We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Review of Ayres Hotel & Spa Mission Viejo” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ayres Hotel & Spa Mission Viejo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Ayres Hotel & Spa Mission Viejo to your Saves list
Ayres Hotel & Spa Mission Viejo
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   28951 Los Alisos Boulevard, Mission Viejo, CA 92692   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Stay 2 Nights - Save 20%!
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Mission Viejo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Whiteley, United Kingdom
1 review
“Review of Ayres Hotel & Spa Mission Viejo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

We have stayed a number of times at both the original hotel 'part' and the more recent Spa hotel. They are both excellent and of very high standard. The Ayres Hotel has a more traditional feel, whereas the Spa is perhaps more spacious and has more health/relaxation-related facilities. The latter has a triangular format with a centre forming a very relaxing inner courtyard with easy chairs etc and is particularly nice for sitting outside whilst having breakfast. Speaking of which, the breakfasts cover a full range from cereals, fruit, toast and cooked options etc. The staff in both hotels are extremely pleasant and helpful, nothing is a problem for them. The rooms/suites are spacious and spotlessly clean. The hotel is located next door to a Vons, which is particularly convenient. I've probably forgotten a lot of other pluses, but the the bottom line is that I really can't fault these hotels. My wife can't either and she has OCD.

Room Tip: View over quiet 241 toll road or Saddleback valley - both ok.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AyresHotels, General Manager at Ayres Hotel & Spa Mission Viejo, responded to this review, March 30, 2012
Dear James -

Thank you very much for your positive feedback and for choosing our hotel for your stay on more than one occasion. It is wonderful to hear that you find everything from the accommodations to the complimentary full American breakfast to the location consistently satisfying. I also appreciate you acknowledging our sister hotel, Ayres Suites Mission Viejo, as the entire Ayres Hotels of Southern California chain works hard to provide the best possible hotel experience for our guests. I hope we will have the chance to welcome you again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Didi Shields
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    77
    23
    14
    7
See reviews for
93
67
15
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Payson, Utah
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

This is an amazing hotel. The staff really goes above & beyond. The property is clean and safe.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AyresHotels, General Manager at Ayres Hotel & Spa Mission Viejo, responded to this review, March 23, 2012
Dear RWJ100 -

It was a pleasure welcoming you as a guest of our hotel. Thank you for choosing Ayres Hotel & Spa Mission Viejo and for your very enthusiastic review. What a treat to hear that the service and cleanliness of the hotel made for such an enjoyable stay. I am lucky enough to work with a fabulous team so will be sure to share your comments with them as well. We look forward to your return.

Sincerely,

Didi Shields
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Top Contributor
680 reviews 680 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 186 cities Reviews in 186 cities
743 helpful votes 743 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

When in the area for business, I always stay at the Ayres in Laguna Woods. This one week, they were totallly booked and offered a reservation at the nearby Mission Viejo. I was very pleased with my accomodations at the Mission Viejo Ayres.

On Los Alisos Boulevard, I found the hotel next to the 241 Foothill Toll Road which was very convenient to drive to my office near the Spectrum in Irvine.

I was greeted by Kenneth, who was very friendly and offered advice for local dining and getting around the immediate area.

The building for the Hotel is in a triangle shape with a open courtyard within.

My room was spacious with a couch facing a wall mounted TV along with a large desk. There was a microwave and small fridge (with separate freezer) under a granite topped cabinet. The king size bed had another wall mounted TV opposite of it. My only complaint about the room would be that the bureau had limited space for storing clothes for a long visit.

My room had a window that looked over the inside courtyard which had a natural gas fire pit, water fountain, and plenty of chairs and tables. There was no pool, though.

They have a bar and restaurant just inside the entrance that is open till 10:00 pm. In the morning, they had a free breakfast buffet set up inside the same room. The buffet had both hot and cold offerings. I was disappointed that I could not order an omelet like at other Ayres I have visited. They did have scrambled eggs, sausage, bacon, and potatoes along with cereals, oatmeal, fruit, yogurt, toast, and a waffle making machine.

In the same building was a spa with massage and facial treatments available from 10:00 am to 05:00 pm.

Just a block away was a shopping strip mall with a Vons grocery store and a few dining options including a Shabu Japanese restaurant (excellent), another Sushi/Sashimi place (very good), an Italian restaurant, and a Subway.

The Mission Viejo Ayres is a very comfortable hotel with a terrific staff.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces the highway as they will be a little quieter. If you are facing the court...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AyresHotels, General Manager at Ayres Hotel & Spa Mission Viejo, responded to this review, March 20, 2012
Dear Ct-cruisers -

Thank you for your very kind and thorough review of our hotel. I am so pleased to know that we were able to live up to the very high standards of our sister property and that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay. Our front desk team takes great pride in providing the best possible service for our guests, so I will be sure to share your comments with them, Kenneth in particular, so they know their efforts are appreciated. I also appreciate your helpful comment regarding the drawer space and will bring this comment to the attention of our quality and design teams at the corporate office for use in future renovations. Thanks you again, and we hope to welcome you in the near future.

