We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“classy, but over rated” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bacchus Food & Spirits - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Bacchus Food & Spirits
1200 I St, Modesto, CA 95354-0938
209-576-8994
Menu
Improve this listing
Restaurant details
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“classy, but over rated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

It's a restaurant that could use a more personal touch. It seems as if they are attempting to be trendy and chic, but misses the mark. They price their dishes as if they are more special than they really are, but you can get more creative dishes with more layering of flavors at Surla's or Dewz. However, Bacchus is a good place to meet friends for drinks and appetizers.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    4
    2
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Had a Good concept, but missing the beat now”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Bacchus used to be one of our favorite restuarants. Then it closed for a remodel and reopened two months later. It sure did miss in the changes made. Prices were increased, the little special touches were cut (no grilled cheese with the soup), and most importantly, inexperienced wait staff was hired. Service real went down. For now it is off our list, maybe we will try again in a few months to see if management makes improvements.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turlock, ca
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
215 helpful votes 215 helpful votes
“Bad music worse services”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

Stopped in to listen to some music after the Gallo Center concert. Nice enough place but impossible to get waited on and their entertainment was pretty bad. Will not go back again to beg them to take my money

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Upscale and friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

Been awhile since I have eaten there but was really good for lunch.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
modesto
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Do NOT go here! AWFUL, AWFUL, AWFUL! how is this place even open?”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2010

I went to Bacchus with a group of friends on a Thursday evening. The service was horrible! It took 20 minutes just to get a glass of wine. The servers were rude, the food wasn't even very good. The ambiance was okay, but not good enough to bring me back. It definately didnt make up for the bad service. Myself, previously working in the food industry, when asked by the manager, Trinity, how all was, I gave some honest feedback. Clearly she was not pleased. Either that, or she was upset about her personal appearance. Poor lady! Cant get too down on her, I guess she tries to look better. No luck! She and her diner should do the world a favor and close already!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bacchus Food & Spirits also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bacchus Food & Spirits, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.