We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“quiet, decent breakfast, good spa” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ayres Hotel & Spa Mission Viejo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Ayres Hotel & Spa Mission Viejo to your Saves list
Ayres Hotel & Spa Mission Viejo
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   28951 Los Alisos Boulevard, Mission Viejo, CA 92692   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
2 Nights - 20% Off!
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Mission Viejo
GreenLeadersGold level
los angeles
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“quiet, decent breakfast, good spa”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

We had a room on the top floor (3) near the elevator on a Sunday night, but it was very quiet and very close to the car. The hotel is two years old and the beds were comfortable but not firm enough for me. Breakfast if complimentary and hot with many things except fresh fruit. The reception and spa personnel were professional but not warm enough for greeting people. They warm up after a long while. The spa technicians do a good job, and all the treatments are great. There is an almost "mandatory" 20% tip on the "before promotion" spa services that ends up very expensive and feels unfair. You can tell it is really not welcome to tip lower than that. The spa is only on appointment with cancelation fee if under 3 days.

I would avoid Piccolino restaurant heavily advertised by the hotel, because of their overstated pricey and too spicy food but there are not a lot of options next door other than hamburgers, Subway, and mall type food. There are other restaurant options 15 minutes away such as a French creperie and other places. We did not get a chance to try them. If you want to spend over $30 a meal at Piccolino, it is better to drive 25 minutes away to the Ritz Carlton in Dana Point and have a romantic, fantastic food with incredible ocean view at 180Blu restaurant, and it will end up less expensive. The restaurant within the hotel Ayres was closed on Sunday, but it belongs to the same chef as the Piccolino's, so I don't know if it is as pricey and as spicy, or more!

Room Tip: top floor if you want more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AyresHotels, General Manager at Ayres Hotel & Spa Mission Viejo, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Pourpre,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review on TripAdvisor to let others know about your stay at our hotel. We are pleased to see that you found the hotel to be quiet, have a decent complimentary full American breakfast buffet, and a good spa. The 20% is a suggested gratuity rate and is not intended to feel unfair, it is there for clarification. We sincerely apologize if you felt differently. We cannot wait to welcome you another time soon on a day the on-site restaurant will be open for your enjoyment. Thank you again.

Sincerely,

Didi Shields
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    70
    19
    10
    5
See reviews for
81
60
13
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clovis, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

We read great reviews about all the Ayers hotels, and especially the one in Mission Viejo...so, when we took a family trip south to several amusement parks in So.Cal, we decided to drive a little farther away to stay in a more relaxed environment than Anaheim had to offer. Rachel Russo, our front desk attendant, arranged for our party to have two adjacent rooms with a connecting door. Well, the hotel was very clean...staff was pleasant...breakfast was great...rooms were nice...and it was QUIET. We will definitely stay at the Ayers again !! And we will ask for Rachel again...she was very nice and helpful in making sure we had a great stay.

Room Tip: Take your own pillows...these pillows were too soft...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

Our company had our Christmas party at a local country club, the Ayers hotel was the closet place to our event. This could not have been a better choice. The staff was more than attenitive.
Tasha ( Front Desk ) asked if we would like a shuttle to our party since we had multiple people
at the hotel. I said yes and she made all the arrangements and contacted each of us individuallly
with the arrangements. Other staff members of note were Nick ( Front Desk ) and Paoul
( Bartender) All of them exhibited the highest quality of service. The rooms well appointed and extremely clean. Breakfast was great with a wide variety of choices and everything made fresh.
The value we recieved here far exceeded the price. This is a " Three thumbs up!! "
D Byers

Room Tip: There is no bad room at this property. All are extremely quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AyresHotels, General Manager at Ayres Hotel & Spa Mission Viejo, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
Dear Travelinman035,

We were so very honored to host you and your co-workers recently. Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review on TripAdvisor to let others know about your experience at our hotel. We sincerely appreciate the feedback and are so delighted to see that you felt our service was of the highest quality. Thank you for the compliments on the accommodations and complimentary full American breakfast buffet, we are so pleased to see you enjoyed both. We hope to see you another time in the near future and thank you again.

Sincerely,
Didi Shields
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Mesa, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

I read the reviews of this hotel and decided to give it a try. It was not the nearest hotel to my business meetings but seemed like a nice place to lay my head. To start I will say the general staff was pleasant. The room was less than OK at best - loud humming from in room fridge, a musty smell from AC unit, noise from hallways, noise from next door showers and a very close freeway all have made me give my first bad review on trip advisor after extensive travel. My sleep was interrupted by all the above and the rap on the door from housekeeping at 7:30 am, guess they really wanted to clean my room. My next venture took me to the breakfast hall - loud and crowded as I would expect from a free breakfast. The potatoes were rubber and the sausage gave me halitosis and heart burn for the rest of the day! With the money I shelled out for the room I felt that my voice of discontent should be heard. Upon check out I asked the desk staff to speak to the general manager. She proceeded to hide at her desk behind a wall 12 feet away. Finally she emerged 20 minutes later only to be on the defensive - no care at all about my stay or my satisfaction. I would expect this lack of professionalism from a third rate department store manger not a hotel that caters to business travelers. This was my first and last stay at this hotel, not worth the money!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AyresHotels, Director of Revenue & Marketing at Ayres Hotel & Spa Mission Viejo, responded to this review, December 22, 2013
Dear Early H,

Please accept my heartfelt apologies that your stay was anything less than exceptional. It is disappointing to see that your sleep was disrupted by many factors, especially in the case of the housekeeping team, and for that I apologize profusely. I will be sure to follow up with the General Manager to prevent any further issues such as this. In terms of the complimentary breakfast buffet, we regret to see that it left you unsatisfied and upset. We will be sure to keep your comments in mind when making improvements to the hotel, and thank you for your feedback. We hope you will stay with us another time in the near future so that we may redeem ourselves in your eyes. Thank you again.

