We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcomed in Cali” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Miranda Gardens

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Miranda
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Miranda Gardens
Save
You added Miranda Gardens to your Saves list
6766 Avenue of the Giants, P.O. Box 186, Miranda, CA 95553   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Miranda
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Welcomed in Cali”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

What a beautiful part of the country! Cabins reminded me of the 1940s vintage place we would rent up on Lake Huron in Michigan back in the 1960s and '70s. Ours was spotless and the kitchen came with utensils and plates if you felt like doing your own cooking. The pool was a welcome retreat on a hot day and we played horseshoes and ping pong at night. The breakfast was enough to get you going and even close to the road, the cabins seemed to be off in their own part of the forest. The only ding against it was that our cabin (#10) was at the end of the grouping and we found it jarring that a large, blue (maybe abandoned?) house was right next to it. Once inside, you couldn't see it so it's not a big deal but just be aware if you book that one. Overall, a very unique and neat old slice of Americana.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    57
    8
    5
    3
See reviews for
52
70
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We stayed here during the redwood run, and it was perfect. We arrived in the small town, the place is next to the street but you feel like you're in a forest when your there. The lady's at the desk were very sweet and welcoming. The layout is small but kept ùp beautifully. The rooms are clean, and they are like little houses. I really can't say enough about this place. We will return again and again.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 15 which had a little private fenced patio, which was perfect for us, probably wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

The tiny roadside village of Miranda is located at the southern end of Humboldt Redwoods State Park and the Avenue of Giants, where you can see some of the best redwood groves in California.
The Miranda Gardens is a lovely place, that makes a humble impression from the road, but boasts nicely furnished wooden cabins under fast growing, 50 year old redwood trees. We stayed for one night and played some ping-pong, and swam in the pool before going to bed.
The breakfast offers tasty coffee, fresh bagels and good muffins. So you won't start your day hungry. We were absolutely delighted to find this place and can honestly recommend it to everyone visiting the redwoods.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis CA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Great spot for families traveling in the redwoods. Poll, horse shoes, ping pong, basketball, and trails. Kitchen units. The wood cabinets in ours were beautiful. Kitchen area outshined the rest of the room. relaxing place. Patio was nice and fairly secluded. Smell from neighboring dumpster put a damper on the patio when there was a westerly breeze. Room can bet hot if there is no breeze. Decent continental breakfast. Great coffee!

Room Tip: Stay away from number cottage 14. Smell from garbage dumpster can be ripe when the wind blows the w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014 via mobile

We just finished a 7 day stay at Miranda Gardens. The staff were wonderful and very accommodating! They even said they would miss us after we left. New furniture arrived while we were there, so updates are being made. Built in 1929, some things can't (and shouldn't) be changed or updated! This is not a commercialized hotel chain so if that is what you desire, you would not be happy here. But if you can't find the charm in this place, you likely can't be pleased. Would gladly stay again!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cloverdale,California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We spent 2 nights at Miranda Gardens,drop down gorgeous. The place is in immaculate condition, the pool was great and the breakfast was good. Great location, great hiking a must visit.
We will return.

Room Tip: Have lunch or dinner across the street at Avenue Cafe, great eats, good prices.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta GA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

This was a great place to stay in the redwoods! Had a playground and pool for our 5 yr old to enjoy after being stuck in the car all the way from San Francisco. The restaurant across the street was good as well!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Miranda Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miranda Gardens

Address: 6766 Avenue of the Giants, P.O. Box 186, Miranda, CA 95553
Location: United States > California > Humboldt County > Miranda
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Miranda
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Miranda Gardens Hotel Miranda
Gardens Hotel Miranda

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Miranda Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.