We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Malaysian” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Banana Leaf

Banana Leaf
McCarthy Ranch Shopping Center, 182 Ranch Dr. (McCarthy Blvd.), Milpitas, CA 95035
408-719-9811
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 281 Restaurants in Milpitas
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $20 - $35
Cuisines: Thai, Asian fusion, Malaysian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Austin, Texas, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good Malaysian”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

I really like the Belacan Green Beans and Eggplant. The food is very fresh; the service is super fast. They go a bit heavy on the garlic for my taste, but I always enjoy my dinners there. It's not a great location - strip mall right off the highway, and the decor and ambiance aren't that great. But set your expectations appropriately and enjoy the food.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    56
    18
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Omaha
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great option for gluten-free, sugar-free”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Warily met some friends here. I ordered a chicken (they call it poultry on the menu which makes it sound less appetizing) rice dish that arrived in a pineapple shell. It was either that or I was going to order the chicken mango (arrives in a mango shell). I don't eat gluten and can't consume processed sugar, plus I don't like spicy stuff so I was afraid to come here. I don't know how they do it but it was delicious and I could have eaten there for breakfast, lunch and dinner if I lived nearby.

Somehow we got a great booth - it's hard to get a good table because they are always busy. Be persistent - it's worth it!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san jose
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“disaster”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Whats wrong with you banana leaf...we are regular visitors to this place...but today was a disaster....ordered a veggie pad thai ...i am counting...2 peices of tofu and one small carrot slice...in a plate full of pad thai..no sauc...no salt..no peanut...comeon...veggie means it gotta have some veggie in it...the portion has been reduced too. My husbands order had the same issue.If you dont have veggies in your kitchen on mondays please tell the customers.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Very good Asian food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

The food is very great and the service nice and fast. The atmosphere is not the best one but it is really worth to go there. You can have very good Asian food at a moderate price. I will definitely go back.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great option for Veggies as well”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We dined at the Banana Leaf on 6th night and were very satisfied. I have heard about the popularity of the place and so didn't mind waiting for 30 minutes for a table. It seems like this place is always bustling with crowd and has maintained its quality over the years.

We ordered the Roti Prata, Pineapple fried rice, coconut milk rice and two curries. Except one of the curries, everything else was delicious. The service is very prompt and the ambiance very good. The cuisine itself is a fusion (they publicize themselves as a Malaysian restaurant) and would appeal to diverse people.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Banana Leaf also viewed

 

Been to Banana Leaf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banana Leaf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.