We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, friendly staff, and awesome grounds.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Miranda Gardens

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Miranda
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Miranda Gardens
6766 Avenue of the Giants, P.O. Box 186, Miranda, CA 95553   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Miranda
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
“Clean, friendly staff, and awesome grounds.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We enjoyed the classic motor lodge cottage feel of the place. We would stay again in a heartbeat. Right out our back door was a huge tree. 1/4 mile north is an awesome grove (huge trees) with a short loop hike. Very relaxing setting.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    58
    45
    6
    5
    2
See reviews for
44
43
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

The ladies at the desk greeted you with a smile and were fun to talk with.The rooms were clean with a victorian touch. My husband and I loved it. If we ever come back to this area from New York we will go out of our way to stay here. There is a great place to eat across the street too!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Mesa, California
Top Contributor
215 reviews 215 reviews
86 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
212 helpful votes 212 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We have stayed at Miranda Gardens several times. Always in Cabin #5, which is very suitable for a couple.

This time we were in Cabin #7. Unlike #5 it features two beds in two separate rooms so this cabin might be better for a family. It features a full kitchen but the bathroom is quite small.

It's kind of a mystery to me why #7 is not outfitted with a king bed in the larger room instead of the smallish queen or double bed. In my estimation the room is large enough to support a king bed....!!

Getting back to Cabin #5, our favorite, it features a queen bed in a separate bedroom, a sitting area with a gas fireplace, a full kitchen and a nice bathroom. But...as mentioned, #7 might be better for a family..!!

In any case, all the cabins are different. The Miranda Gardens is a delightful stop-over in the redwoods.

Recommend...!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grapeview, Washington
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here based on a recommendation and were even happier with the experience than expected.

Started with very friendly staff at check in, which continued with all of our interactions throughout our stay.

We enjoy staying in smaller, family run, well cared for motels and this is one of the best in that category we have stayed in. The cottages are all unique, well cared for, and very clean. The setting is beautiful, set back in a private setting off the highway, among redwood trees.

Breakfast was good with cereal, bagels, muffins, fruit, good coffee, and good selection of teas.

A short walk down the street leads you to a trail that winds through the redwoods in the state park right behind the cottages.

We would love to stay longer next time we are in this area.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rolling Hills Estates, CA
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We used to camp in Hidden Springs Campground (One of our favorites), but this year decided to stay at Miranda Gardens. We were very happy there. The cabins are clean and well equipped. The location is perfect. The staff is very helpful. Breakfast is good with cereal, muffins, yogurt, fruit, etc. Very family friendly. There is only one restaurant in the area which is across the street, and is sort of OK. Many of the Cabins here have kitchens. We did have a reservation mess-up so double check your dates.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We had high hopes for this cute little cottage and it was even better than we hoped it would be. First, it was CLEAN CLEAN CLEAN (always my biggest issue with hotels & rentals). Although the property has a lot of history, our cottage had been completely updated (#9). The bed was comfy. TV was nice. The kitchen was small but fully stocked (with plates, silverware, cups, etc.) beautiful and spotless! There was even a bbq (campground style) on the private back patio. My only issue was the small shower. The first night we took s'more makings to the nightly campfire provided for the guests. It was a great fun time for our group in the middle of a long trip. The staff stopped by often to keep the fire going and was very helpful telling us more about the redwoods, local attractions, best places to shop, eat, etc. Our trip was just over a week traveling around the redwoods and Miranda Gardens was located a few hundred yards from what turned out to be our favorite section of the redwoods and right on the Avenue of the Giants. The place fills up early and I almost hate to give such a good review because it's the only place I want to stay in the future and I don't want it to get even harder to reserve a cottage. I should also mention that Korbly's, just a few doors down from the cottages, also turned out to be our favorite place to shop for souvenirs and gifts of our whole trip. If we had known what we would see on the rest of our trip we would have even bought more at Korbly's while we were there.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We just returned from a trip to Humbolt State Park and stayed at Miranda Gardens for 3 nights. It was fantastic. It is in a perfect location for exploring the redwoods in the park. There are several hiking trails within a short 5-10 minute drive of the hotel. There is even some hiking right behind the resort. We have three kids (ages 4, 6, and 8). They loved staying in the cabins, the campfire at night, playing on the playground, playing basketball and horseshoes and exploring around the resort. We brought scooters and the kids were able to scooter back and forth from the playground to the Cabin which they thought was great. I am very picky when it comes to cleanliness and I am not a camper so I was a little concerned about staying here. However, it exceed my expectations. Yes, it is quaint. But, it was very clean and it had everything we needed. We made dinners in the cabin every night and ate among the trees on our back porch. There is a restaurant across the street, but other guests reported it as "mediocre" so we never tried it. We brought up enough groceries to keep us well fed. I highly recommend Miranda Gardens if you are looking for a place to stay in the area. It was a fantastic family vacation that the kids are still talking about. Lots of old fashioned outdoor fun - they never once turned on the TV or the ipad while we were there! A few tips - 1)Bring s'more supplies for the camp fire! 2)We stayed in Cabin 6. Rumor has it, it is one of the staff's favorites. We brought an air mattress and it was plenty big for our family of 5. 3)Go to the Ranger Station/Visitors' Center in Humbolt State Park. The people there are very helpful and it has lots for kids to see/touch/explore.

Room Tip: Cabin 6 was a great cabin!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Miranda Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miranda Gardens

Also Known As:
Miranda Gardens Hotel Miranda
Gardens Hotel Miranda
Address: 6766 Avenue of the Giants, P.O. Box 186, Miranda, CA 95553
Location: United States > California > Miranda
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Miranda

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Miranda Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Miranda Gardens to your Saves list