We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Depends on your taste” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Miranda Gardens

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Miranda
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Miranda Gardens
Save
You added Miranda Gardens to your Saves list
6766 Avenue of the Giants, P.O. Box 186, Miranda, CA 95553   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Miranda
California
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Depends on your taste”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We just got back from a weekend at Miranda Gardens. I kind of have mixed feelings about it. We were there for a niece's wedding, and it was nice, but not someplace I would have chosen. Well done, nice, clean, good service, really a good value for what you got even if it was on the expensive side, but it had it's weaknesses too. Antique furniture, which it has, or a very close approximation of it, is ok to look at, but somewhat less so to use. Kind of dainty and fragile, but hard and uncomfortable. At the end of September it seemed odd not to have any heat working, nor to have enough remotes for the gas fireplaces. Yet I suspect at full July heat it could be a good 90F outside and due to the way the blinds were mounted you could only open a couple of windows and only 2" at best. And no A/C in the redwoods, so I suspect it could get quite warm. The whirlpool tub was nice but the showerhead was miserable, one of those fine mist ones where it's 120 at the head but 70 and cold at waist level. Water saving to be sure, but not comfortable. The grounds were nice, they accommodated the wedding party nicely, but not much to do there otherwise. Good romantic getaway maybe? Contentential breakfast was ok, better than I expected and they were responsive, when someone asked about bananas they went right over to the (co-owned) store next door and brought some over. There appeared to be some WIFI you could buy from in town, but not free WIFI from the resort, poor in this day and age.

It was nice, just not my kind of place. I doubt I'll return, but more because it just isn't my style rather than any problem.

Room Tip: Talk to them, all the rooms seem to be different and they know what's what.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    54
    7
    5
    3
See reviews for
51
62
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We enjoyed the classic motor lodge cottage feel of the place. We would stay again in a heartbeat. Right out our back door was a huge tree. 1/4 mile north is an awesome grove (huge trees) with a short loop hike. Very relaxing setting.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

The ladies at the desk greeted you with a smile and were fun to talk with.The rooms were clean with a victorian touch. My husband and I loved it. If we ever come back to this area from New York we will go out of our way to stay here. There is a great place to eat across the street too!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Mesa, California
Top Contributor
231 reviews 231 reviews
89 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
234 helpful votes 234 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We have stayed at Miranda Gardens several times. Always in Cabin #5, which is very suitable for a couple.

This time we were in Cabin #7. Unlike #5 it features two beds in two separate rooms so this cabin might be better for a family. It features a full kitchen but the bathroom is quite small.

It's kind of a mystery to me why #7 is not outfitted with a king bed in the larger room instead of the smallish queen or double bed. In my estimation the room is large enough to support a king bed....!!

Getting back to Cabin #5, our favorite, it features a queen bed in a separate bedroom, a sitting area with a gas fireplace, a full kitchen and a nice bathroom. But...as mentioned, #7 might be better for a family..!!

In any case, all the cabins are different. The Miranda Gardens is a delightful stop-over in the redwoods.

Recommend...!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grapeview, Washington
Top Contributor
203 reviews 203 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here based on a recommendation and were even happier with the experience than expected.

Started with very friendly staff at check in, which continued with all of our interactions throughout our stay.

We enjoy staying in smaller, family run, well cared for motels and this is one of the best in that category we have stayed in. The cottages are all unique, well cared for, and very clean. The setting is beautiful, set back in a private setting off the highway, among redwood trees.

Breakfast was good with cereal, bagels, muffins, fruit, good coffee, and good selection of teas.

A short walk down the street leads you to a trail that winds through the redwoods in the state park right behind the cottages.

We would love to stay longer next time we are in this area.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rolling Hills Estates, CA
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We used to camp in Hidden Springs Campground (One of our favorites), but this year decided to stay at Miranda Gardens. We were very happy there. The cabins are clean and well equipped. The location is perfect. The staff is very helpful. Breakfast is good with cereal, muffins, yogurt, fruit, etc. Very family friendly. There is only one restaurant in the area which is across the street, and is sort of OK. Many of the Cabins here have kitchens. We did have a reservation mess-up so double check your dates.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We had high hopes for this cute little cottage and it was even better than we hoped it would be. First, it was CLEAN CLEAN CLEAN (always my biggest issue with hotels & rentals). Although the property has a lot of history, our cottage had been completely updated (#9). The bed was comfy. TV was nice. The kitchen was small but fully stocked (with plates, silverware, cups, etc.) beautiful and spotless! There was even a bbq (campground style) on the private back patio. My only issue was the small shower. The first night we took s'more makings to the nightly campfire provided for the guests. It was a great fun time for our group in the middle of a long trip. The staff stopped by often to keep the fire going and was very helpful telling us more about the redwoods, local attractions, best places to shop, eat, etc. Our trip was just over a week traveling around the redwoods and Miranda Gardens was located a few hundred yards from what turned out to be our favorite section of the redwoods and right on the Avenue of the Giants. The place fills up early and I almost hate to give such a good review because it's the only place I want to stay in the future and I don't want it to get even harder to reserve a cottage. I should also mention that Korbly's, just a few doors down from the cottages, also turned out to be our favorite place to shop for souvenirs and gifts of our whole trip. If we had known what we would see on the rest of our trip we would have even bought more at Korbly's while we were there.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Miranda Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miranda Gardens

Address: 6766 Avenue of the Giants, P.O. Box 186, Miranda, CA 95553
Location: United States > California > Miranda
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Miranda
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Miranda Gardens Hotel Miranda
Gardens Hotel Miranda

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Miranda Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.