Warm regards,

Didi Shields
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

Nice place to stay. Good location. Front Desk (Dustin) was very helpful. Spa staff very friendly - clean place overall. Only points I would knock would be for the pool. Located next door at other hotel. Kitchen staff didn't clean plates off tables in the morning when tables were scarce. Rooms were very clean. Wifi worked great. Fridge and microwave in room. Would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: I think there was only one elevator so if you don't want to walk around in circles to get to you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AyresHotels, General Manager at Ayres Hotel & Spa Mission Viejo, responded to this review, March 16, 2012
Dear Basia61 -

Thank you for choosing Ayres Hotel & Spa Mission Viejo for your stay and for letting fellow travelers know of your positive experience. A guest recommendation is the very highest honor a hotel can achieve, so I am thrilled that the service and accommodations led to such a remarkable hotel experience. Perhaps on your next visit you will have the opportunity to eat at the Modjeska Bar & Grill located in the hotel. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Sincerely,

Didi Shields
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Gabriel, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

Spent a couple times here at the Ayres Hotel & Spa along with the couple's massage. Service is excellent! Tanya and Brad both were at the front desk reception area. Cordial service! They were helpful and friendly. Rooms are nice and spacious. Housekeeping was also at it's best service. They replenished the bathroom amenities daily (unlike some places that do not when they see you still have the previous day's supplies)....the hotel is not "cheap".
Breakfast items and selections had a nice variety.
Very nice and cozy........the hotel is not as crowded as other "chain" hotels or big hotels......
Thank you!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AyresHotels, General Manager at Ayres Hotel & Spa Mission Viejo, responded to this review, March 14, 2012
Dear Lin M -

It was an honor having you as our guest. Thank you for choosing our hotel and for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. I have the privilege of working with a phenomenal front desk team who take immense pride in providing the best possible service for our guests and Tanya and Brad are an integral part of that team. I will be sure to share your comments with them so they know their efforts are recognized and appreciated. We appreciate your recommendation and cannot wait to have you back.

Safe travels,

Didi Shields
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

I have stayed here twice in the last month whilst on business and definitely would recommend. Plus sides for business are - rooms are big, breakfast is good, Wifi works very well, staff are good and for me (as a European) this hotel really is excellent value for money!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AyresHotels, General Manager at Ayres Hotel & Spa Mission Viejo, responded to this review, March 14, 2012
Dear Gregg -

Thank you so much for your kind review and for your continued patronage. I am very pleased that we are able to provide you with the amenities, service, and value that made your stay comfortable. We appreciate you choosing Ayres Hotel & Spa for consecutive visits and hope to welcome you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Didi Shields
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

I was traveling with my oldest son for a week's vacation in Southern California and we had a great stay at the hotel. Our original plans had us staying at another hotel, but after one unpleasent night there we decided to move to the Ayres. What a great move that was for us- as the Ayres' rooms were spacious and comfortable- with a sitting/family room that has a separate flat screen TV, offering another great place to relax and give you some space to spread out.

We enjoyed the breakfast- as it offered a nice variety of hot and cold foods.The hotel staff was also very friendly and helpful whenever we had a question or needed anything.

We would highly recommend the hotel!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AyresHotels, General Manager at Ayres Hotel & Spa Mission Viejo, responded to this review, March 14, 2012
Dear Hankmax -

Thank you for choosing Ayres Hotel & Spa Mission Viejo for your stay and for taking the time to share your positive experience. The team at the hotel takes great pride in providing the best possible hotel experience for our guests, so it is comforting to know that you found the amenities and service exceptional. We also appreciate your recommendation as a guest recommendation is the highest honor a hotel can receive. We hope you will stay with us again in the near future.

Warm regards,

Didi Shields
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Ayres Hotel & Spa Mission Viejo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ayres Hotel & Spa Mission Viejo

Address: 28951 Los Alisos Boulevard, Mission Viejo, CA 92692
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Mission Viejo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Mission Viejo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ayres Hotel & Spa Mission Viejo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ayres Hotel & Spa Mission Viejo combines the comforts and conveniences of home with the warm hospitality you’ve come to expect from the Ayres name.You’ll find all of the luxurious guest rooms at our Mission Viejo hotel are impeccably appointed with a full suite of complimentary amenities including our signature, triple sheeted Ayres Dream Sleeper beds, flat screen TVs, refrigerators, coffeemakers, well lit work desks and Wifi, iHomes, hairdryers, curved shower rods, and hookless shower curtains. And every morning you will start your day right with our complimentary full American breakfast. Ayres Hotel and Spa Mission Viejo welcomes travelers with all the modern amenities you have come to expect from the Ayres name and all of the exciting business, recreational, and entertainment attractions South Orange County has to offer. Take in the exquisite views of Saddleback Mountain by hiking or mountain biking on one of the mountain's many scenic hiking trails. Relax with various spa treatments, like an Aromatherapy Massage or Chocolate Body Wrap, available at the Athena Day Spa located inside the hotel. Or indulge at the Modjeska Bar and Grill also located within the hotel. The on-site restaurant offers various types of cuisine including burgers, pasta, and ribs. Nearby, the Irvine Spectrum offers various entertainment possibilities encompassing shopping, dining, an IMAX theater and cinema, and the Improve comedy club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Ayres Hotel & Spa Mission Viejo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ayres Hotel And Spa Mission Viejo
Ayres Hotel Mission Viejo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ayres Hotel & Spa Mission Viejo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.