We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very unique place....on the Avenue of the Giants” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Miranda Gardens

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Miranda
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Miranda Gardens
Save
You added Miranda Gardens to your Saves list
6766 Avenue of the Giants, P.O. Box 186, Miranda, CA 95553   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Miranda
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Costa Mesa, California
Top Contributor
237 reviews 237 reviews
91 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
239 helpful votes 239 helpful votes
“A very unique place....on the Avenue of the Giants”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2011

In the past, when traveling up and down the coast, we would always stay just south or north of the Avenue of the Giants. On our last trip we decided to change that and we picked Miranda Gardens. That turned out to be a wonderful choice.

The cabins are rustic and the town is very small so don't expect any "action" or fine dining establishments.

I'm pretty sure we stayed in Cabin # 5, which is pet friendly, clean, has a kitchen and a fireplace plus a separate bedroom. We decided to eat in and made ourselves a "gourmet" dinner, which we enjoyed on the deck. Very nice...!!!

What really struck me about the cottages at Miranda Gardens was the workmanship, the wood and paneling used for the cottages....at least # 5. The paneling was simply pristine.....made out of Redwood, when Redwood was Redwood. You could tell that layer after layer of varnish had been applied to the Redwood. I was VERY impressed....I have never seen anything quite like it.

The manager told me that the owner...or may be a previous owner, had refurbished the cottages one by one using salvaged Redwood paneling. Apparently it took him YEARS...!! It is an interesting story. The manager can tell it better than I can.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    55
    7
    5
    3
See reviews for
52
66
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage, Alaska
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2010

We stayed at the Miranda Gardens Resort for a wedding in May. The setting is very charming, with large redwoods, flowering bushes, and adorable cottages. Miranda has several options for cottages, from single rooms to multiple bedrooms, kitchens, and fireplaces, so everyone in our large group was able to find accomodations to suit their budget/space needs. My husband, son, and I stayed in Cottage #6, with a kitchen, fireplace, and separate bedroom, and it was perfect! The resort offers a small grocery store, continental breakfast, a pool, small playground, and a common area with lawns and a firepit that is great for celebrations (like weddings). The town is very near the Avenue of the Giants and other attractions, and only about 45 minutes to the ocean. We took several day trips to surrounding redwood parks and hiking trails, as well the nearest city for fine dining and a spa. My only negative comment involves the heaters - they are rather noisy, making clicking sounds every time they come on. We got used to it in a couple nights, but it was distracting at first. Other than that small detail, I would recommend Miranda Garden Resort cottages to anyone looking for a rustic, charming getaway with easy access to the redwoods. This is a good choice for both families and couples looking for a romantic getaway, and lots of fun for large groups.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2010

Darling cabins nestled among huge redwoods at the Southern entrance to the Avenue of the Giants--Miranda Gardens Resort is a magical place you'll return to again and again. This charming resort is unlike anything else you'll find in the area. No where else are the trees this big and beautiful and literally right outside your door. No where else is the staff this friendly and helpful. No where else is so close and convenient to the most beautiful forests on earth--full of awesome trees taller than a football field is long, and carpeted with lush ferns and giant clover. No where else can you meet people from all around the world while sitting around a blazing fire in a circle of giant redwoods. One visit to Miranda Gardens and you'll not only be hooked--you'll be back--soon (we sure were).
Although, Miranda Gardens provides quite a good continental breakfast, we also recommend the breakfast burritos at the Avenue Cafe just across the street. If you are looking for organic foods, the Chautauqua Natural Foods store is close by in Garberville. We recommend stocking up on sandwich makings for your lunches, as many of the little restaurants along the Avenue offer a lot of mainly fried foods, although they can also be fun (for example: The Eternal Tree House in Redcrest). Also, Miranda Gardens does offer cottages with kitchens, which is a good idea for stays longer than a few days. While touring the Avenue of the Giants in the Humbolt Redwoods State Park, if you like hiking, be sure to take the both the North & South Bull Creek Trails that start from the Tall Tree grove in Rockefeller Forest near the Albee Campground off Mattole Road (North of Weott)--It is 7.5 miles round trip, but very easy walking most of the way-- and the Redwood forest there is cool, dark, wild, and spectacular.
This is one of our favorite places on earth. Don't miss it.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hatboro, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2010

We had a cozy little cabin right next to the redwood forest. Clean and comfy. Great for the budget. The new managers are very helpful. Were having some TV reception problems but they had a stack of movie CDs available. They recommended Cecil's, a restaurant in nearby Garbersville. The filet we had there was the best we've ever had!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2010

We stayed here as part of a tour through Northern California, and immediately decided we have to come back one day soon. The cottages give you the feel of staying in the woods with the comforts of a private, clean, safe hotel room. Although there are few options for cable, they have a wide range of DVDs and boardgames if you prefer to hang out in your room, rather than take advantage of the pool, fire pit, and smores. The scenery is outstanding, and the staff is well-informed and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Westminster, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2010

