs in all areas of the hotel. I do realize that the construction process was a large pain, but the end results were worth it.

Kind Regards, and we hope to see you again.
Kathy Benson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boardman, Ohio
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

Outstanding place for a value hotel. I chose it because it had a sleeper sofa so we could sleep five. Our room was huge. Everything was very clean. The pool was enjoyable and the staff nice. If you are there when a strong desert wind is blowing (as we were), you will really enjoy it. It was something to experience.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy B, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Desert Winds, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Thank you for the great review, We strive to make your stay as enjoyable as possible and was very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

Kind Regards,
Kathy Benson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area, Ca
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

Great value! Was on a road trip and booked a 2 bed room for 4 people and it was under $90! Place was quiet, never heard any of the highway noise that other reviewers heard. Room was spacious, clean, and everything was in great working condition. The breakfast was good, hot and there was plenty of it! The staff was very nice and accommodating. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy B, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Desert Winds, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Thank you for the great review! It was great to hear that you had an enjoyable stay and hope to see you again.

Thanks again,
Kathy Benson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nevada
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

While I was leery about staying the night in Mojave, I was suprised to find an acceptable place to stay. The price was somewhat reasonable in the $90 range for a Friday night. The room was clean. The bed wasn't real comfortable, but the cleanliness and quiet made for a good night sleep anyway. The breakfast was decent. Everything was acceptable and average, and considering the location.. I say that is pretty good.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy B, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Desert Winds, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Thank you for your review, I apologize for taking so long to respond as I was having trouble understanding how to use this page, but I got it now. I an very happy that you enjoyed your stay and hope that you will come stay with us again.

Kind Regards
Kathy Benson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Desert Winds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Desert Winds

Address: 16200 Sierra Highway, Mojave, CA 93501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Mojave
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Mojave
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Desert Winds 2.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy convenient access to Mojave Spaceport, Edwards Air Force Base and Willow Springs International Speedway while staying at this Mojave, California hotel. Welcome to the BEST WESTERN Desert Winds where guests will receive the highest quality of customer service and find unbeatable amenities for an affordable price. Guests staying at this Mojave Best Western hotel will enjoy well-appointed modern guest rooms featuring flat screen LCD televisions and free wireless high-speed Internet access. Start the day off right with an expansive complimentary full breakfast served every morning. After a long day, guests are welcome to take a refreshing dip in the hotel's outdoor swimming pool or a relaxing soak in the spa. Guests traveling on business will also appreciate the variety of business services available on property at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Desert Winds including fax and photocopying services.Whether traveling to Mojave for business or for pleasure, the BEST WESTERN Desert Winds is close to where travelers want to be. Nestled at the center point of four major California highways, guests can easily enjoy area activities like spending a peaceful afternoon hiking Red Rock Canyon, whitewater rafting down the Kern River, touring the air museum at Edwards Air Force Base, exploring the Desert Poppy & Wildlife Reserve or taking in a race at nearby Willow Springs International Raceway. Also situated along the corridor of Sequoia National Forest and on the Pacific Coast Trail, guests at this Mojave hotel will be among some of California's most beautiful natural landscapes. Space enthusiasts will especially appreciate this California Best Western hotel's proximity to the Mojave Spaceport. The friendly, helpful staff at the AAA 3-Diamond BEST WESTERN Desert Winds is ready to ensure a comfortable and memorable stay in Mojave, California. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your BEST WESTERN Desert Winds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Mojave
Mojave Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Desert Winds, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.