We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ayres Hotel & Spa Mission Viejo

Save Saved
You added Ayres Hotel & Spa Mission Viejo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ayres Hotel & Spa Mission Viejo
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   28951 Los Alisos Boulevard, Mission Viejo, CA 92692   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
2 Nights - 20% Off!
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Mission Viejo
GreenLeadersGold level
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Exceptional hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Stay with Ayres Suites Mission Viejo for a week. Absolutely great hotel. Clean room, friendly staff, pool and hot tub, exceptional view (on the top floor) facing the highway.

My wife and I spent an entire week at this hotel. When we first checked-in, there were no room with king size bed left, so we had one of the rooms on the ground floor with the outdoor sitting area. This wasn't so much interest for us. This room at the far end had a very weak wireless signal. Made a compliant to the manager. Manager promised to switch our room to the third floor with a king size bed the next day. We switched to room 318 the next day. What a beautiful view! Absolutely breathing taking sunset and partial view of the lake as well. We stayed in this room for the rest of our stay.

Hot breakfast was decent, but the choice was bit limited. Last time we stayed in a holiday-inn in Foothill Ranch which also provided cook to order hot breakfast.

I had the swimming pool and the hot tub to myself a couple of times during the week

There's a close-by camping area near the lake with magnificent view.

The nearby highway wasn't a noise source at all, partially because it doesn't have much traffic (I think it's a toll road).

plenty of shopping, dinning and entertainment near-by.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 318. I think the view of the sunset and the lake is magnificent. Room at the en...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AyresHotels, General Manager at Ayres Hotel & Spa Mission Viejo, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear zhangyi17,

Thank you so much for your kind words in complimenting our signature European-style rooms. It was our pleasure to give you that experience as well as provide clean and comfortable accommodations. Thank you very much for your generous recommendation and we look forward to your next visit!

Warm Regards,

Didi Shields
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    135
    55
    17
    7
    4
See reviews for
67
48
10
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
las vegas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My first stay here, very pleasant, newer hotel. Big rooms with two televisions, sitting area, microwave & refrigerator. Free WiFi and breakfast with cooked to order eggs. Small on property restaurant & bar with wonder home made menu items. Pool & Jacuzzi overlooking the valley.

Staff very warm and helpful. This is a hotel I will stay at again.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AyresHotels, General Manager at Ayres Hotel & Spa Mission Viejo, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear teriannlv,

Thank you kindly for your TripAdvisor review! We truly appreciate your generous words about our world class amenities and full hot American breakfast and are delighted that we were able to be your home away from home. Thank you for your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Warm Regards,

Didi Shields
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anderson, Indiana
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Traveled to Orange County for Granddaughter's HS Graduation. The hotel was the closest to our kids home in Rancho Santa Margerita where they had a full house. Great value on a Hotwire gamble. Excellent and friendly staff, wonderfully clean rooms, a great layout in almost a mini-suite configuration with Love Seat, chair, work desk w/chair, refrigerator, microwave and single cup coffee maker. Room darkening shades and a thermostat controlled in wall A/C & Heat Unit.
A morning hot breakfast is provided with a pretty good selection. Coffee is great and you can get eggs to order as I saw some doing. Breakfast ends a little earlier than most (9:00a) and I missed it a couple of days. The breakfast area serves as a small restaurant/bar during the evening hours.
Because of other reviews, I asked for and got a room on the 3rd floor, so I'm suggesting that 2nd and 1st floor rooms may have had noise that ours didn't. We were also accessed by the courtyard side which is a very pleasant sitting area with a fountain, small trees and plants among a few round tables and outdoor seating configurations. A good place to sit and relax away from the activity and noise.
We stayed 6 nights in Room 377 which was far enough away from the elevator to not give us any disturbance from frequent "dinging". (I would not recommend room 372 which sits directly across from the elevator). The only hitch, involved an abusive fight in the room next door our first night there - at 3:00am - which got physical enough for us to call the desk. It quickly ended when the hotel took quick action to end it, for which I commend them. This is a very well run hotel and I would highly recommend

Room Tip: Rooms on West side and on third floor would keep you away from highway and floor noise.
See more room tips
Green Features: Seemed to have good environmental policies in effect, with Key Card controlled electrical inside entry door (Has to be in place to get power), towel and sheet reuse programs were available.
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I spoke to Ayres manager Craig, who bent over backwards to get us into the hotel for the nights we needed, as we intended to stay on property with others in our wedding party. After multiple calls from Craig over the course of many weeks, he was able to accommodate us. I was impressed that it was always him calling me; I never had to reach out to him for status. Great property, very comfortable, convenient to freeway access, clean, and pleasant staff. I would definitely stay here again next time I'm in the area...I appreciate the high level of customer service I was provided.

