We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Come hungry, Be happy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Black Bear Diner

Black Bear Diner
174 W Calaveras Blvd, Milpitas, CA 95035-5202
408-946-2327
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 281 Restaurants in Milpitas
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Cupertino, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Come hungry, Be happy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

This is one place I love to come with some of my friends who love to eat big meals. This is "the place" for typical diner style food in "big portions" and reasonably priced. I also brought here my family and ordered two entrees to be shared by three of us. We ordered omelet that came with a biscuit (which is size of a loaf). Everything is big in this restaurant. Service is good, never had any complain in spite of being crowded over the weekends. Overall experience was good and will love to revisit with friends and family.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    17
    10
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Disappointing breakfast”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Went for a late morning breakfast and ordered combo with sausage links, eggs and waffle. The sausages were very tasty. Well cooked without being burnt. No problem with the eggs. Then there was this sorry and anemic looking waffle. I asked for another that was 'cooked' and hoped for a nice light golden brown crispy on the outside waffle. The second waffle to arrive was slightly less anemic than the first one but the texture was awful. I think someone dropped a little latex in the mix. Pale with a rubbery texture is not my idea of a good waffle. This is my second visit here. They get one more chance to get it right!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnold, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Not as good as the one in Tracy Ca”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

This Black bear's food wasn't as good as the one in Tracy Ca. The one thing I have noticed is the customer service was excellent! The restraunt was clean and the atmosphere was great..but for the most part the only thing consistent so far is the customer service.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Come super hungry or share your meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We come here often as we live fairly near here. It's menu looks like a newspaper and gives you some news from the past. They have awesome huge Southern style baking powder biscuits that are at least 4 inches high.....OMG...they are de-lish!! A wide variety of home cooking comfort foods and awesome baked goods. A cute place with carved bears inside and out and neat things for kids like a carved out tree to climb inside and get your picture taken. We ALWAYS share a meal here.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northern California
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Okay food but too much of it”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Maybe I didn't read the menu carefully enough, but I left enough food on my plate to feed a small army. And while most people love taking home the leftovers, honestly, do you really want reheated huevos rancheros? Service was good, but the carnitas in the dish tasted like cafeteria steam table meat. Other diners seemed to be enjoing the pancakes, so I'll give it another try next time I'm really hungry.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Bear Diner also viewed

 

Been to Black Bear Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Bear Diner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.