We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay near the Redwoods” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Miranda Gardens

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Miranda
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Miranda Gardens
Save
You added Miranda Gardens to your Saves list
6766 Avenue of the Giants, P.O. Box 186, Miranda, CA 95553   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Miranda
altoona, pa
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Nice stay near the Redwoods”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

My wife and I stayed here one night during our recent trip through Avenue of the Giants. We were looking for something a little different. What could be better than staying in a place surrounded by large Redwood trees? The place has been here for quite some time and the furnishings are not new by any means, but it is clean. The room we stayed in was #2 which was probably the smallest one on the property but it was more than adequate.

We enjoyed the fire ring and campfire that night which was located on the property. Be forewarned that there is not much else in the area, but we were fine with that. There is a grocery store next door and a restaurant/pizza place across the street. The people who run this place were extremely friendly and helpful. It was a little pricier than it really should be but not too far out of line.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    55
    7
    5
    3
See reviews for
52
64
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
La Mirada, California, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Spent Oct 18-21 with family @ this excellent resort! Resort is surrounded by redwood/sequoia trees. Cabin 6 is excellent choice - two older kids got the room/den extending out to the woods - and they woke up every morning with a view of the majestic trees. Two younger kids got the main bedroom and enjoyed the fireplace. Kitchen is well-equipped - just remember to shop and bring your grocery there :) A short drive to the Avenue of the Giants and also Loleta & Eureka! Front desk excellent service too :)

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We just got back from a weekend at Miranda Gardens. I kind of have mixed feelings about it. We were there for a niece's wedding, and it was nice, but not someplace I would have chosen. Well done, nice, clean, good service, really a good value for what you got even if it was on the expensive side, but it had it's weaknesses too. Antique furniture, which it has, or a very close approximation of it, is ok to look at, but somewhat less so to use. Kind of dainty and fragile, but hard and uncomfortable. At the end of September it seemed odd not to have any heat working, nor to have enough remotes for the gas fireplaces. Yet I suspect at full July heat it could be a good 90F outside and due to the way the blinds were mounted you could only open a couple of windows and only 2" at best. And no A/C in the redwoods, so I suspect it could get quite warm. The whirlpool tub was nice but the showerhead was miserable, one of those fine mist ones where it's 120 at the head but 70 and cold at waist level. Water saving to be sure, but not comfortable. The grounds were nice, they accommodated the wedding party nicely, but not much to do there otherwise. Good romantic getaway maybe? Contentential breakfast was ok, better than I expected and they were responsive, when someone asked about bananas they went right over to the (co-owned) store next door and brought some over. There appeared to be some WIFI you could buy from in town, but not free WIFI from the resort, poor in this day and age.

It was nice, just not my kind of place. I doubt I'll return, but more because it just isn't my style rather than any problem.

Room Tip: Talk to them, all the rooms seem to be different and they know what's what.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We enjoyed the classic motor lodge cottage feel of the place. We would stay again in a heartbeat. Right out our back door was a huge tree. 1/4 mile north is an awesome grove (huge trees) with a short loop hike. Very relaxing setting.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

The ladies at the desk greeted you with a smile and were fun to talk with.The rooms were clean with a victorian touch. My husband and I loved it. If we ever come back to this area from New York we will go out of our way to stay here. There is a great place to eat across the street too!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Mesa, California
Top Contributor
231 reviews 231 reviews
89 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
236 helpful votes 236 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We have stayed at Miranda Gardens several times. Always in Cabin #5, which is very suitable for a couple.

This time we were in Cabin #7. Unlike #5 it features two beds in two separate rooms so this cabin might be better for a family. It features a full kitchen but the bathroom is quite small.

It's kind of a mystery to me why #7 is not outfitted with a king bed in the larger room instead of the smallish queen or double bed. In my estimation the room is large enough to support a king bed....!!

Getting back to Cabin #5, our favorite, it features a queen bed in a separate bedroom, a sitting area with a gas fireplace, a full kitchen and a nice bathroom. But...as mentioned, #7 might be better for a family..!!

In any case, all the cabins are different. The Miranda Gardens is a delightful stop-over in the redwoods.

Recommend...!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grapeview, Washington
Top Contributor
205 reviews 205 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here based on a recommendation and were even happier with the experience than expected.

Started with very friendly staff at check in, which continued with all of our interactions throughout our stay.

We enjoy staying in smaller, family run, well cared for motels and this is one of the best in that category we have stayed in. The cottages are all unique, well cared for, and very clean. The setting is beautiful, set back in a private setting off the highway, among redwood trees.

Breakfast was good with cereal, bagels, muffins, fruit, good coffee, and good selection of teas.

A short walk down the street leads you to a trail that winds through the redwoods in the state park right behind the cottages.

We would love to stay longer next time we are in this area.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Miranda Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miranda Gardens

Address: 6766 Avenue of the Giants, P.O. Box 186, Miranda, CA 95553
Location: United States > California > Humboldt County > Miranda
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Miranda
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Miranda Gardens Hotel Miranda
Gardens Hotel Miranda

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Miranda Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.