On our way south we called just a few hours ahead and Miranda Gardens fixed up with a lovely small cottage for one night. Staff we very helpful and friendly - the place has a small and accessible "small town" character. Its been in the family for many years.
Our cottage had just been redone and if, like me, you like to stay in historic places, this collection of cabins is a must. Our interior had gleaming old redwood wainscot and floors, and vintage lights, photos, etc. A short walk amongst the cabins and towering redwoods quickly cleared the stiffness of the day's drive away. A late evening swim in the lovely pool didn't hurt either.
Miranda is a very small town on the Ave. of the Giants. Across the street was a good (the only?) local restaurant. Next door at an old garage some locals were hanging about chatting and working on a great collection of vintage autos - how fitting being across the street from an historic "auto court". Hardly a car came by as the evening ambled on and the day cooled off. The vintage neon sign was the only spot of colour.
The breakfast offered was adequate but could have been embellished - well it is a small town.
Price was very fair. We'd come back for a longer stay if we were going to hike in the area.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwood, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2010

My husband and I have visited the Avenue of the Giants on every opportunity that we have had over the years -- over three decades. We have camped in the Albee Creek campground in the state park a couple of times and we stayed in another motel on the Avenue once -- but Miranda Gardens has been our destination of choice many, many times--the location being one of the biggest attractions. Our most recent experience was a best experience--and you will see that I have given excellent ratings on all of the criteria--this place offers much more than location now.

If you want the predictability of a chain motel, this is not where you want to spend the night . If you want to spend time in a place that totally supports your experience in one of the greatest locations on the plant--the Avenue of the Giants--I HIGHLY recommend Miranda Gardens. (And if you are passing through the Giants, need a place to stay where the rooms are clean and pleasant, come on in....but if a particular amenity is critical to you--ask!)

The Miranda Gardens resort has cabins/rooms that are older. At one level one would charactize this place as a funky old cabin resort. And the good parts of "funky, old" remain but much, much has been done to improve the accomodations.

We were in room #2, one of the more inexpensive units. The unit was furnished with a mix of antiques, antique replicas and a refrigerator, microwave and television. This unit, like every other one we have stayed in over the years, had a outdoors space with a table and chairs AND the huge redwood trees that bring us to the Avenue. You can purchase local Wi-Fi by the day. The resort can play movies in your room, but don't come here to watch network television.

When we moved into our room, it seemed to me that it was very clean and well kept. While we were sitting on our "patio" we observed the staff cleaning unit #1 for an early check-in. Seeing the staff descend on the room to clean it to what appeared to be very high standards totally impressed me--truly, I would never expect that a hotel maid would be on hands and knees to clean the bathroom, but this is what I observed. It is clear that a significant portion of the room rate goes to room upkeep. There must have been at least an hour of staff time spent cleaning that room.

There are so many things I would like to say. Having visited Miranda Gardens at least a dozen time over the years, I was simply confused by some of the reviews. Some of them had to be dated and some of them had to be a bad moment or a visitor with a bad attitude.

For example, there were reviews mentioning immature and unresponsive staff? This has NEVER been our experience. There are staff at Miranda Gardens who have been there for as long as we have been visiting. The negative reviews may be from people who are used to predictable chains. On this visit, I walked along with the manager while she left the office to fulfill another visitor's request as well as mine. Another guest going to the office would have wondered why there was no staff on call--while the truth was that guests were getting customized consideration. Patience makes for a better experience at this kind of facility--

One review mentioned a bad restaurant across the street, but in our experience, the restaurant across the street was great and greatly enhanced our visit (Avenue Cafe??). Eating establishments do come and go in rural areas, but the restaurant across the street had the best, freshest food I can remember in any rural restaurant. My husband and I totally enjoyed taking food-to-go to our "patio." Ask the Miranda Garden staff about where to eat.

A big reason this has been a target location for us is the redwood grove that is next to Miranda. Our idea of a good time is to fill our coffee cups and take a stroll in the grove--which can be reached by a trail or a very short drive. It's a beautiful, awesome, majestic grove and notable becase the mosquito population is low. We have been able to take portable chairs into this grove and just sit and enjoy.

The presence of the ancient redwoods is like no other. As I said above, Miranda Gardens has provided the accomodations for us to support our visits to one of our favorite places to appeciate nature.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Miranda Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miranda Gardens

Address: 6766 Avenue of the Giants, P.O. Box 186, Miranda, CA 95553
Location: United States > California > Humboldt County > Miranda
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Miranda
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Miranda Gardens Hotel Miranda
Gardens Hotel Miranda

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Miranda Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.