We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved It!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Miranda Gardens

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Miranda
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Miranda Gardens
Save
You added Miranda Gardens to your Saves list
6766 Avenue of the Giants, P.O. Box 186, Miranda, CA 95553   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Miranda
Certificate of Excellence 2014
michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Loved It!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2007

My husband and I loved Miranda Gardens. We stayed in 2a and had a lovely stay. The staff was very helpful, the room was clean, and the property was beautiful. the only downfall was the skunk smell near our cabin, but that's nature so we really can't complain. Definately the best place to stay on the Avenue and I would recommend it to all of my friends and family.

  • Liked — the scenery, cabins, and staff
  • Disliked — skunk smell
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    55
    7
    5
    3
See reviews for
52
65
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2007

We stayed in cottage #6.

Pros: Very clean and roomy - two bedrooms separated by a kitchen. Lovely grounds with a pool, play structure and ping pong table.

Cons: Rude customer service, noisy heaters.

I agree that if customer service is important to you, you may want to look elsewhere.
With that said, we did enjoy our stay and the cabins are unique and very clean. We would stay here again.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Hotel staff
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpine
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2006

I already miss laying in bed with the windows open and seeing the dappled light come through the redwoods into the room! What a SUPER place! My husband and I stayed cottage #4, which was so beautiful! The room has muttoned windows and gorgeous, original redwood walls. It must've been just remodeled because there was new tile and wallpaper in the bathroom and the main room had beautiful new furnishings mixed with antiques. There's a gas fireplace that you can watch while in bed, a enclosed patio on the side, front porch and small deck out the back. Nestled completely in the redwoods overlooking a small canyon with the Eel river.
No pets allowed in #4, so it was really nice. The room was kept spotlessly clean each day and it was so quiet and peaceful. Highly, highly recommended! Enchanting and very romantic!
We will stay there again (and again!).

  • Liked — Clean, quiet, beautiful location
  • Disliked — no problems
  • Tips/Secrets — Take the drive to Garberville and have dinner at Cecil's California Creole, and have the pecan pie!
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle Eastside
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2006

We found the Miranda Gardens on the Internet! One never knows what to expect! We could not have been more pleased with the Miranda Gardens Resort. Our cabin which consisted of two queen beds, a kitchenette, bath with shower, and walk-in closet was immaculately clean. Though not "fancy" its furnishings were comfortable and sufficient. The only complaint in our party was that the bed was "lumpy". The redwood interiors were rich with color and warmth. Most units had a deck or patio with a bbq. We noticed later that there were gas grills located in one of the gazebos. My daughter loved the pool, tether ball pole, table tennis set, and the basketball court. There was also a small playground for young children. We also saw a couple of small pets on the premises. Some units allow pets! Continental breakfast consisted of cereal, sweet rolls, muffins, bagels, fresh fruit, juice and coffee/tea. The Miranda is located on the Avenue of the Giants in redwood country. What better place to view these magnificent giants? We stayed one night but if you can afford it, I would advise another night as there is so much to see in the area. Two nights before we stayed at the Ritz-Carlton Half Moon Bay so I have experienced luxury. Though not luxurious, the Miranda Gardens Resort was an experience that I would not have liked to have missed! P.S. I worked with 4 different staff members and they could not have been nicer or more courteous! Lovely place, lovely people.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, CA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2006

The staff of Miranda Gardens was not friendly or professional. The moment we walked into the lobby, we had to go out of our way to get checked in. They did not welcome us, provide us with any information about the cottages, or even give us directions to our cottage. They did not provide us with any materials, offer assistance, or even let us know when and how we should check out of the resort.

The lobby itself was a mess. There were confused guests waiting to find out how to check out of the hotel. They finally gave up and left their keys on the desk because no one responded to their requests for assistance. It was clearly a family run business, but they seemed to have higher priorities than attending to their guests' needs.

When we reached our room, it was acceptable but we quickly discovered that the gas fireplace did not work. The fireplace was a big reason we wanted to stay in this cabin, so we went to the lobby to ask them to fix the fireplace or provide us with a discount if they were unable to fix it. They refused to fix the fireplace or give us any kind of discount. They did not even apologize for the fact that their fireplace did not work.

The best thing about the resort was its location. From the deck of our cabin, we could look deep into the redwoods. Of course, the nearby cabin was so close that the feeling of peace we could have had was disrupted by a neverending chatter and the sound of children crying.

We will not stay there again. Customer service is a high priority for me. If you do not care about being treated with respect and courtesy but do want to stay in a beautiful location, I would recommend this resort. You may want to compare prices first, because the place is not the least expensive resort in town.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2005

We enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere around. A nice anchor the explore the avenue of the giants!

You can also just relax anjoy the green around and go to the 5 min walk to the eel river.

The perfect place for a family vacation

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Bragg, California
Top Contributor
225 reviews 225 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2005

This is a swell place,cute, clean, housekeeping cottages type. Also close to giant redwoods, and great swimming in the North Fork Eel River. And a swell gourmet Pizza/pasta resturant right acrosss the street! However it is July and 100 degrees out and NO air-conditioning anywhere on the property.Thank God for the shade of the trees and the pool! Worth a few days stay but we only had one. Also stayed here once in the winter and still very pretty. Sueann H.

  • Stayed July 2005, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Miranda Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miranda Gardens

Address: 6766 Avenue of the Giants, P.O. Box 186, Miranda, CA 95553
Location: United States > California > Humboldt County > Miranda
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Miranda
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Miranda Gardens Hotel Miranda
Gardens Hotel Miranda

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Miranda Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.