Sincerely,
Matt Hildebrant
Director of Revenue & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

I've stayed at the Ayres hotel & Spa in Mission Viejo for at least 20 days this year for my job. What a beautiful place. After all the hussell and bussell that SoCal offers, coming to a very quiet and hidden away hotel like this one in Mission Viejo is just the remedy to de-stress. The restaurant is excellent, a bit pricey but the food and service is wonderful. My room is always perfectly clean, the hotel looks new so the bathrooms and rooms all have the latest decor. I enjoy using the workout facility also. The front staff has never been rude but are just the opposite. They are kind.and often go out of their way to make sure everything is just right for my stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montoursville, PA
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

Spent 9 nights at this lovely place. The rooms are amazing...spacious and nicely appointed. Beds and pillows very comfortable.

Breakfast is awesome and the staff that works breakfast are the best...friendly and attentive.

Front desk staff amazing. Housekeeping, spot on.

Will be back in June!!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

We were directed to the Ayres Hotel and Spa by friends who were getting married nearby.

The Ayres Hotel and Spa is accompanied on the site by the Ayres Suites. I walked through that property and found the common areas no different from our hotel. I'd assume the sole difference is that the rooms are suites.

We found the Hotel to be pretty much average. Our room contained a king-sized bed and a very small sitting area with its own TV. The bathroom was standard, a shower head in a tub with shower curtain. The room did provide both a small refrigerator and a microwave. As with many hotel rooms, a desk provided a surface and connection for a single computer, but not two. The Internet service was free.

However, the room is relatively small. No one could use both TVs in the room, as they're within feet of each other. They only provide the convenience of where you sit or lay.

The provided free continental breakfast did go a bit beyond the norm, providing three hot items of scrambled eggs, breakfast sausage, and potatoes O'Brien, The other items were standard.

While another review said the hotel was "located on a toll road" -- this is not true, It's near a toll road, but you need not use it. In fact, I would recommend not. Traveling ONE exit on the road cost us $3.50 ==> a $1.00 charge to enter and a $2.50 charge to exit in 3/4 of a mile. I would recommend avoiding this toll road, actually all toll roads!

While one need not use the toll road, getting around this part of Mission Viejo in the foothills is very cumbersome. With canyons and hills and gated communities, you can find yourself driving three miles to get six blocks away.

Room Tip: Some rooms, like ours, front into an interior hallway that is directly connected to the central atri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AyresHotels, General Manager at Ayres Hotel & Spa Mission Viejo, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear CostaRicaBirder,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a straight forward review on TripAdvisor to let others know your opinion of our hotel and your recent experience here. While we are pleased to see you appreciated the extra room amenities, such as the mini refrigerator and microwave, we are disappointed to see that you did not find your accommodations to be more than average. We offer complimentary WiFi internet, so do not find it necessary to provide two wired connections at the writing desk. We apologize if this was an inconvenience for you. Please accept our deepest apologies if you did not have a more than exceptional stay. We hope you will consider staying with us another time in the future and thank you again.

Sincerely,
Didi Shields
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ayres Hotel & Spa Mission Viejo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ayres Hotel & Spa Mission Viejo

Address: 28951 Los Alisos Boulevard, Mission Viejo, CA 92692
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Mission Viejo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Mission Viejo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ayres Hotel & Spa Mission Viejo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ayres Hotel & Spa Mission Viejo combines the comforts and conveniences of home with the warm hospitality you’ve come to expect from the Ayres name.You’ll find all of the luxurious guest rooms at our Mission Viejo hotel are impeccably appointed with a full suite of complimentary amenities including our signature, triple sheeted Ayres Dream Sleeper beds, flat screen TVs, refrigerators, coffeemakers, well lit work desks and Wifi, iHomes, hairdryers, curved shower rods, and hookless shower curtains. And every morning you will start your day right with our complimentary full American breakfast. Ayres Hotel and Spa Mission Viejo welcomes travelers with all the modern amenities you have come to expect from the Ayres name and all of the exciting business, recreational, and entertainment attractions South Orange County has to offer. Take in the exquisite views of Saddleback Mountain by hiking or mountain biking on one of the mountain's many scenic hiking trails. Relax with various spa treatments, like an Aromatherapy Massage or Chocolate Body Wrap, available at the Athena Day Spa located inside the hotel. Or indulge at the Modjeska Bar and Grill also located within the hotel. The on-site restaurant offers various types of cuisine including burgers, pasta, and ribs. Nearby, the Irvine Spectrum offers various entertainment possibilities encompassing shopping, dining, an IMAX theater and cinema, and the Improve comedy club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Ayres Hotel & Spa Mission Viejo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ayres Hotel And Spa Mission Viejo
Ayres Hotel Mission Viejo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ayres Hotel & Spa Mission Viejo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.