We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great customer service and very good breakfast.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn San Jose/Milpitas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hilton Garden Inn San Jose/Milpitas to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn San Jose/Milpitas
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   30 Ranch Drive, Milpitas, CA 95035   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 25%
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Milpitas
California, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great customer service and very good breakfast.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

We have stayed here a lot as a family and with our hockey team. Staff has always been friendly and very supportive . Very nice breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    82
    50
    9
    6
See reviews for
59
28
18
128
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cary, North Carolina
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2011

This is a great location if you're visiting the Cisco campus. It's very close, and they offer free shuttle service to / from Cisco and the airport. The service is great, especially Mark at the front desk, who also drives the shuttle. The hotel is a little dated and the elevators don't always work reliably. Oddly, the bathroom doors in the rooms are heavy metal and will not stay open. The breakfast is pretty good, offering freshly made omelets, eggs, etc., in addition to the standard continental items. Free Internet access, in-room coffee, fridge and microwave make this a great business hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

The price is pretty high for the value of this hotel. Room is decent enough. Staff are friendly, but the place is dark and there is a very strong and unpleasant odor, most likely what they use to clean. Staying here for work, and they have a convenient shuttle, although I had to wait at least 45 minutes at the airport and it was cold!! This would not be where I would choose to stay at all..! Very over-priced..

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Neck, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2011

i stayed 3 nights, friday through sunday, in late oct at this hotel. a few days after i checked out, i found my bill had extra $62.90 charge. that gave me a negative impression on the hotel.

i made a complain to hilton. the next day, the hotel general manaer called me and apologized and returned the money. besides, she sincerely asked me to comment where they could improve. i told her the miscommunications causing the overcharge (frankly speaking, it was not completely the hotel's fault). i felt the hotel's sincerity to hlep customer solve problems or issues.

i was out of bay areas where i went to school there. i went back there from time to time. i told the hotel manager next time if i chose a hotel in bay area to stay, i would surely choose her hotel again. why? their sincere attitude and customer services make up any of their previous errors.

beginning from next year, i will stay more at hilton. this year, i stayed 150 nights at marriott, 70 at hilton. next year, i think 200 nights at hilton and zero or a little at marriott.

if you ask me why, please read my long posting (Spend 2 hours to write) that complain marriott's customer services. the point is: newport news marriott at city center has the worst staffs. they never listened to me and were not at all willing to listen to me. the first secind i spoke, they began to come up with various excuses to deny me and reject me, even if thyey could make up a false answer that was obviously wrong. so, their worst customer service made me feel disgusting about marriott.

hilton will again be my first choice next year. i earned hilton diamond status 2 years ago and merely maintained my diamond this year by staying 70 nights. after comparison, i found hilton had better customer services thanh marriott. hilton is wiling to listen to me and try to help me solve the issue, while marriott was trying every way they could to reject and deny me.

Room Tip: good customer service. i will surely stay there again when i am next to stay at bay area hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011

We usually stay in the Hilton Santa Clara but this year there was no availability. So to maintain the Hilton points we opted for the Garden Inn. Obviously not as swish as its bigger brother, but it still ticks most the boxes. Rooms were large, comfortable and clean. The Garden Inn is located by a number of restaurants and shops at McCarthy Ranch next to the I-880. Gives you easy access to all the tech companies. It was not significantly cheaper than the Hilton in Santa Clara which is probably worth the extra premium for business travellers.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe AZ
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

I have done better in the San Jose area. This property had a great location, but issues. My upgraded room had the air chamber bed that went flat by morning. I couldnt wait to check out and get back home to a normal bed. It took the staff 2 days to replace my broken inroom coffe pot. The coffe area in the room was full of ants. The ice machines were broken along with the water cooler in the work out center. The front desk staff seemed to care and were friendly, but never followed up with their concerns.

breakfast was only included with full price rooms or premier hilton club members, so if you get a discount, expect to pay for breakfast ceral.

You can do better than this in the San Jose area.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

I stayed almost a week on business at the HGI Milpitas. Having never been to California before I did not know what to expect from the area, and had to trust the Hilton name.

I checked in late in the evening (late flight) and my room was ready and waiting. King-sized bed with the sleep select option (dial up/down the firmness). The room was large and clean, same for the bathroom, if a little worn at the edges of the furniture pieces. Overall I was pleased with the accommodations. The view is nothing special (if you're at the back you get to see the highway, if you're at the front you mainly see the parking lot or the front A/C units. Thankfully I was not bothered by any noise the entire stay.

There is a gym and a pool but I was not able to try them out due to my schedule.

The staff was amazing, probably the best staff experience I've had of any hotel stay. The clerks at the front desk were always cheerful and helpful (they'll even open your wine for you). The wait staff in the breakfast area are top-notch, always quick to fill any request. Less than $12 for a full breakfast spread is pretty good too! There is a little pantry in the lobby for buying snacks plus a selection of wines.

In walking distance there are several big box stores (Best Buy, Walmart, Ross, Michaels), and quite a few dining options (applebees or sushi are across the parking lot, Thai food down the street, and pizza or starbucks just across the road).

With no traffic, the airport is less than 10 minutes away. The hotel even has a shuttle that will pick you up or drop you anywhere in the area. The location is very convenient for business travelers.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn San Jose/Milpitas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn San Jose/Milpitas

Address: 30 Ranch Drive, Milpitas, CA 95035
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Milpitas
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Milpitas
#2 Business Hotel in Milpitas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn San Jose/Milpitas 3*
Number of rooms: 161
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn San Jose/Milpitas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn San Jose/Milpitas Hotel Milpitas
Hilton Garden Inn Milpitas
Hilton Milpitas
Milpitas Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn San Jose/Milpitas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.