We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Completely Sleepless Night” 3 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Modesto

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Modesto to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Modesto
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1150 Ninth St., Modesto, CA 95354   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X HHonors Points
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Modesto
GreenLeadersSilver level
Yorkshire, UK
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
240 helpful votes 240 helpful votes
“Completely Sleepless Night”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We visited Modesto as a one night stop on our 16 day tour of California and the Golden West. The Doubletree is visible for miles before you actually arrive as it appears to be the only high rise building. As we were arriving our courier said he would recommend our eating in the hotel. One or two of us said that we would prefer to go out to eat and he said that there were very few eateries in the town and to be honest, due to the area the hotel was situated in and the high volume of homeless people in the area, it would be preferable for us to remain firmly within the realms of the hotel. The hotel is on a busy road intersection, across from a multi storey car park. Unfortunately, what we weren’t aware of was that there was a very busy train line just beyond the car park.
Obviously, this wasn’t ideal but we were not unhappy with the look and feel of the hotel once we arrived into the foyer and then with our room.
We ate a tasty meal with friends in the bar, which was at quite a reasonable price to say it’s a Doubletree Hotel. We then retired early as we had an early start the next day. As soon as we got into the room I rang reception and asked what time the trains would stop running as the noise was so loud we couldn’t possibly sleep with that volume. The receptionist said “I’m sorry we don’t have details of the train timetable on reception”. I said that I understood that but in a previous hotel near an airport, reception could tell us that the planes had an 11pm curfew so we knew that things would quiet down after that time. The receptionist said “I’m sorry, we don’t have details of the train timetable on reception” so this was obviously a standard reply. When trains were approaching the crossing, from about a mile out they sound their very loud horns, and kept their hands on the horn until they were a mile beyond the crossing. The time between trains varied from 15 minutes to about 25 minutes – ALL NIGHT LONG – and although I did manage to get a modicum of sleep, my husband lay awake listening to the train horns all night. The ones that particularly upset him were the ones at 02.45, 03.00 and 03.12.
I would suggest that this hotel is not suitable for any people other than deaf ones and have made my views extremely clear to the travel company. If this is the only hotel in the town then travelers should move on to the next town. However, in the interests of balance, I have to admit the breakfast was good albeit the egg station was the slowest I have ever experienced.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the train line otherwise you could be awake all night like us
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FPSBGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Modesto, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor. It is harvest time here in Modesto and with it being a record harvest this year we are experiencing an unusual amount of trains passing by throughout the night. For our guests convenience we have placed individual ear plugs in all of the rooms in hopes to reduce the noise level.

We truly hope that you will give us a second chance to impress you in the future.

Sincerely,
Kole Siefken
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    181
    78
    33
    9
See reviews for
74
68
32
217
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Never been in Modesto before, was for a one day meeting. The hotel meet my expectations, it was centrally located and the rooms were nice. Did not try the breakfast so I can't comment on this. The rooms did have free Wi-Fi and the hotel charged for parking (8-9 Dllrs) If you need to do something within the area I recommend this hotel, just don't get startled by the trains passing at night. This is general for Modesto so no hotel within the area will be exempt from this.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FPSBGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Modesto, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to respond to our hotel on Trip Advisor. We appreciate all of your kind words and we are in hopes that you will continue to utilize our hotel in future visits to Modesto.

Sincerely,
Kole Siefken
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Encinitas, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

This hotel is excellent in every way. I used the business center and a hotel rep named Kathy helped me on and off for hours to get my lap top to print with the printer (lap top mess up). She helped me to print and then fax. She went above and beyond to help. I appreciate her time and effort. The stay was excellent and dang those cookies are just too good!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FPSBGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Modesto, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for writing a review on Trip Advisor. We appreciate all of your kind comments and we will definitely pass along all of the kudo's to Kathy!

We hope that you choose us again on future visits to Modesto.

