We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Redwoods Getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Miranda Gardens

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Miranda
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Miranda Gardens
Save
You added Miranda Gardens to your Saves list
6766 Avenue of the Giants, P.O. Box 186, Miranda, CA 95553   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Miranda
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Orange, California
1 review
“Redwoods Getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

My family (husband, ten-year-old son, and I) checked into this place during the first week of April. We were greeted by a friendly dog and two cats outside of the lobby "check-in" area, which hadn't opened yet. It gave us a chance to look around the grounds a little bit and check the place out. I was pleasantly surprised... there was an adorable gazebo perfect for morning coffee, a park-like area with a firepit, a children's play area, pool, and cottages which looked like individual little residences. The grounds were immaculate.
We stayed in cottage 6, which had a really nice porch with an amazing view of the redwoods behind us. The cottage was immaculate, also. The kitchen had everything we needed to cook, which we did. My son LOVED his private room located away from our bedroom and the rest of the cabin. It was like his own little retreat, with views from his windows of the redwoods behind us. The cabin had amazing redwood walls and ceilings that were well taken care of.
Everything we needed was right there.
The owners were very kind, genuinely friendly and helpful. We would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    57
    8
    5
    3
See reviews for
52
70
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

After coastal Highway 1 we stopped overnight at Miranda Gardens. Old cottages but extremely well kept- I know The amount of love and toil such 50 year old structures require because my grandparents had a resort in northern Minnesota and we care for the cabins now. Thank you! Sleeping among the Redwood giants was calming - best night sleep ever! Few tourists this time of year so go to the roadhouse near the cottages for local action. It serves decent Mexican food and is on Ave of the Giants. I'm so glad we stayed there!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagle Point, Oregon, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Our little cottage was beautifully decorated, and the room was immaculate. The bed was really comfortable. The lady in the office was extremely nice and attentive. We were so impressed with the room and the grounds. Absolutely will stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

We spent 3 nights at the hotel earlier this month and had a great stay! The room felt inviting and our porch had a great view. The owners were very attentive and offered great dining selections in the area. They made us feel right at home.

The room had a fireplace and a whirlpool tub, both of which worked flawlessly. It was very clean and had rustic furnishings, a perfect match to the location.

The hotel itself is located right in the middle of the Avenue of the Giants and is a GREAT location. There are dozens of awesome views/trails very close by. There's even a small trail behind the hotel which was nice because there was literally no one else down there.

Overall I loved this hotel. I would recommend it to friends and stay again.

Bonus: There's a coffee stand right across the street that opens early and makes best white mocha I've ever had. It's amazing.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, CA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

This hotel is lovely and charming and worth visiting. We had a two room cabin, and it was perfect for what we needed. The only complaint we'd have was the mattress quality - the sleep was not the most comfortable, but overall I would return and that is probably the only thing I'd mention. The amenities are adequate and the little town is very peaceful. We ate at the restaurant across the street which was very convenient. The food is adequate for a small cafe setting, and the service was good. We all will have wonderful memories of our trip in the Redwoods, and I would highly recommend staying overnight in the area if possible as there is so much to see - lots of exploring to do, and breathtakingly beautiful scenery everywhere along the Avenue.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

I stayed here on a trip last summer with my three children - we drove down from Portland, OR to explore the Redwoods. We stayed in a little cabin to the left of the office. The cabin was clean, had beautiful furniture, the lady at the front desk was very nice and the property has a great pool for the kids. The very best part was the bonfire outside. We arrived in the evening and once we unpacked we sat out at the bonfire and roasted marshmallows for smores and relaxed. I would highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon, United States
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Excellent for what it is: a rustic old-fashioned motor hotel in the Redwoods. Enjoy your road trip getaway at these charming cabins of varying sizes and amenities. We stayed in a small one without a kitchen, but others have full kitchens and would be perfect for a family vacation in this wonderful area. The staff is so nice, the pool is beautiful, and you can even roast marshmallows on their outdoor fire pit. (Plan ahead and bring the fixings and roasting sticks.) Only non-excellent thing is having to pay for over 60 minutes a day of Wi-Fi, but that's just a reminder that you don't come to the Humboldt Redwoods to delve into the Internet!

Room Tip: If it's summer ask for one with windows that open. The air smells amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Miranda Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miranda Gardens

Address: 6766 Avenue of the Giants, P.O. Box 186, Miranda, CA 95553
Location: United States > California > Humboldt County > Miranda
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Miranda
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Miranda Gardens Hotel Miranda
Gardens Hotel Miranda

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Miranda Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.