We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Modesto

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Modesto to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Modesto
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1150 Ninth St., Modesto, CA 95354   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X HHonors Points
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Modesto
GreenLeadersSilver level
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for one night last week. The front desk upgraded me as soon as I checked in, since I am HH gold. Only complaint is no free breakfast, only free continental breakfast. You have to pay the difference if you want to buffet breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kole_Siefken, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Modesto, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Dear bluebirdchicago,

Thank you for staying with us. As a valued Gold Hilton Honors member, we appreciate you choosing our hotel for your accommodations, and are glad you enjoyed the upgrade. I apologize that breakfast was not what you had expected, but hope that you enjoyed items from the selections provided. If you're returning to the area in the future, please consider staying with us again.

Sincerely,
Kole Siefken
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    192
    83
    36
    9
See reviews for
86
76
33
238
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tahoe
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

I spend 30-60 days a year in hotels, and don't recall having stayed in a room as beat-up as I had here. The earlier reviews of 4/18/12 and 1/28/12 are correct. Furniture scarred and stained, door latch broken, both sinks cracked, bathroom fixtures so old that the chrome was worn off down to the brass. The armrests on the desk chair had covers that were torn and peeling away, showing the padding that once was hidden underneath. Windows showed fingerprints and grease.
As noted by an earlier reviewer, the local Best Western has superior rooms at about half the price, in quieter surroundings, with more convenient parking. Hilton HHonors members, like me, are better served at the two Hampton Inns a few minutes away.
This place has a nice breakfast buffet, but the BW and Hamptons have complementary breakfasts for all guests, unlike this place.
In short, this property could be a 4 star destination (and looks like one from the outside) but the current franchisee seems content to run it into the ground and squeeze the last few drops out of it while it just gets tackier and tackier and tackier.

Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kole_Siefken, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Modesto, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Dear MovnOut,

We appreciate you staying with us, and we value your business. I would like to offer my apologies for your experience. I appreciate your feedback and will share this with my team as to ensure better future stays.

Sincerely,
Kole Siefken
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

The room was clean and modern with all we needed. The hotel had a good, friendly atmosphere and was well located. Although the hotel had a great restaurant we decided to eat out and found a fantastic restaurant within easy walking distance. Would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting or travelling through Modesto.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Modesto, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Dear brownies_12,

Thank you for the stellar review! I'm thrilled to hear that you found our accommodations to be everything that you needed. If you return to the area, we would love to have you join us for a meal in our restaurant, Maxi's.

Sincerely,
Kole Siefken
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cypress, California
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

Stayed at the Doubletree Hotel Modesto on June 19th for one night on a business trip. It was a very nice and pleasant hotel to stay in. Hotel is located in the downtown Modesto area and easy walking distance to the local restaurants.

By the way, if you like ribs, you are in luck since the restaurant does have an all you can eat BBQ rib night.

I would recommend this hotel to those who are on business or leisure travel as they will not be disappointed wit either the service, amenities or the room.

The only negative and it is a very very minor one and has nothing to do with the hotel is that the list of local restaurants that the front desk will give you is not up to date as a few of the restaurants that I walked to were no longer in business.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Modesto, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Dear dbanksiii64,

Thanks for staying with us while you were in Modesto. It's great to hear that you enjoyed yourself. I appreciate your suggestion for an improved restaurant list. We will take this into consideration for future stays. We hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,
Kole Siefken
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

The rooms are wonderful, great food,wonderful room service.Overall great place to stay in the whole of Modesto city.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Modesto, responded to this review, July 2, 2012
Dear lillikins69,

Thanks for staying with us, and for the great feedback! I am pleased to see that you enjoyed your time here. Please keep us in mind for future trips to Modesto.

Sincerely,
Kole Siefken
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

Recently stayed for two weeks at this property. First week I was on the street side and I did hear the trains throughout the night. Second week I requested a room on the other side of the hotel. I did hear the trains somewhat but not as much as the previous week. If it were not for the trains going all night this would be an excellent property. The parking is easy, and is validated by the hotel. During the day we were in meetings all day and the service was excellentand the food was very good from the restaurant.
If I ever had another reason to come to Modesto again, I will stay at this property.

Room Tip: Rooms facing away from Ninth street were quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Modesto, responded to this review, June 26, 2012
Dear marriottfan,

Thank you for staying with us. It's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you will think of us for future accommodations. We are looking forward to seeing you return.

Sincerely,
Kole Siefken
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012 via mobile

I loved this hotel. The staff could not been better. Checking in and out was a breeze. I choose valet parking because of medical reasons and it was great. They were fast to get my car, ask if they
Could help with directions. I had dinner there. Food was good as well as the service. My room was very nice. Quiet at night. I will stay again. A last comment. The water was expensive. How about complimentary. Above that I gave it five stars.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peerak, Director of Rooms Operation at DoubleTree by Hilton Modesto, responded to this review, June 15, 2012
Thanks for staying with us. We appreciate your nice comments. We do our best to make our guest feel at home away from home. We look forward to your future stays with DoubleTree by Hilton Modesto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Modesto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Modesto

Address: 1150 Ninth St., Modesto, CA 95354
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Modesto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Modesto
#2 Business Hotel in Modesto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Modesto 3.5*
Number of rooms: 258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Doubletree by Hilton Modesto is located in the heart of downtown Modesto. Our location is in the center of dining, shopping, entertainment and culture venues such as the Gallo Center for the Arts. Our bright and spacious 100% non-smoking guest room and suites feature a breezy California style with all the comforts and conveniences of home. Location To AttractionsDoubletree by Hilton Modesto is the crossroads for many Northern California destinations like Yosemite National Park, Castle Air Museum, Fresno, Sacramento, Napa Valley and the San Francisco Bay Area along with nearby Central Valley wineries. The hotel is also centrally located to several sports complexes like Rainbow Fields, Big League of Dreams, Pedretti Park and Mistlin Sports Park which hold soccer and baseball events. Whether your visit to Modesto entails work, play or both, our full-service hotel and caring, courteous staff look forward to welcoming you with our signature warm chocolate chip cookie. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Modesto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Modesto Hotel Modesto
Doubletree Modesto
Modesto Doubletree

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Modesto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.