We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, well situated and luxurious” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ayres Hotel & Spa Mission Viejo

Save Saved
You added Ayres Hotel & Spa Mission Viejo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ayres Hotel & Spa Mission Viejo
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   28951 Los Alisos Boulevard, Mission Viejo, CA 92692   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
2 Nights - 20% Off!
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Mission Viejo
GreenLeadersGold level
Gedera, Israel
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Beautiful, well situated and luxurious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

Ayres Hotel & Spa in Mission Viejo is just off the main highway. The hotel has spacious parking and the rooms are large, excellently furnished with all one would need for a short or extended stay. The cost is reasonable compared to what is offered and the locale. Highly recommended

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    134
    55
    17
    7
    4
See reviews for
67
47
10
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011

While the lobby, entrance, and hall areas are quite nice, the rooms are just good (not awesome). The bed wasn't quite as comfortable as some other inns we stay at, but it was good enough. The place was clean and did not have any funny smells. We tried to check in for our flight using the business computer downstairs (near front desk), but it powered off in the middle of our effort (due to a loose power cord). The location is a bit off the I-5, but it's easy to drive down El Toro Rd. All in all, a good place to stay and a good value compared to many other hotels in the area.

Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

Excellent place to stay with kids--excellent breakfast, esp. for kids; pool accessible but too cool to swim in Dec., very comfortable feel to the whole place. Be sure to check various websites before booking, because prices are all over the place--and check back several times, because they change a lot.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

This is the most amazing 3 star hotel! It is out of the way for many attractions near the 5 fwy but I don't mind. The staff is attentive to your every need and the property is clean and beautiful. We will stay there whenever we come back to OC from Phoenix because I am now spoiled for all other hotels in this price range. I do hope to catch one of their sales next time!

Room Tip: The double queen is very roomy for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

I stayed here with my friends for a wedding. We got a good rate and I didn't expect much more than just a place to sleep but I was surprised. This place is really nice. The staff was also really great. The 2 gentlemen at the front desk were always very polite attentive and sincere and so was the girl. They always greeted us and wouldnt just say hi and bye.They seemed genuinely interested in how we were doing. Good customer service is hard to find. The rooms were very nice. Spacious and this property seemed very new. The free breakfast was a nice touch and pretty good. If I am every back in the area which I doubt Id go back for sure.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mukilteo, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

First off the property is new, the rooms are very nice and beds comfortable. I always appreciate a clean room and this one was very clean. It sits right off the freeway in a parking lot with another Ayres hotel.

Breakfast was very nice, plenty of options. The "access to pool" is a bit mis-leading. The pool is in the middle of the parking lot next to the other hotel. It has a very "motel 6" feel to it. If you are looking for a retreat, this is not your pool area.

I went to the pool after a long day out and it was full of 10-12 boys and their parents who had brought in ice chests of alcohol and were so loud that everyone, including myself left the pool area. I am all for having a good time, but this was beyond rude. When I complained to the manager at the hotel, he said he was not in control of that area but would call over and let the other Ayres hotel know.

Bottom line, you pay $160 for a night you expect a certain level of a hotel, especially one with the name Spa in it. What I got was a 3 star hotel at a 5 star price. It was a very nice clean hotel, but it is not a 4-5 star experience. We actually ended up moving to another property instead of staying.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Desert, California
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2011

Recently, my husband and I were heading to Orange County for a day of whale watching. Normally, we would just drive home right after the whale tour, but because of the location and a pretty good deal, at the MV Ayers Hotel & Spa using our AAA discount, we decided to book two nights (Friday and Saturday). We requested a King Pillow top Suite on the third floor—and got it (since the fine print mentioned they could not guarantee the type of room we requested). The desk clerk was proficient and the registration process went without a hitch.

I was surprised that the room seemed a little ‘small’, but then realized how the online photos are usually taken with wide-angle lenses. All the room’s amenities were present as listed on the website. We unpacked and settled in---my husband finding the ‘living room’ couch suitable for a nap, while I surfed the Web using the free wireless Internet connection. The ‘soaking tub’ was wonderful and the bed was very comfortable.

Friday night, after eating dinner out with friends, we brought them back to the hotel and we all had the pleasure of sitting by the ‘fire pit’ in the courtyard.

Upon returning to the hotel on Saturday night, we noticed the parking lot was pretty full and were nervous that it was going to be a noisy night, but we were pleasantly surprised how serene it was. The incredibly comfy pillow-top bed made it hard for me to get up early for my 9 a.m. Spa appointment the next morning.

Bruce and Angie of “A Spa at Ayres Hotel and Spa” made me feel very welcome to their cozy facility. I didn’t feel rushed or like I was on an ‘assembly line’ as you do in the larger day spas. My 60-minute Swedish massage with Bruce exceeded my expectations and my Signature Facial with Angie was soothing and painless.

We found the breakfast spread had many options, nicely arranged and delicious as well.

We will surely stay at the Mission Viejo Hotel & Spa in the future!

Room Tip: A pleasant, peaceful place to rest and work.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AyresHotels, Manager at Ayres Hotel & Spa Mission Viejo, responded to this review, June 7, 2011
Hi Joanie, thank you so much for sharing your positive travel experience with others! Whale watching down at Dana Point or Laguna Beach is breathtaking and we're excited you decided to make a staycation out of your trip. I see you enjoyed your King Studio Suite and secured one with a view of Oso Resevoir for a gorgeous view. Please be sure to ask if we have any available upgrades next time and we'll see if we can move you to a spacious One Bedroom Signature Suite that has separate living room from bedroom for added comfort. Thanks again for sharing!

Warm regards & safe travels,
Mat Hildebrant
Revenue & Marketing
Ayres Hotels Corporate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ayres Hotel & Spa Mission Viejo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ayres Hotel & Spa Mission Viejo

Address: 28951 Los Alisos Boulevard, Mission Viejo, CA 92692
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Mission Viejo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Mission Viejo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ayres Hotel & Spa Mission Viejo 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ayres Hotel & Spa Mission Viejo combines the comforts and conveniences of home with the warm hospitality you’ve come to expect from the Ayres name.You’ll find all of the luxurious guest rooms at our Mission Viejo hotel are impeccably appointed with a full suite of complimentary amenities including our signature, triple sheeted Ayres Dream Sleeper beds, flat screen TVs, refrigerators, coffeemakers, well lit work desks and Wifi, iHomes, hairdryers, curved shower rods, and hookless shower curtains. And every morning you will start your day right with our complimentary full American breakfast. Ayres Hotel and Spa Mission Viejo welcomes travelers with all the modern amenities you have come to expect from the Ayres name and all of the exciting business, recreational, and entertainment attractions South Orange County has to offer. Take in the exquisite views of Saddleback Mountain by hiking or mountain biking on one of the mountain's many scenic hiking trails. Relax with various spa treatments, like an Aromatherapy Massage or Chocolate Body Wrap, available at the Athena Day Spa located inside the hotel. Or indulge at the Modjeska Bar and Grill also located within the hotel. The on-site restaurant offers various types of cuisine including burgers, pasta, and ribs. Nearby, the Irvine Spectrum offers various entertainment possibilities encompassing shopping, dining, an IMAX theater and cinema, and the Improve comedy club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Milestone Internet Marketing, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Priceline, Expedia, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Ayres Hotel & Spa Mission Viejo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ayres Hotel And Spa Mission Viejo
Ayres Hotel Mission Viejo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ayres Hotel & Spa Mission Viejo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.