We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Cottage, Unfriendly Staff” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Miranda Gardens

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Miranda
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Miranda Gardens
Save
You added Miranda Gardens to your Saves list
6766 Avenue of the Giants, P.O. Box 186, Miranda, CA 95553   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Miranda
USA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice Cottage, Unfriendly Staff”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2008

The Cottage's here are cozy but without hair dryers or any extras at all. The cottage we had was not in the little courtyard as were some of the others but opened right onto the street. One of the problems I had with it was that they confirmed our reservations and said we'd get a Cont.Breakfast, that was a few weeks before we arrived. When we did get there in May the office was all draped in plastic and you had to go to the managers very messy apt. to check in. She was unfriendly at this time as well as when I asked for something else during the stay as if she couldn't be bothered, she works at the little store next door as well as runs the Inn. We were informed that because of the reconstruction due to a tree limb falling on the office in DECEMBER there wouldn't be a Cont. Breakfast. The town itself is very small and rundown with one restaurant in town. Beautiful trees though and right at the beginning of the wonderful Ave of the Giants. I"d never recommend Miranda Gardens.

  • Liked — Proximity to Ave of the Giants
  • Disliked — Unfriendly staff, rundown town, promised a breakfast and didn't get them, looked like we'd be in a courtyard and we were on the street
  • Stayed May 2008
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    54
    7
    5
    3
See reviews for
51
62
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2008

We travel with our dog. Our dog loves trees. We all had a great time here. We stayed in cabin # 5, one of the few dog-friendly rooms. It was very clean and had a fantastic gas fireplace. As it was February, there were not many others there, but this was OK with us! Great cafe across the street and nice hiking trails nearby. There is a high school across the street too, but this did not bother us. The whole town is just a few buildings long. Hope to return someday

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, CA
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2008

Was a wonderful place to stay while visiting the Avenue of the Giants. Quiet, out of the way, old fashioned cottage with comfortable accomodations. The customer service was "hit & miss". Very nice staff, but so laid back they missed on some important details. We were promised a cottage with fireplace & hot tub, but they made a mistake & got our reservation date off by 1 day - so our preferred unit wasn't available. Otherwise a lovely stay. Unfortunately I left my down pillow & pillowcase behind when we checked out (which I had brought from home). When we were on our way home (about 2 hours away on a 5 hour trip) I remembered & we called the office. They said they had found it and that they would be happy to mail it back the next day. When it didn't arrive, we called again and were told the same thing- again & again. It's now almost a year later and despite multiple long distance phone calls over the next 6 months and repeated promises that they would send it back - they never did :( . Still, I'd go back - just be sure you don't leave anything behind!

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edina, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2007

We stayed in Cabin #4--the back deck overlooks a beautiful old grown Redwood grove. The woodwork in the cabin is incredible--burnished vintage redwood with beautiful windows, and nice antiques throughout. The gas fireplace and spa tub were bonuses. The only channel that comes in on the TV is the Travel Channel, so plan accordingly for evening entertainment. The Riverside Inn 3 miles south has good Mexican food and the diner across the street had great calzones. While we didn't spot a real Bigfoot on the Avenue of the Giants, we had a great stay.

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2007

Beautiful location. The cabin we had (#4) had a patio overlooking the Redwood forest, a fireplace and a whirlpool tub. All three were wonderful and made for a memorable and romantic stay. The downside as I see it is that there are no restaurants anywhere nearby, and the staff while efficient doesn't go out of their way to be friendly or helpful. We had grabbed a picnic dinner in Healdsburg, so we avoided that issue.

Breakfast is the classically painful carbs, sugar, coffee and nothing else. Again, we had come prepared, and didn't need to eat that.

I can not wait to visit this property again. The "additions" aren't really there. Ice Machine (broken). Nearby river (the path there appeared neither clear nor safe). Grills - without plates, glasses, silverware, etc. you need to bring a lot of stuff to eat on the property.

Overall if you are well prepared, this will be a memorable experience. If you arrive with 3 hungry kids, you may have issues.

  • Liked — Being surrounded by redwoods
  • Disliked — Service a bit surly
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2007

When I saw the photos and pricepoint of this resort on the net, compared with other accommodations in the area, I thought, "Geez, this must be some sort of spa-type place." But, knowing that we wanted a clean, nice, cozy place for just a couple of nights while passing through the Redwoods -- and that pool WOULD be a hit with the kids -- we decided to go for it. And boy are we glad we did! The cabin was immaculate and so charming, the grounds lush and inviting. We thoroughly enjoyed our very own porch for stargazing in the evening while our kids were nestled in bed and our fishing gear stayed safe propped right outside our cabin door for the duration of our stay. Oh -- the staff...5 STAR. These people really made a huge impression on us. They made us feel like the best of friends from the moment we stepped into the lobby. They not only endured but seemed to welcome our 6-yr-old son's inquiries and requests for the basketball for the b-ball court and even went so far as to open up their next-door grocery market afterhours when I had a tummyache one evening. Now THAT'S service! The complimentary breakfast in the morning was a great spread of cereals, oatmeal, bagels w/cream cheese, toast, muffins, danish, hard-boiled eggs, fresh fruit, juices, coffee and tea. Anything lacking they were quick to pop up and get for you. Stellar. A great find.

  • Liked — The grounds were so pretty and well maintained.
  • Disliked — A bit on the pricey side.
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Round Hill VA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2007

Miranda Gardens is one of the few surviving cabin motels along the Redwood Highway. I've been visiting it 8 or so times over the last 50 years and it really brings back what car trips used to be.

Only one TV channel comes in, but there are ample opportunities to hike, play a family game, go for a dip in the pool or swim in the Eel river. If you really need it it, there is a free library of fairly recent movies to bring to your cabin.

The quality of the staff is a concern. On my initial inquiry which was three months in advance I was told there were no vacancies, yet I
called back the next day to be told I could have the cabin of my choice. On arrival, the hostess was very gracious but the cabin did not have towels for the number of persons booked. She brought them to
us. At bedtime, we discovered there were no linens for the HB and everyone in the office had gone to bed. The next morning we complained to a very nice lady and she made an ample adjustment on our charge for the cabin.

Bottom line-it's a great place to stay but check that everything is working before dusk. I hadn't played tetherball in decades and was much more fun than driving thru a redwood.

  • Liked — HIstory, Redwoods
  • Disliked — Cleaning Staff
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Miranda Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miranda Gardens

Address: 6766 Avenue of the Giants, P.O. Box 186, Miranda, CA 95553
Location: United States > California > Miranda
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Miranda
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Miranda Gardens Hotel Miranda
Gardens Hotel Miranda

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Miranda Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.