Sincerely,
Kole Siefken
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

The Modesto DoubleTree Hotel was very good in all regards except that it does not have a coffee stand or coffee shop. The walk-in shower in the handicapped room was excellent. The convention facilities more than met the needs of our organization.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FPSBGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Modesto, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for writing a review of our hotel on Trip Advisor.

We appreciate your kind words and we are in hopes that you will choose us again on future viusits to Modesto.

Sincerely,
Kole Siefken
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Really nice hotel, rooms are very comfortable. Well located to explore Modesto and near to some excellent bars and restaurants.

Try Stands Bar which is less than 5 mins away from the hotel - great food and beer!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FPSBGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Modesto, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your kind words and sincerely hope that you choose us again on future visits to Modesto.

Sincerely,
Kole Siefken
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yuba, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

I asked for a warm cookie and they gave me one each night. They were nice and accomodating. The hotel is in a not soo good area so this would have been helpful to know, especially for going out at night. But the hotel itself was quiet, at night once the last train went by.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FPSBGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Modesto, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to write to us on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your kind comments and we will be sure to pass them along to all staff members.

For your convenience we do offer a complimentary shuttle within the Downtown area and Airport. We hope this is helpful on your next visit to our property.

Sincerely,
Kole Siefken
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fountain Hill, Arizona
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Our stay at this hotel in November 2012 was very nice. We know its been awhile but it is better late than never. It is centrally located at the heart of Modesto's downtown and is walking distance to restaurants, museum, and more.

From the time we checked in to the time we checked out, everything just went very smoothly. Kathy at the front desk was absolutely wonderful. My husband had to attend to some business so I was on my own for 2 days and Kathy made sure I was okay and help me keep my day in Modesto as interesting as possible. Mr, Siefken, the general manager was awesome, he made sure that all our request was met. And yes the cookies were a nice touch.

Our room was absolutely wonderful it has a very spacious bedroom, nice living room and a dining room. we have 2 bathrooms, tub and a nice bar and you get free bottled water. It was clean and comfortable and is situated at the 10th floor at the back end of the hotel so the train tooting its horn is muted down. I guess the train came first before the hotel so there is nothing anybody can do about it. At any rate we did have a goodnight sleep.

We also rate the hotel based on their response to emergencies. While we were there the water pipes broke so there was no water in our rooms. But management & staff made sure we get to have our showers and use bathrooms. They gave us a nice room to use for the time being until all is resolved. The situation was handled properly and appropriately. That was a plus!

The staff are very courteous, friendly, attentive and always willing to serve. they made sure we have everything we wanted in the room and that we are satisfied. The made our stay such a pleasure!

Our breakfast was very good and we enjoyed it,

Overall, we feel that this is the best Modesto has to offer.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the highest floor back end of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FPSBGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Modesto, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you very much for your review on Trip Advisor. We appreciate all of your kind comments and we hope to see you again when visiting Modesto. We will be sure to pass along all of your comments to our staff.

Sincerely,
Kole Siefken
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Modesto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Modesto

Address: 1150 Ninth St., Modesto, CA 95354
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Modesto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Modesto
#2 Business Hotel in Modesto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Modesto 3.5*
Number of rooms: 258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Doubletree by Hilton Modesto is located in the heart of downtown Modesto. Our location is in the center of dining, shopping, entertainment and culture venues such as the Gallo Center for the Arts. Our bright and spacious 100% non-smoking guest room and suites feature a breezy California style with all the comforts and conveniences of home. Location To AttractionsDoubletree by Hilton Modesto is the crossroads for many Northern California destinations like Yosemite National Park, Castle Air Museum, Fresno, Sacramento, Napa Valley and the San Francisco Bay Area along with nearby Central Valley wineries. The hotel is also centrally located to several sports complexes like Rainbow Fields, Big League of Dreams, Pedretti Park and Mistlin Sports Park which hold soccer and baseball events. Whether your visit to Modesto entails work, play or both, our full-service hotel and caring, courteous staff look forward to welcoming you with our signature warm chocolate chip cookie. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Modesto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Modesto Hotel Modesto
Doubletree Modesto
Modesto Doubletree

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Modesto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.