Room Tip: Beautiful courtyard :o)
See more room tips
Green Features: Very neat energy efficient program using the room keys to reduce un-necessary energy use. It was nice to see an "energy efficient" hotel! Couldn't find a recycle bin for my paper & plastic bottles?
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HENDERSON NEVADA
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel manager checked us in. He seemed more business like than friendly. I felt rushed even though he was not busy. The room was nice. The sitting area had a small couch,chair,desk &chair and tv. The window in this area opened to the public hallway( kind of strange) Also a counter with a fridge,microwave and coffee maker. The bedroom had a closet and chest and tv. I had a great view of the parking lot. The room was very clean. The included buffet breakfast was satisfactory. Free parking and wifi is included. The property is located about a 15-20 minute drive to the closest point of interest. Nice place.

Room Tip: 3rd fl. is best.Room away from elevator and ice machine. Ask for nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramona, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Hotel lobby smelled like smoke. Linens for pull out bed were not in room or offered upon check-in despite having two kids with me at the time. Thermostat for A/C did not function properly. Food at complimentary breakfast was ok. Strawberries for waffles were in a gel-like state. Should have been fresh cut strawberries. Breakfast space is very congested with all hot items in one corner of room....quite claustrophobic. Pool in another building on property. Room was very clean, had modern furnishings and everything was in good condition.

Green Features: Electricity in the room only works if you have a key in the holder adjacent to the room entry door. I like that they are trying to conserve energy.
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AyresHotels, General Manager at Ayres Hotel & Spa Mission Viejo, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Queenofc,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your experience at our hotel. Your feedback is vitally important to us as we always want to meet all of our guest’s expectations.

In regards to your recent stay, I am truly disappointed to hear about the issues you experienced at our hotel. We take pride in delivering excellent service to our guests and I sincerely apologize that this was not the case during your stay. Please know this is not typical of our usual service and that I have addressed these issues with the necessary departments to prevent them from reoccurring in the future.

Nevertheless, we truly appreciate your understanding and apologize again for these inconveniences you experienced.. I certainly empathize regarding the points you mentioned in your review and I only hope that you will reconsider and stay with us again. Thank you again for your candid review.

Sincerely,

Didi Shields
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Mesa, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

stayed here for a wedding rooms were good staff were amazing great breakfast all the family was close together on the same floor would stay again first time staying at Ayers hotel group will be using them again

Room Tip: we had a total of 10 rooms all were great all good
See more room tips
Green Features: very good room keys are used for power saving on waste
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AyresHotels, General Manager at Ayres Hotel & Spa Mission Viejo, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Dear Lucky932,

Thank you so much for your generous compliments and we're so thrilled that you chose our hotel for your recent stay!

We're so happy to hear that you enjoyed our friendly service as well as our freshly made American breakfast buffet. We appreciate your kind compliments and are delighted to hear that you and your family were able to enjoy each other’s company at our hotel.

Once again, thank you so much for your generous recommendation and we hope to see you again in the future!

Sincerely,

Didi Shields
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ayres Hotel & Spa Mission Viejo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ayres Hotel & Spa Mission Viejo

Address: 28951 Los Alisos Boulevard, Mission Viejo, CA 92692
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Mission Viejo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Mission Viejo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ayres Hotel & Spa Mission Viejo 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ayres Hotel & Spa Mission Viejo combines the comforts and conveniences of home with the warm hospitality you’ve come to expect from the Ayres name.You’ll find all of the luxurious guest rooms at our Mission Viejo hotel are impeccably appointed with a full suite of complimentary amenities including our signature, triple sheeted Ayres Dream Sleeper beds, flat screen TVs, refrigerators, coffeemakers, well lit work desks and Wifi, iHomes, hairdryers, curved shower rods, and hookless shower curtains. And every morning you will start your day right with our complimentary full American breakfast. Ayres Hotel and Spa Mission Viejo welcomes travelers with all the modern amenities you have come to expect from the Ayres name and all of the exciting business, recreational, and entertainment attractions South Orange County has to offer. Take in the exquisite views of Saddleback Mountain by hiking or mountain biking on one of the mountain's many scenic hiking trails. Relax with various spa treatments, like an Aromatherapy Massage or Chocolate Body Wrap, available at the Athena Day Spa located inside the hotel. Or indulge at the Modjeska Bar and Grill also located within the hotel. The on-site restaurant offers various types of cuisine including burgers, pasta, and ribs. Nearby, the Irvine Spectrum offers various entertainment possibilities encompassing shopping, dining, an IMAX theater and cinema, and the Improve comedy club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Milestone Internet Marketing, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Ayres Hotel & Spa Mission Viejo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ayres Hotel And Spa Mission Viejo
Ayres Hotel Mission Viejo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ayres Hotel & Spa Mission Viejo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.