We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hotel and Meeting Space” 5 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Modesto

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Modesto to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Modesto
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1150 Ninth St., Modesto, CA 95354   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X HHonors Points
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Modesto
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Modesto, United States
1 review
“Wonderful Hotel and Meeting Space”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Had our son's rehearsal dinner here and hotel staff was wonderful to work with. Hotel is lovely, rooms very comfortable and pool, fitness room great. Only thing missing is a working espresso machine in the restaurant. Nearest coffee house is 17 blocks away.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FPSBGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Modesto, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for writing a review of our hotel on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your kind words about our food and service! We are currently working on getting an Expresso machine and this should be available to you during your next stay.

Sincerely,
Kole Siefken
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    206
    91
    39
    13
See reviews for
95
88
34
258
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Carlos
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Honestly, who doesn't enjoy receiving a warm cookie upon check-in?? Friendly staff, spit-spot clean, comfy bed, and temperature perfect! Right off the freeway and frankly, reason enough to try Modesto!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FPSBGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Modesto, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor. We truly appreciate your kind words about the hotel and the service that we offer. By the way, we love the warm chocolate chip cookies as well!

Sincerely,
Kole Siefken
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Attended a conference - it was easy access from the rooms to the event. Parking is great also easy access. The room were very nice rooms the service was great. I would definitely stay there again and again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FPSBGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Modesto, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your kind words about our hotel and conference facilities. We hope that you continue to stay with us again on future visits to Modesto.

Sincerely,
Kole Siefken
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S
Level Contributor
73 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

The DoubleTree not only has spacious rooms and excellent service, it also has a very nice breakfast buffet - with fresh fruit, cheeses, hard boiled eggs, on top of the usual "staples." For a bit more, you can add the hot eggs and side dish(es).

Yes, you can hear the train during your stay - so bring ear plugs if that will bother you. Personally, I don't find it a problem at all.

You can park for a fee at the hotel, or park across the street in the multi-level parking garage, and validate your ticket as you check in. There's a sky bridge between the parking garage located around the 3rd level. After crossing the sky-bridge to the hotel, there is an elevator from the parking garage level to the lobby level (outside the lobby doors) or stairs, whichever you prefer.

Green Features: The room includes a recycling bin, which is a nice touch.
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FPSBGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Modesto, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. We appreciate the kind things you have said about our hotel. We hope that you continue to visit us again on future visits to Modesto.

Sincerely,
Kole Siefken
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

The train noise was a shocker! Very loud horns 3 times during the night. Difficult to get a good night's sleep The bathroom fixtures were quite old and worked poorly. The shower head was minimally adjustable and at the best setting it felt like I was being showered with a mist sprayer. My colleague had it even worse in that her shower would do nothing more than a trickle. She could not get it to work and they only took half off of the cost for her stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FPSBGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Modesto, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. We are currently working with the City and State authorities to see if we can cut down on the train noise. You will also be happy to hear our bathrooms will undergo a complete renovation in December. I hope that you will choose us again for your future stays in Modesto.

Sincerely,
Kole Siefken
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Stayed here for a wedding. Had great meals, wonderful service, and the room was big and clean. The bedding and bed were all very nice and we slept well. The hotel was nicely decorated, however our room was old and dated. Maybe they hadn't gotten to update it yet?

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FPSBGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Modesto, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for your recent review on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your kind words about the hotel and the service that we offer our guests. I think you will be pleasantly surprised on your next visit to the hotel as we will be making some improvements soon.

Sincerely,
Kole Siefken
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

The staff were very helpful and the hotel condition overall is nice, but being located directly across from railroad tracks upon which a freight train passes by every half hour (24 hours a day) blaring its horn, I can't recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FPSBGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Modesto, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Andrew,

Thank you for your review of our hotel. I'd like to apologize for the noise issues that you encountered during your stay with us. When you come to a hotel you're expecting to get a great night's sleep and unfortunately we were not able to provide you with that. Again, I thank you for your review and we'll be sure to keep your comments in mind as we make future improvements to our hotel. I'd love to have you back to give our hotel a second chance.

Sincerely,
Kole Siefken
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Modesto
5.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Modesto-Salida
2.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Modesto
2.7 mi away
The Modesto Hotel
The Modesto Hotel
#4 of 20 in Modesto
4.0 of 5 stars 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Palm Court Inn
1.5 mi away
Days Inn Modesto
Days Inn Modesto
#7 of 20 in Modesto
4.0 of 5 stars 251 reviews
0.6 mi away
Quality Inn Modesto
Quality Inn Modesto
#12 of 20 in Modesto
3.0 of 5 stars 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Modesto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Modesto

Address: 1150 Ninth St., Modesto, CA 95354
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Modesto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Modesto
#2 Business Hotel in Modesto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Modesto 3.5*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Doubletree by Hilton Modesto is located in the heart of downtown Modesto. Our location is in the center of dining, shopping, entertainment and culture venues such as the Gallo Center for the Arts. Our bright and spacious 100% non-smoking guest room and suites feature a breezy California style with all the comforts and conveniences of home. Location To AttractionsDoubletree by Hilton Modesto is the crossroads for many Northern California destinations like Yosemite National Park, Castle Air Museum, Fresno, Sacramento, Napa Valley and the San Francisco Bay Area along with nearby Central Valley wineries. The hotel is also centrally located to several sports complexes like Rainbow Fields, Big League of Dreams, Pedretti Park and Mistlin Sports Park which hold soccer and baseball events. Whether your visit to Modesto entails work, play or both, our full-service hotel and caring, courteous staff look forward to welcoming you with our signature warm chocolate chip cookie. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Modesto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Modesto Hotel Modesto
Doubletree Modesto
Modesto Doubletree

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Modesto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.