We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay near the Redwoods” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Miranda Gardens

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Miranda
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Miranda Gardens
Save
You added Miranda Gardens to your Saves list
6766 Avenue of the Giants, P.O. Box 186, Miranda, CA 95553   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Miranda
Certificate of Excellence
altoona, pa
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nice stay near the Redwoods”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

My wife and I stayed here one night during our recent trip through Avenue of the Giants. We were looking for something a little different. What could be better than staying in a place surrounded by large Redwood trees? The place has been here for quite some time and the furnishings are not new by any means, but it is clean. The room we stayed in was #2 which was probably the smallest one on the property but it was more than adequate.

We enjoyed the fire ring and campfire that night which was located on the property. Be forewarned that there is not much else in the area, but we were fine with that. There is a grocery store next door and a restaurant/pizza place across the street. The people who run this place were extremely friendly and helpful. It was a little pricier than it really should be but not too far out of line.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    59
    8
    5
    3
See reviews for
56
75
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
La Mirada, California, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Spent Oct 18-21 with family @ this excellent resort! Resort is surrounded by redwood/sequoia trees. Cabin 6 is excellent choice - two older kids got the room/den extending out to the woods - and they woke up every morning with a view of the majestic trees. Two younger kids got the main bedroom and enjoyed the fireplace. Kitchen is well-equipped - just remember to shop and bring your grocery there :) A short drive to the Avenue of the Giants and also Loleta & Eureka! Front desk excellent service too :)

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
82 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We just got back from a weekend at Miranda Gardens. I kind of have mixed feelings about it. We were there for a niece's wedding, and it was nice, but not someplace I would have chosen. Well done, nice, clean, good service, really a good value for what you got even if it was on the expensive side, but it had it's weaknesses too. Antique furniture, which it has, or a very close approximation of it, is ok to look at, but somewhat less so to use. Kind of dainty and fragile, but hard and uncomfortable. At the end of September it seemed odd not to have any heat working, nor to have enough remotes for the gas fireplaces. Yet I suspect at full July heat it could be a good 90F outside and due to the way the blinds were mounted you could only open a couple of windows and only 2" at best. And no A/C in the redwoods, so I suspect it could get quite warm. The whirlpool tub was nice but the showerhead was miserable, one of those fine mist ones where it's 120 at the head but 70 and cold at waist level. Water saving to be sure, but not comfortable. The grounds were nice, they accommodated the wedding party nicely, but not much to do there otherwise. Good romantic getaway maybe? Contentential breakfast was ok, better than I expected and they were responsive, when someone asked about bananas they went right over to the (co-owned) store next door and brought some over. There appeared to be some WIFI you could buy from in town, but not free WIFI from the resort, poor in this day and age.

It was nice, just not my kind of place. I doubt I'll return, but more because it just isn't my style rather than any problem.

Room Tip: Talk to them, all the rooms seem to be different and they know what's what.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We enjoyed the classic motor lodge cottage feel of the place. We would stay again in a heartbeat. Right out our back door was a huge tree. 1/4 mile north is an awesome grove (huge trees) with a short loop hike. Very relaxing setting.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

The ladies at the desk greeted you with a smile and were fun to talk with.The rooms were clean with a victorian touch. My husband and I loved it. If we ever come back to this area from New York we will go out of our way to stay here. There is a great place to eat across the street too!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Mesa, California
Level Contributor
242 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 246 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We have stayed at Miranda Gardens several times. Always in Cabin #5, which is very suitable for a couple.

This time we were in Cabin #7. Unlike #5 it features two beds in two separate rooms so this cabin might be better for a family. It features a full kitchen but the bathroom is quite small.

It's kind of a mystery to me why #7 is not outfitted with a king bed in the larger room instead of the smallish queen or double bed. In my estimation the room is large enough to support a king bed....!!

Getting back to Cabin #5, our favorite, it features a queen bed in a separate bedroom, a sitting area with a gas fireplace, a full kitchen and a nice bathroom. But...as mentioned, #7 might be better for a family..!!

In any case, all the cabins are different. The Miranda Gardens is a delightful stop-over in the redwoods.

Recommend...!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grapeview, Washington
Level Contributor
227 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here based on a recommendation and were even happier with the experience than expected.

Started with very friendly staff at check in, which continued with all of our interactions throughout our stay.

We enjoy staying in smaller, family run, well cared for motels and this is one of the best in that category we have stayed in. The cottages are all unique, well cared for, and very clean. The setting is beautiful, set back in a private setting off the highway, among redwood trees.

Breakfast was good with cereal, bagels, muffins, fruit, good coffee, and good selection of teas.

A short walk down the street leads you to a trail that winds through the redwoods in the state park right behind the cottages.

We would love to stay longer next time we are in this area.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Miranda
11.8 mi away
Benbow Historic Inn
Benbow Historic Inn
#1 of 5 in Garberville
4.5 of 5 stars 496 reviews
9.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Humboldt House Inn
9.8 mi away
Humboldt Redwoods Inn
Humboldt Redwoods Inn
#1 of 1 in Garberville
3.0 of 5 stars 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.5 mi away
Scotia Inn
Scotia Inn
#1 of 1 in Scotia
4.0 of 5 stars 81 reviews
19.7 mi away
The Shelter Cove Oceanfront Inn
6.7 mi away
Dean Creek Resort
Dean Creek Resort
#1 of 1 in Redway
3.0 of 5 stars 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Miranda Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miranda Gardens

Address: 6766 Avenue of the Giants, P.O. Box 186, Miranda, CA 95553
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Humboldt County > Miranda
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Miranda
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Miranda Gardens Hotel Miranda
Gardens Hotel Miranda

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Miranda Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.