We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Town House Lodge

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Town House Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Town House Lodge
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   909 16th Street, Modesto, CA 95354   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #5 of 20 hotels in Modesto
Mariposa, CA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Spent a night before a morning doctor appointment. Room was clean and comfortable. Sleeping area of room is square, which makes it seem larger than a long, narrow rectangle. Alcove in rear with desk, refrigerator, coffee maker, closet space, and bathroom to one side. Bathroom is snug but nicely fit out.

We stayed on 2nd floor, having read reviews saying ground floor rooms could hear footsteps of guests above. We were in 201, at end of motel next to I street. We could hear all the traffic, but fortunately this is Modesto, and by midnight there was none until 6:30 next morning, so we slept very well.

We returned to room after dinner, wife wanted some milk to go with the brownie she had brought. Figured since they serve breakfast, there must be milk on premises, but desk clerk said he didn't have access to breakfast room, directed us to SaveMore 2 blocks away. Alas, it had closed. I came back and grumbled to the clerk that milk was the kind of amenity it would be nice if the could provide. He apologized that there was nothing he could do, but he'd mention it to the manager. 5 minutes later, however, he showed up at our door with 2 cups of milk. Nice service!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWMODESTO, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Town House Lodge, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Thank you so much for your awesome feedback! Here at the Townhouse Lodge, we strive to provide our guests with exceptional customer care. I am truly glad that your needs were met. Again, thank you for your response, and we hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    22
    36
    20
    7
    1
See reviews for
20
26
9
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

I stayed at the Best Western in Modesto for two nights while attending a business conference.

Pros: Check in was very easy and the desk clerk was extremely polite. Got an excellent rate.
Room on the second floor was very clean and pretty spacious. Convenient location downtown. Continental breakfast each morning has nice selection of both hot and cold food and the attendant is really awesome. Completely non-smoking hotel. Free and easy internet access.

Cons: Little bit noisy as people walk by outside and the air conditioner unit sounded like it was going to blow up. Shower would not drain fast enough. Maid didn't take out my garbage bag from dinner the first night and only left one towel.

Overall, a generally decent stay.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the street are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWMODESTO, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Town House Lodge, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Thank you so much for your response! We've taken your comments in to consideration and have shared them with the rest of the staff.

We truly appreciate your feedback & hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa,CA, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We were not totally satisfied. The outside noise from a Bar/Nightclub close by interfered with our ability to sleep all night. The air- conditioning appliance is extremely noisy in room #211. This is the second time we have experienced the noise issue at this hotel. We hesitate to stay here again. We do like staying with Best Western when we travel and generally have been quite satisfied.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWMODESTO, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Town House Lodge, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you so much for your response! I do apologize for the noise coming from the surrounding businesses. Perhaps we can assign you a room that is further away from the nightclub the next time you travel to Modesto? I can assure you that we can set that up without a problem. Again, thank you for your comments, and for being a loyal guest to our brand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redding, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We recently visited for a family wedding at the Mansion behind the hotel. It was very convienent to be within walking distance to the wedding. The beds were confortable enough although a little small if you are a family of 4. Room was a little dark and dingy and the a/c didn't cool down the room enough. The check in staff was awesome!! Very helpful! Breakfast was good with sausage, waffles, cereal, toast and muffin type stuff, yogurt...no fresh fruit and eggs were a little watery. Over all I would stay again if my group was staying there too I would just ask for a room that didn't smell like mildew.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWMODESTO, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Town House Lodge, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Hello Cheryl,

The Best Western Townhouse Lodge would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations! We take your feedback very seriously, and we hope that we can make it up to you next time you are in Modesto.

I have shown your comments/concerns to the entire staff, in order to motivate them to do a better job. Again, THANK YOU for staying with us, and for sending us such an honest critique!

-Carolina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stayed here while on business in Modesto. The room was clean, comfortable for 2 people with refrigerator and microwave. Internet access was easy with adequate speed. The staff were friendly and helpful. The motel is located in a central area of Modesto ( many county government buildings) with a variety of restaurants within walking distance. Area feels comfortable for evening walking. Breakfast is provided on-site with several options including scrambled eggs( quite good) sausage, cereal, waffles, pastry, fruits and yogurt and, of course, coffee.
Air conditioning is a bit louder than preferable, but it really didn't impact sleeping. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 2nd floor but had just laptops and carry-on bags. There seems to be no elevator so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWMODESTO, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Town House Lodge, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you for staying with us! I'm glad we were able to accommodate you during your stay in Modesto, CA. We all take pride in our work and take the feedback we receive very seriously. I have shown your positive comments to the staff. Nothing is more rewarding and motivating than hearing positive things being said about our property. Again, thank you!

We hope you stay with us again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

The bath room is very small and poorly laid out. Mold in the grout, carpet needs to be cleaned something sticky in it that I accidentally stepped in in the middle of the night. The bathroom floor and the carpet area are not flush and I tripped on the edge of the bathroom tile several times. Cover of the smoke alarm fell on me during the night, scared me because I did not kn ow what it was until I was able to turn on a light.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWMODESTO, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Town House Lodge, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you so much for your feedback!

On behalf of the entire staff, we'd like to apologize for the issues
you encountered while staying with us. I have investigated further in
to what room you stayed in, and will be performing inspections daily
to ensure that these issues are taken care of.

I hope that you decide to stay with us on your next trip to Modesto, CA. We'd love to show you our improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

I have stayed here many times over the past three years for business and visiting relatives. I have to say the staff is the most efficient and friendly of any places I've stayed in many states and a few countries. The rooms are comfortable and well appointed but some show a little wear. Still, the value, location and excellent staff services make it a great choice.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWMODESTO, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Town House Lodge, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Hi Mr. Robinson!

Thank you SO much for the comments! It is always a pleasure having you stop by and we can't wait to see you again.

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Town House Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Town House Lodge

Address: 909 16th Street, Modesto, CA 95354
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Modesto
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Modesto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Town House Lodge 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, Tingo, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN Town House Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Town House Hotel Modesto
Best Western Modesto
Modesto Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Town House Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.